Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

This Little Piggy

by ruthiepee - Compo Entry

This little piggy finds herself in the midst of a busy commercial kitchen. Luckily for piggy, the chefs are dropping scraps everywhere! Avoid the chefs, grab as much grub as you can, and turn into a not-so-little piggy.

######################################

CONTROLS: WASD or Arrow Keys

TOOLS USED: Haxeflixel, Sublime Text 2, Aseprite, Photoshop, Milkytracker


######################################

Special thanks to RVA Game Jams for hosting!
(Change log: 12/13 - fixed a bug causing Flash to freeze because a number was dividing by 0, lol)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Graphics4.55
#15Humor4.03
#61Mood3.85
#71Audio3.79
#109Theme4.17
#163Overall3.69
#200Fun3.57
#699Innovation2.76
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

uvwar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26am

Cool musics, really nice color palette. Not sure if this is possible, but the pig should totally be chewing or something mid run cycle, or have its mouth flopping open! The pig seemed to stop animating if I ran up against the wall. Also, http://i.imgur.com/kWqa2S8.gif

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:17am

1246 pounds!

This is a really nice little package. Graphics are great, sound is very cool, and the gameplay itself is simple but gets challenging. I like how the theme fit into the gameplay: growing = become bigger. Become bigger = harder to move and dodge chefs.

The only thing I could think of improving is putting some decay timer on the food; if after 5 or so seconds, a food item is not picked up, it disappears. Why? Because the chefs gathered in one half of the kitchen, and I kept picking up the food in the other half. When 2 moved to the half I was in, I went into the half they were camping and picked up the massive amount of food that had gathered there.

Really nice, good luck!

shcromlet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:00pm

lol I squealed with glee when the piggy got bigger

brother.byto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Really nice entry.
I love the movement animations of the pig.

Sidenote: It seems like the longer you run the game, the faster new food appears.

pkenney says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20am

Cute game, and a cool idea to have it so things get harder as you get larger. At first I was sad the pig didn't gradually enlarge, but I liked that you had different sprites for the larger sizes rather than just scaling the pig.

I played to about 1600 pounds to see if I could balloon so large I'd eclipse the kitchen and not be able to avoid the chefs, but I think I was at max size. One fine pig.

I did notice a weird thing with the animations. If I walk into a wall and press both directions so I'm walking along it and trying to go diagonally into it, then the pig's animation frames stop cycling and it kind of slides along. I discovered this while checking out th-- well, never mind.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23am

990 Pounds! I really liked the feel of this. Very jovial despite that it ends in being served up on a platter! Art and Sound are very solid! Very nice!

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I thought I could squash those little men when I had size of godzilla.. so disappointing :)
fun little game..

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Very cute and fun. Love the art! well done.
1026 pounds :D

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:35am

I just loved the music and the art. You are very talented!! The gameplay was really fun, though in my game the cooks seemed to be stuck near the top... Perfect for me to get fat!!! :) Great job!!

RIDBers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:26am

Thanks for developing this!!It's really fun :), maybe I would choose another theme song but it's not but.
Laura - RIDBers programmer.

kabel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:48am

It is cute and it is simple, not much else.

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Nice little entry, fine pixel art, sweet take on the genre

YinYin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Why can't I stomp the puny little humans.

It got pretty boring when I stopped growing with no increasing difficulty in sight.

suppi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:55pm

cute! it's hard avoiding the chefs after you grow so big though :)

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Loved this game. The graphics are very nice and the gameplay is fun. I got stuck at the end and couldn't move so lost all my health at once but looking past that small issue. Only other criticism is that until I got stuck it was quite easy. Lots of charm though!

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:50am

Ahh! the pig butt steals the show, but I think my favorite part was the chef animations! The foot flop is A+! Also, I really loved the music! Great job!

anael says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:02am

:) very cool, nice graph, nice music, fun to play, congrats

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:38pm

I love the art. Overall, well done. I had the hope my piggy would fill the entire screen though :)

kepons says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Haha, what a cute game. It looked and sounded really pleasant. I did, however, find out that standing still until a lot of food spawns is a perfectly possible tactic to get huge very easily.

Bastienre4 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Game is super cute, love the graphics! I had quite some fun playing it even if it's a bit mindless, simple is really efficient in this case :)

foolmoron says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Adorrrrrrable animations oh my god. Best pig butt in gaming. The music fits great too. I wish it was more difficult though, or you could eat the chefs after a certain point!

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Cute, but with THIS size I must just eat those butchers! :D

XenosNS says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:08pm

So cute! Game play not very sophisticated but loved everything.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Over 2 thousands lbs, was wondering if the game would stop there. I enjoyed the graphics but an indicator or a win weight (where you could eat the little ant chefs around you) would make this more complete imho. Well done!

psychonull says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:03am

I loved the graphics and mood in general. Better chefs behaviors and more difficulty might improve the game a lot!

Wakefield says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:15pm

I really love this game, well done! c:

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:29am

This little piggy had fun!

FROGANUS says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Cool concept, kewt artwork. Maybe put a little more work in to have something else happen when you get big enough? It got boring and I ate my way to 4000-some pounds lol. Seems like everyone wants to be able to hoove stomp and eat the chefs once you get big enough. Piggy animation and facing direction needs work when you hit the edges too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]