Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nationbuilder

by killthealias - Compo Entry

Instructions

Make as much money as possible! You are the great leader of a wondrous new nation. Ensure that your growing nation has the happiness (H) (top left), population (P) (top right) and budget (top centre) to grow and grow! You earn more money the more people and happiness you have, but be careful, if either drops below zero you'll start losing money!

Controls

WASD - Camera Control
Shift/Tab - Zoom
Left Mouse Button - Build

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#236Graphics3.59
#294Audio3.06
#398Mood3.07
#673Overall3.00
#677Theme3.47
#699Innovation2.76
#709Fun2.82
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Hey, the game look cool. Very tight design. The mechanics aren't really fleshed out though. Pretty much every tile is a net plus. So you can just build forever and there is no challenge.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Very nice design. I like the way you took the subjects. But unfortunately, and as Versace said, there is no big challenge, no big difficulty.
But the concept is cool, your game just need one more challenge than earning money :)

George says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Very aesthetically pleasing :)

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26am

Good looking game, a bit relaxing, though no real objective.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:28am

There's not much here other than a decent song and large grid of cells to click into. On the positive side, it's not painfully hard.

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:01pm

A nice relaxing game :)

Kep says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Balancing games is very difficult. I like the idea, but ran into issues.
On my first try, I got stuck with negative money while loosing money.
Second try I did better, but got to a point where I had enough to click on tiles as fast as a could without thinking.
The game has potential with some work. Best of luck.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:59am

As others said, the game is not very challenging, but I believe it can be fixed with some minor changes in gameplay.
The art and sound are pretty good!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Nice concept, but as a game lacks any kind of challenge. There's no strategy further than "don't build if it makes you go negative", which only works at the beginning of the game, and then it becomes just click click click. Work on your game balance and you will have something here. Keep it up!

hadesfury says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Nice game ... it's seems a little too easy to have a lot of money ..

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 5:52am

I like your idea! I wonder if you could expand this prototype into a simple tycoon-type game. Or I guess it also could be an idle clicker game, haha.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]