Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Supernova is Expanding, Scram!

by cdwaddell - Jam Entry

This is an attempt to combine growing and two button controls. The idea is that a supernova happened in a solar system. It is up to you to rescue the inhabitants. You have to hurry, before the supernova kills everyone. To fly your ship, you use the left and right arrows only! Good Luck.

I added a description at the beginning because of the confusion with the two button controls.

<- Move Left
-> Move Right
<--> Move Down

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52am

Nice idea, with good graphics. However, I found a weird bug, as I moved along, my ship started to slowly go up, so I couldn't save many people.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54am

I'm a big fan of games with dual-layered gameplay systems (such as X-Com), so I really like the idea here. I did find it sometimes difficult to tell if I was killing people or if I was saving them, but I like the idea. Would be cool if there was more to do during the solar system phase.

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58am

I had the same problem with the ship moving up out of range of the people.

alexrus07 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58am

Nice idea, pleasant graphics, but the gameplay is buggy. Had the same bug as pvwradtke. It's a nice idea, keep working on it!

EMPBomber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07am

An interesting use of the theme. Some parts with player feedback could have been better. The first planet I went to I mowed the inhabitants down thinking I was saving them. I didn't realize I was killing them until I got back to the main screen.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08am

i liked the music on this on. The spaceship goes up. took me a while to discover that i had to press both buttons to go down.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08am

People, you press left and right at the same time to move down! It should probably be mentioned in the instructions... PS I enjoy your art style!

Geck0 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Original

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:16pm

I unfortunately killed more people than I rescued... but eh they were going to die anyway!

Nice music & drawn graphics, but the gameplay felt a bit too simple.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:59am

What a fantastic paint style! The artworks are great! The electronic soundtrack was a nice touch, I was grooving when the bass drop midway, so nice! I love the idea of pressing both buttons to go down and not pressing anything slowly brings up the ship. Genius.

I feel sorry for the sole-guy that I smashed into in the beginning... I hope he's okay.

-LeMix

Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:47pm

I loved the music, and that supernova was creepy! It didn't feel like the supernova on the rescue screen matched up with the supernova on the planet-chooser screen. I ended up squishing a bunch of the people I was supposed to rescue.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]