Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lillypup

by tanjent - Compo Entry

A small RPG where you star as Lillypup, a tiny dog that ran away and got lost in a harsh world.

Battle strange shapes by using the new and polished 2CMD-Interface. Try to find the exit using WASD/Arrow keys and return to a better world...

One final tip: Winning is not always the key to progress in this RPG! Sometimes you GROW TO BIG.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#334Innovation3.39
#405Audio2.80
#490Mood2.94
#629Humor2.00
#702Graphics2.67
#792Overall2.83
#805Theme3.25
#892Fun2.36

Comments

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Nice game. :3 Got to the basket. :3
I like the idea that from time to time you have to lose purposely. Yet, there was no real need for growing at all, as you can sneak your way around and just flee from the battle with the last big boss and still get the ending.
It was fun. And ++ for HaxeFlixel!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:50pm

I wasn't sure how to do battle. It seemed to run automatically and all I did was move around the maze. Didn't see how the theme was implemented.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:03pm

This game oddly compelling. It felt like another world. The strange story, abstract character designs (I especially love the polygon dog look), and the music! It makes the game feel like a dream or something mystical. The ending was touching and sweet too :)

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:12pm

I really enjoyed this game, it's going in the bookmarks folder. The music is weird but really cool, same with the graphics. The battling system is completely awesome.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19pm

It was a little hard to figure out the combat at first but once I got the hang of things it was pretty interesting, good job

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:39pm

I really like the idea about the battle system. Some completely different interpretation of the theme. Well done!

RadStar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:48pm

the same as Elenesski: I didn't understand how to fight as the command seemed to be launched automatically...

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:49pm

This is a really clever game. A very minor suggestion is that I found the combat happening too fast. It might just be that with more practice it becomes much easier but for me I would have liked a short transition between the map and the battle, or between each round of the battle. However that is a very small detail on what is otherwise a very good game.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58pm

What a weird game.
Interesting mechanics, music was ok, kinda got stuck after growing too big with no enemies that would damage me nearby.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Interesting, there's a lot of ideas in here, but the don't quite work together. There's quite an involved combat system with a lot of skills to learn (which you need to try out to find the effects) and an unusual input method. Then there's the mechanics from shrinking and growing, but you really don't need to do any of that since you can just flee from the final boss and walk past him. In fact, there were all sorts of enemies dotted around that I never tried fighting, nor did I try the vast majority of the skills, because there's no call for it.

Overall, good job on the individual elements! But they don't really support each other.

Todnut says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58pm

I like the dog art! Took me a bit to figure out the geometric shapes were enemies. The health symbol for skills was surprising. It seems to drop keys sometimes while typing which made combat difficult. I'm not sure I figured out the combat system, it was hard to tell what was going on. Maybe draws the states on the screen more clearly? Like: "Dog's turn to attack!", "Dog took 5 damage from fire attack"

tanjent says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Hey thanks for the comments! Really good and valid points. I agree that it needs a lot of stuff fixed ATM :P I really wanted to polish this one more, but time and real life just got in the way this time :)

richardjs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:49am

I like the combat system idea--rapidly dialing in a command for an attack makes the fight feel fast-paced and (sometimes frantic). Great idea for the theme.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:09am

Nice idea. I like how I can see all of the abilities from the start. It makes it exciting to go and find them!

Haokarlos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Nice game! I like the combat mechanics, but i didnt understand at all.
Anyways I enjoyed playing, congrats ;)

Taldius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Nice little game, the base mechanic is a little bit similar to my entry.
The graphics were simple but has a certain style.
Good job.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:45pm

It took me a while to understand what was going on in the fights. Once I did it was quite fun. But is there a way to get health back? I accidently walk to an enemy that I just defeated again and from that point on I kept losing because my health was so little.

Afendar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:51am

Good little game. But time to choice skil is very short.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]