Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hard Decisions

by vortex - Compo Entry

Note: Your choices get stored anonymously. I wanted to make an evaluation like in Life Is Strange, and I might still get around to doing that, so please make serious choices to get better results...
In this game you play the role of the president of a country, that is in a sort of cold war situation, that stopped being cold.
You are currently in a bunker, and communicate with the world by pressing one of two buttons.

Controls:
Read the text, and press one of the two Buttons...

Tools used:
Unity
Paint.Net

Bug Fixes:
14/12/15: Support all screen ratios; Added exit button; Sending the amount of times you played(to get statistics that don't involve goes where you replay and just press red to see what happens)
17/12/15: Added post compo version with analytics at the end of the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#80Theme4.23
#91Mood3.74
#192Overall3.64
#292Innovation3.45
#386Graphics3.28
#407Fun3.25

Comments

Falkreon says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:58pm

That was a strange experience. The game only had one resolution available for fullscreen, and when I started it up, the button hitboxes were located as if the view was centered. Problem is, the actual graphics were at the top of my screen. Worse yet, when you finish the interview, there's only a green button to restart. I had to tab out and quit it while it was backgrounded.

The game itself is vaguely reminiscent of Papers Please and Please Don't Touch Anything. I like that, and I like that the questions here aren't easy. Some bugs to iron out, but keep up the good work.

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Really captivating for having been made in such a short period of time! :)

vortex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58pm

@Falkreon Thanks for your feedback :). The problems didn't occur to me, because the background is 16:9, and I wanted to lock your Window only to be 16:9 too. That's where your first problems came from. Since I opened it in windowed mode, I didn't need a quit button, since I just used the red X.
These small bugs are now fixed! :)

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Neato. i blew myself up.

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Awesome little text-based game! I really like the UI and the way the text appears gradually on the terminal screen.

Wevel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:12pm

BOOM, nice game interesting idea of controlling things you are only being told about so you don't really know whats going on

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Nice story, I felt that I was too often asked the same questions maybe (different questions actually, but the same meaning). After all very well done!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Very interesting

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Awesome little game. I kinda got a War Games vibe from it. :P

n00basaurus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

An interesting concept. I would highly recommend seeing nuclear crisis movies from the 1960s like Dr. Strangelove or more importantly, FAIL SAFE.

Some minor programming issues: No 'esc' to easy quit/exit
Text would shrink when too much would appear on the screen at once. Greatly jars the player out of the immersion.
Could either make the in-game "screen" image bigger to accommodate your larger paragraphs, or condense your wording to prevent shrinking.

No "quick appear" for large blocks of text.

I did like how different this game was for the theme of two buttons, though they might have been better mapped to different sides of a keyboard than mouse pick events.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:46pm

I liked it =)
Is it possible to overcome the enemy?

vortex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:22pm

@Si1ver No... It isn't.
I didn't want you to be able to win because that would result in there being a definitive "correct" path, that would be a weird combination of choices...

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Fun, but where is the data you said you would be collecting? I would be curious to see it.

vortex says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:54pm

@thedashdude right now the data is just sitting in an xml file... I will probably post it somewhere once I got the time to actually put it into some nice diagrams

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Played the post-compo version, since the only difference is the stats at the end. However, the stats said I chose to allow teenagers to be recruited, even though that's not what I said.

As for the rest of the game, I liked the tone of the game, and the choices were all well-written. The graphics fit the game well, and the flashing towards the end was a nice touch. It could be even better with some ambience and button noises, though.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:57am

I liked the aesthetics, and the atmosphere was spot on!

I did find it slightly disorienting when the message text would show up and start re-sizing itself while I was reading it, but other than that, nice game! :)

aare says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:56am

Nice idea, but the story and decisions I took felt very disconnected. In one moment I was deciding about one thing, and at another about something completely different.

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:43am

I guess I won and lost at the same time? Played a few times doing negative and positive reactions and then a mix of both, I suppose there's no way out of being blown to smithereen? ;)

Really like the art style and mood (it would have been extra nice with some audio), and the subject matter is compelling... if the options were a little binary. I really hope there isn't a system of responding with only A or B with access to nukes!

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:58am

Very nice game! :) I love the ending(s), even though it's a bit frustrating not being able win the war or end it peacefully

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:26pm

It looked like the best way to win was just pressing the green button a bunch? Regardless, it was a pretty cool "choose your own adventure" kind of experience.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:52pm

I launched the nuclear missile and it felt good!

camlang says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Nice game with several ways to play. I like this type of games. It's very funny to investigate all branches of story. Very good entry! Well done!

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:51am

Cool game! The choices were really hard and I really liked how they could come back and really bite you in the butt. It really makes you pay attention to what you are doing. Awesome job!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:34am

Ey, very good entry. I love text-decision-games and this has a very interesting plot. Good job!

Tselmek says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Nice experience, I don't if there was a good ending but I could never reach it. Definitely missing some sfx for a best experience. Nice take on the theme.

Somnium says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Loved the game, great writing!

I liked how previous decision could come back to haunt you several "choices" later.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]