Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ep

by Blagino - Compo Entry

This is an arcade game where you play as Ep a tiny little guy. Ep is protecting his growing arena from monsters those who are destroying it.

This game was made in 33 hours by William Beinö(xTacobaco).
If you got any questions that you want me to adress, please mail me at william.beino@hotmail.com or type it down in the comment section.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#285Fun3.42
#313Audio3.02
#316Humor2.74
#388Overall3.35
#490Mood2.94
#498Innovation3.13
#551Graphics2.97
#735Theme3.37

Comments

nystical says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Fun and addictive! I got a high score of 34. I also like the mechanic of enemies blowing up part of the arena when they die.

Kouthem says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:55pm

This game is simple yet fun, I like it.

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:40am

Love the scream sound effect

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:40am

Nice concept, simple and fun :)

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19pm

great job

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32pm

i love everything about this game, good job.
highscore: 48

victorfisac says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Simple game but fun!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Fun shooter. The music got old after like, 20 seconds though.

Harsay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:44pm

I like the intro. :D

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47pm

An indication on when tiles are about to disappear would be great. I've only died to that so far.

The music loop sadly didn't pass the long term annoyance test even though it was catchy at first.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Nice little game, I wonder how the real Ep voice sounds like o.o
Got high score of: 47

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:50pm

The sound effect used for the scream makes this game so good.

MattThePie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Sounds is great, and the mechanic of not shooting guys over your land squares is a great twist, nice job

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Fun and innovative.

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Simple and pleasant.

51monster2 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:59pm

I like the fact that your game actually makes me afraid sometimes. Standing on a lone tile, ghosts closing in - will the next shot kill me? Will a new path grow in time? I got really engaged after figuring out everything about the controls.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Very nice game! Great job!

tazdij says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:01pm

i like it, good work

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:02pm

A simple concept but very well executed. The intro was cool.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:02pm

It get's though really fast! (Or I had some badluck)

Nice game, the scream sound is funny.
It kinda sounds like a cat getting hurt :P

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Interesting use of the theme, I like it!

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Simple fun.

Very good entry!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Cool gameplay! I liked the music and the simple mechanics. I'm not really good at it.. highscore 22 after some tries =)

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Cool little game - I like the idea that your own attack can kill you if you fall behind too much! Also has a nice simple graphical style that works.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Really innovative game. The screams the character makes remind me of Super Mario.

CrownCity says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Like everyone else said: I like the simplicity of this game. Only wish there was a bit more to do with that growing Arena. But it had me playing for some time

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Nice fun game. I don't get the reason of the vanishing board.
The theme was way off too.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10am

Your game was fun and I enjoyed playing it. I think it's a quite unique concept. I got a high score of 28!

Peekotus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:23am

Game is simple but fun and has a great concept!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:58am

For 48 hours this is a well done game. Things to improve would be death sounds when the ghosts died. A sound when a block disappeared. maybe some visual cue if a block has the potential to be destroyed. I hope you work on this post compo its a great little game.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:09pm

clever concept, simple, well made and entertaining, well done

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]