Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mighty Paradox Platinum

by punkto - Jam Entry

Mighty Paradox returns with "Mighty Paradox Platinum"! (If you like it, we can make the previous ones :)

You are a cursed monk that has to reach the door at the end of the maze. This door starts closed, so you have to push TWO BUTTONS (controls, you know) that are somewhere in the maze.

Nothing is easy in this maze. A cruel uber-mage that can manipulate time and space puts new enemies in the maze and makes your monk (ninja monk, can you see how he moves?) repeat it, step by step. Your last opportunity is to go back in time as well and help your monk from the past (from the future? We don't really know). Of course, when you are tinkering with time things happen. If you touch your other monk you achieve a paradox, losing your battle with the uber-mage.

Of course, the uber-mage knows what you are doing and makes you repeat over and over (uber and uber), so the population of monks is GROWING each round (you only control the last monk that appears, the other repeat your movements as you did it). Each round you start a little earlier in time, so you can see where you appear and how can help your previous monks and, after that, go through the door.


Controls: Cursors as usual.


This game has been written by a team composed of:

- hmightypirate: creative, some code and (part of the)idea.
- punkto: code, some creative, and (the other part of the) idea.

We have used LIBGDX, as in our past games.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#917Graphics(Jam)2.47
#953Innovation(Jam)2.35
#1016Fun(Jam)2.35
#1059Theme(Jam)2.41
#1073Overall(Jam)2.47
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28pm

I get a "no such host is known" error. . .

punkto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Yep. Sorry pluberski. I'm uploading code and game to github right now. Stay tuned!

Thanks a lot for your early interest.

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:34am

I like how freely the player moves. =)

danthedev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:05am

Chromium 45 is showing a stack trace. `Uncaught java.lang.RuntimeException: com.badlogic.gdx.utils.SerializationException: Error parsing file: maps/test_dw_fin.tmx`

punkto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Some friends have told us the same. In Chromium 47 the game works, so we think that it is a bug in libgdx-javascript-chromium that now is fixed. That file exists, I promise!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I'm getting "Error parsing file" and "Maximum call stack exceeded errors" on the web version.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Things you should work on: ironing out player movement, difficulty balance, animation. Keep working at it!

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53pm

I quite liked the level design but I couldn't really see which blocks are enemies and the controls were sometimes floppy. But its a quite decent platformer

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Very challenging! I wasn't a fan of the floaty controls and the *very* fast patrolling enemies but the art was cute and the level design was quite nice! :)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:06pm

I like the floaty spin you put on the platformer genre. The game could use some more polish, but enjoyable nonetheless.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:45am

Nice effort. But lacked in many way – no clear explanation of the controls (an odd wall jump was possible?), no sounds or music. A lot of polish, really.

blakeohare says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:39am

The physics aren't very clear. Not sure if the wall-related floating is a bug or a feature. Adherence to theme seems like an afterthought. It's a good start for a platformer, but could use some polish.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]