Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lane King

by LukeZaz - Jam Entry

A lane-based war game where your units can level up with kills. Each kill increases a units health and units deal more damage to your enemys overall health the higher their level.

Press 1-3 to spawn units. Numpad keys will unfortunately not work unless numlock is on. If nothing happens, click on the Unity WebGL logo towards the bottom or go fullscreen and try again.

Made this in roughly 32 hours, as I'd not managed to come up with any idea until just yesterday. Missed a lot of stuff I wanted to add, unfortunately, including victory/defeat screens and audio, but I'm still happy with what's there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#727Innovation(Jam)2.82
#824Humor(Jam)1.89
#909Fun(Jam)2.62
#910Overall(Jam)2.84
#958Mood(Jam)2.36
#973Graphics(Jam)2.24
#1097Theme(Jam)1.91

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33am

WebGL is always a plus! Makes it easier on less common OS'es like Mac and Linux. Thanks for that. I had trouble getting the game to fit in my screen resolution, so I often scrolled left/right a bit.

The core mechanics of the game are solid, but perhaps need a little visual polish. I wasn't sure of the levels of each of my blue minions, and if I knew how strong they were, I'd probably choose spawning more strategically.

If you've ever played Starcraft, you might have noticed that the gross Zerg aliens are weak and plentiful, while the mystic Protoss are fewer but stronger. The nuances of the two races change how you play the game against other people. I think maybe adding certain unit types, or changing the speed/numbers of the game would give you some really cool experiences.

Overall, it was neat! Keep up the good work, because there's a gem under there!

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50am

@Danbolt

Thanks for the feedback! I did in fact originally plan for a second unit, but even at the starting stages of the project I didn't really see myself having the time for it. I'll definitely be looking in to it & level indicators however in a potential post-compo.

Oh, and sorry for the awkward resolution; it's currently at 1300 x 600 because I crafted the scene in Unity at Free Aspect full-screen which resulted in a very wide level that the camera had to be at a very specific size to capture well.

Team Tree says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:34am

At the end I was just spamming the same units. Good idea though, and it looks good. :)

ddr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Interesting to play. I am definitely confused on the whole level-ing part, is there any visual indicator of it ?

Anyhow, I think I got a pretty good strategy by basically spaming 5-6 units consecutively in each row (which means that they will end up being "clustered" together and one-shot everything at that point, which probably eventually snowball with the leveling thing ?)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:01am

Charming graphics and interesting idea. I found after the first few seconds I was able to just spam every button. Maybe make some sort of limited resource required for spawning?

broknecho says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:57am

Definitely a good start here! I agree with others where seeing a level indicator on your units would be good. Could maybe do some powerups with an ability cooldown and definitely limit the spamming unit building. I managed to finish it by just going 1-2 and forget the third lane entirely.

Overall pretty nice Job!!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:16am

I don't really see how this meets the theme. There are three buttons to press, one for each lane, and there doesn't seem to be anything growing.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:57am

To easy win

marveus says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:11am

I love this idea and I think its definitely something you could build on to create a great game. I'm not sure if the leveling up was intended to be a 'growing' theme, but incorporating one of the themes more explicitly would have been nice and maybe made for something more interesting.

Right now it is a bit easy and the best strategy seems to be zerg down one lane. But having a smarter AI that can counter and make more interesting decisions would make things more interesting. You could imagine having different opponent types that use different strategies.

Having different types of units and being able to do more with the 'leveling up' might be ways to push this in the future. Maybe you could switch higher level units to different lanes, so you can leverage them in areas where you need them.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:10am

Good idea but needs to be polished.
I think you need to show level up more obviously on characters not just by text.
Balance is the main issue will encounter in this game, because you only have one type of units.
So when your unit level up, it's definitely more powerful than others don't level up.

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:46am

Cool concept of game! Maybe some paths crossing one another would have been a great addition! And also music would be great! :D Keep up the good work!

AboLD says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:46am

Very nice Idea, I really like it. I need the game need some polishing but for 32 hours it's great.

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:43am

Interesting concept. I think this could be something great if you decide to continue working on it. :)

Gyfis says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:45pm

I think it's good concept but I the game is unfinished (as it is written in the description above). There's no sound and the graphics could be better. I don't follow how it is connected to two-button controls or growing. Anyway, I think if you had had 8 more hours you could make it really well playable.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:28am

The strategy I choose doesn't seem to matter. It seems like all I have to do is spam enough units at the enemy. Nice concept, though.

akirassasin says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:48am

I like how units can level up individually (which means sometimes putting units at a lane with enemies is better than none because of the increased damage), but once you get board control (or path control?) then it becomes hard for the enemy to turn the tide.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:28am

overall its a really cool concept. it was surprisingly hard when you got going to remember to click certain areas.

dollarone says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:49pm

it's like simplified DOTA/LOL :) awesome idea! Lots of extra things you could add post-compo, like different units etc etc but you implemented your idea very well. Good stuff. Would have loved some sword-sounds, but that might be hard to record yourself :D

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:29am

Easy to win

flakoflak says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:40am

Fun game, more than two buttons :( . any ideas on how to expand it? Good work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]