Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Over

by nonetheless - Compo Entry

Here we go again...
You control the game with "W" - jumping - and "Space" - slashing (one theme done!).
Your goal is to kill all 20 enemies. The trick is you cannot kill enemies bigger than you. At the end of the level there are cherries that make you grow and portal to take you to the beginning. You have to grow twice and kill everything in your way :) (and second theme done ;)

I wanted a character selection but didn't finish so only two guys too choose. Main hero and Leeroy (obviously), with two small whelps following him all the time ;).

Game is beatable and actually could be harder :)

Hope you have fun.

Just for clarification - red enemy small, green middle and blue is big :D

Cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#172Graphics3.79
#291Fun3.41
#292Overall3.48
#359Humor2.63
#362Theme3.87
#441Mood3.02
#504Audio2.59
#591Innovation2.98

Comments

SineGlitch says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Really enjoy this one! Fast paced and cool art.

ianh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:01am

It's really fast! The hitboxes are kind of finicky, but it definitely has that "just one more play" feeling.

MalyTimi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Fast and fun game!
And you don't need more characters when you have buster sword. Grate Work! ;D

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:52pm

haha true that :)
thx

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22pm

I'm going to waste so much of my life on this.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Fun but very difficult.

Jynshi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Really pretty! I love the simple style!

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08pm

SO FAST and fun! insane hardcore though i can only complete the first level :B good job!

nexust says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Very entertaining, fast paced game! I think it starts a little too difficult though- perhaps a more gradual difficulty curve?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Slightly too fast out of the block, restarted about 5 times before I figured out what was going on. Platforming, on the whole, feels quite sticky.

dusho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:53pm

really fast game.. and unforgiving

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:20pm

This game is waaaaay to difficult to start off with, but I love everything else about it. The sword feels over the top and great, and it makes the whole runner game seem more worth playing.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Oh come on, our world got way too easy ;) Hard is good!
Also the restart was made quick to let you try again easily many times :D
Thx nonetheless!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Fun game, a bit too fast paced, but still very fun.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:31pm

I couldn't beat the game, but it was really fun.

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Really fast and certainly fun game! Good job :DD

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Forgot mentioning that I like it but I still couldn't beat It ^^

torcado194 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Interesting take on both themes. I find the game way to fast and sudden, especially for these controls, and swinging the sword and stopping instantly is very jarring in between lightspeed running. The hitboxes are not correct sometimes, i literally could not kill the 2nd red guy multiple times.
I do however like how you represented the 'you can only kill things larger than you' system by both size AND weapon range.
Nice job!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Very very fast at first but then you get into it and it's ok. Still very hard then though. But nice!! Minimal dark graphics fit the game well!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Wow this is fast. I like fast paced arcade... but you should put a little countdown after starting the level :D The mechanic is simple and fun and the game is hard as hell :D Nice job. +1 for retro feeling :D

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:26pm

The art is so simple but so beautiful! Very nice game

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Great entry! Very fast, but very strong feeling of "I can do better than that." when you die. ^_^

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Very fast. I manage to reach few 100m on the right but I think it was pure luck. I was just pressing W blindly. A game with slower speed will be a little more enjoyable I suppose.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Hardcore game.. you die a lot! My best was like 5 seconds of gameplay.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Super fast paced game...
Its fun though! :)

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Maaaybe a little too difficult for most players, I really enjoyed it though - love the art style :)

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Fast paced and love the art style! Very nice!

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Growing theme a bit forced.

The best way to beat the game is basically to avoid all enemies until you grow two times. Then your sword is humongous and you can kill everyone easily!

Very hard to finish the game tho, having to climb all the way up in order to kill that last enemies was a bit annoying.

Awesome graphics!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:13am

for some reason i couldnt kill the green or blue mobs no matter what i did. so instead of attacking i just ran to get past them and completed the first level. then rage quit when i hit that first mob in the second level. :P

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

Unforgivingly fast, but really pretty.

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23am

Very challenging! Love it! I also like how it was web based, so I didn't have to go through the download process :(

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

harder? getting old :€

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28am

fun game and I really like the idea. Pixel art is really cool too

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:01am

Nice retro feel time eater. Great job. Now... one more go... one more go...

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Controls would've been better inverted, but was really fun!

SadSmile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Very good! If you want to keep working on this, here are some ideas:

- Some techno music in the background (80s action movie style)
- Special THings about the different characters
- Keep moving while attacking

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Controls were a little finicky and I also ended up getting stuck jumping into a corner of an edge.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Love the bloom. Hitboxes are awkward, as well as the jumping, but not bad.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Nice concept and mechanics! The gameplay itself became a bit frustrating for me - I had to try to memorize where I would die. A slightly slower and more forgiving pace (or, easy mode) would have solved this for me - but that could very well be a matter of personal taste. Overall, impressive entry. Well done!

sputnik says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Nice graphics. Maybe too fast at first but fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]