Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Snowball effect

by NuvlearGames - Compo Entry

You are a snowball and you must grow using only two controls

A and D or Left and Right

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#428Theme3.80
#907Innovation2.13
#907Graphics1.40
#958Fun1.67
#963Overall2.13
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Hahahaha, I love the idea! :) Great game!

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38am

I would have liked if there was some obstacles to avoid while rolling down. Maybe add some power ups if you plan to take development further. There's potential :)

Dianouille says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44am

I don't understand the game. My score was increasing even if I didn't play, and I didn't see any difference when I was playing ... Maybe a less of feedbacks ...

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44am

Interesting idea for the theme, it would be cool to see some obstacles or something if you developed it further! Note: after the snowball gets big enough to fill the screen there wasn't much I could do.

Good job!

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:46am

Its a good idea, but my snow ball gets really big, i cannot see anything, also power-ups would be nice.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Not understanding this game very well. If I don't press anything I still keep going? And the snowball is bigger than the screen?

Will play again if there's something I've missed :p

NuvlearGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:27pm

@Warboys You arent missing anything the controls are W and D. I was planning to add some obstacles but I lost my drive on the last day. Also I attempted to fix the snowball scaling issue but couldnt find an ideal value that worked

Muel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:45am

Your idea is awesome! So sorry to know you lost data on the final run =/ This game could have been even better.

But you had an great approach on the theme. I wish I had this creativity.

It's a nice game to continue working on it =)

kabel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:54am

This suffers from the same problem as so many other titles here. It's not a game, player involvement is unnecessary. It's not even that funny...It could've been a nice idea for a game though, it's sad that it ended up as a simple gimmick.

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:36pm

I'm not sure what i'm supposed to do. my score goes up if move or dont move, i just get larger. theres no goal.

scorched says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Confusing, when the ball is so big I don't see the track!

Afendar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:35am

where is the track when i have big snow ball !

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:08am

It's a bit broken that I can just jump off the side of the level and win...

Mar 27, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Interesting idea. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/kf34--PMGMs

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]