Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sumo Twomo

by foolmoron - Compo Entry

You play as a Twomo - an alien creature who is known to engage in rolling death matches from time to time. They can also grow in size by absorbing life energy from the universe. Eventually they will absorb all life, and the concept of existence as we know it will become meaningless.

This game was the result of me struggling with Unreal 4 for the entire weekend! It's honestly a miracle I got something playable out...

Windows-only sorry :(

​CONTROLS
​Twomo 1
A - turn left
S - turn right
A + S - boost forwards in the direction you're pointing
hold A + S - slowly grow in mass

​Twomo 2
K - turn left
L - turn right
K + L - boost forwards in the direction you're pointing
hold K + L - slowly grow in mass

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#228Humor2.94
#362Theme3.87
#470Innovation3.17
#490Mood2.94
#531Fun3.09
#657Graphics2.78
#716Overall2.96
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

bradur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Funny game! This is what happened to me: http://i.imgur.com/SX1Rh0K.png

The controls are a tad bit hard, since it's not always 100% clear where the Sumo TwoMo is heading :D. Nice work!

aeveis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:36am

Ah, so I noticed with my laptop keyboard it can only accept max 3 inputs, so two players holding to grow doesn't work for me. Controls were a bit hard, sometimes I would just end up spinning really fast because the other person was growing or moving. I do like the options with growing and trying the hit the other person off though.

Echo Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Unreal 4 can be a struggle.

Funske says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:58am

I enjoyed the flashiness of the game it really added to the mood, audio would have been nice, but it was fun. I wish I had someone to play it with because this seems like it can be a really fun game with friends.

aplomb says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:48am

Funny idea and execution. Great graphics. Very difficult to manage the controls, though.

sbot1101 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:44am

Good fun, hard to control but that just adds to the fun.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:31am

Kudos for trying out Unreal engine. I like that concept, but I feel that it needs some more work.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:42am

Could be more enjoyable with more intuitive controls. They can still be whacky just more understandable. Maybe boost direction towards the player or middle or better visual feedback of the aim.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:16pm

I found the controls a little wonky not to say that it should throw out all together but maybe a little more clear. Like my ludum dare entry I'm sure this game would be better played with 2 people :P I wonder does the size of the player affect their weight? That would be interesting.

Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:27pm

The controls feel a bit wonky especially when you want to go in a single direction but only have enough momentum to spin halfway around thus the next A+S press pushes you in the opposite direction.

radmars says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Nice! I really like this concept. As others said the controls are a little funky but I would love to play this with controller support. Nice work!

Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:00am

Nice to see you delivered a working unreal game! Seems like a solid concept. It's a bit difficult to control but I like the way you utilized 2 button input. I wasn't able to play 2 players, seems like that would be fun though, needs some ai.

01010111 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:53am

Living up to its name at ~350MB!! Really cool concept, I love how the simple geometry shows heading really well. I think this would look nice with a toon shader :D Good work tackling Unreal in a weekend!

anakonda says ...
Apr 26, 2017 @ 6:21pm

Super cool!! Love the concept and creativity: pretty smart!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]