Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

tuinvrouw

by TomBoogaart - Compo Entry

everything grows

WASD | left & right mouse buttons

tip: find the black seeds, they are near the sitting dude and allow you to grow flowers

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics4.73
Coolness53%
#34Mood4.05
#118Humor3.38
#137Overall3.73
#161Theme4.09
#292Audio3.07
#323Innovation3.40
#562Fun3.05

Comments

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:43am

It looks great, even if I wasn't really sure what I was supposed to be doing.

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:53am

Don't know what to do, I liked the Graphics, smooth.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:56am

Very cute looking, if a bit confusing what to do.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07am

I made some cool stuff grow. Thanks for making that! The graphics are very nice too and set a good mood.

Bemmu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:16am

I've been playing Ludum Dare games and participating in the events for a long time, and this is possibly the most beautiful game I have seen to date.

Extremely calming too, even though I seemed to be making no progress, I found myself just hypnotized and kept growing more and more trees to feed the guy.

It's amazing how minimalist the art is, with just the right choice of some filled circles, nice colors and animations like the walking tilt and scarf in the wind making a huge different.

Stellar work.

napoleon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:17pm

I liked this game. The models were pretty good, and I enjoyed its atmosphere.

OddballDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Excellent entry as always. Was a little confusing, but I suppose discovery is what the game is all about so a little confusion is ok.

sez says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22pm

I liked the fat guy, I liked the lore, I liked the void, I liked it.

duon44 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51pm

cool, was super amazed when i found out i could create more grass, also little bug i found: if you hold a and d sometimes the camera moves but the character stays in place

Ditto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:57pm

This was different. Really enjoyed exploring this, good job <3

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12am

I just kind've messed around; I wasn't sure what I was supposed to be doing.

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:25am

Instruction would be great, but lovely game!

Sanguine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21am

super great mood and it was really nice growing cool plants!

tip: find the black seeds

lekochen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24am

Fantastic animations, very cute and smooth.

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:08am

Never felt so good just walking and stompin` a flowers

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:40pm

<3 <3 <3 <3 <3 wonderful!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:27am

Once I figured out what to do, it became really fun and relaxing. I know you put the tip in the description but the seeds should be more obvious because they're very easy to miss.

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:31am

it looks pretty good and has some funny animations. the problem for me was mostly the controls. I wasn't too sure wether I was able pick up a seed, throw it away or stand in the right spot to water a seed. but when it worked out (there's some marge fortunately), it felt pretty satisfying. hearing to sound from the plant fruit or giving the man its deserved apple. it's a nice little world to play around in.

I got intrigued a bit when I found out I could extend the island into the void. but I don't think you can go anywhere with it yet. did you plan something for this?

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:16am

lol cool

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:14am

EAT MY FRUIT BITCH!! I was completely sure what I was supposed to be doing. 4/4 would eat again.

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:05am

Throwing dozens of apples at this guys wide open mouth was strangely satisfying.

CrownCity says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Quite a peaceful game. I enjoyed it for some time. Well done

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Lovely game! I mistakenly throw the apple to the other person and got new seed :-)
Very well done!!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:56pm

This artstyle is juste the best thing I have seen in LD. You are amazing!
Go further on it, please! Add some gameplay mechanics, add a story, add whaterver you want, but damn, I need more of this!

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:23pm

When I planted a seed, watered it, watched flowers blossom and an apple pop off, I felt pleased. If you continue to develop this, after I planted a half dozen, I wasn't sure what else to do.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Looks great! I wished there was something more, some objective or something. I searched the outer area for a while trying to find something that would use the seeds but alas, there was nothing.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:32am

Very nice graphics and audio - they fit together well and made a very pleasant atmosphere.

The gameplay was lacking however. I'm not sure if there was more to it that I missed, but it seemed farming the apples was all I could do, and after I'd figured out how, it quickly became boring.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]