Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Scary Snake

by beastletsplay - Compo Entry

This is my first game made for ludum dare, it is very basic because i am new to making games, This is my first game made in pygame. It is just a basic snake game. Use the arrow keys to control the movement of the snake.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#852Mood1.93
#906Graphics1.53
#927Theme2.58
#931Fun2.15
#941Innovation1.29
#972Overall1.86
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

flukeshot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:55am

Too scary for me. I particularly enjoyed pepe.png sitting in the root of the game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56am

Nice first entry, looking forward to seeing improvements next compo. :)

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56am

Doesn't work for me (terminal window just opens and does nothing) when I try to launch the .exe file (win7)

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59am

Can't rate high on innovation, and the game doesn't fit the theme, but it works and is fun. Good work, and best of luck with your other games.

intXparts says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Congrats on your first LD game! I really liked the simplicity of it and it fit the growing theme nicely. Nice job!

Mikaza says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Nice first game, good luck for the next one !

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Congrats on your first entry -- you've made it! :) I enjoyed it, gave me fond memories of NIBBLES.BAS if anybody remembers it.

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:59pm

A cool snake clone. :) Congrats on finished game!

blubberquark says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:49am

I see how it fits the theme "growing".

Quitting the game on losing can be very annoying. I did the same thing with my first LD game (also written in pygame). It is better to put something there like "Press SPACE to exit" than nothing at all.

Also some advice for coding things like snake and tetris: Try to keep the coordinates small (so lead_x_change in your code would be 0,1, or -1) and multiply by an up-scaling factor in rendering like:

pygame.draw.rect(gameDisplay,orange,[XnY[0]*SCALE, XnY[1]*SCALE,1*SCALE,1*SCALE])

That makes it easier to change the resolution later.

- bob

mahjong50 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Good job with finishing a game.
Maybe next time try to improve the controls of your game, since I can accidently kill myself by moving in the other direction.

camlang says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Nice little game. It's not fit in themes, but i think it is cool to create own engine for little games. Good luck with your next games!

Sean says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:07am

I noticed that when you lose the game, it just throws an error and quits. Here's the error text:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Python34\lib\site-packages\cx_Freeze\initscripts\Console.py", line 27, in <module>
File "ScarySnake.py", line 112, in <module>
File "ScarySnake.py", line 44, in message_to_screen
NameError: name 'font' is not defined

Other than that it's a good first effort!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]