Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Chain letter

by saebyn - Compo Entry

Grow your chain by matching the right key, otherwise you'll get hit!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

Ko_ry says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48am

Cool! The gameplay leaves a little to be desired, it's very slow paced. You just sit there waiting for things to happen, and press a button. But I like the idea of yourself growing, making it harder to dodge things as they come at you!

kuhnerdm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48am

Seemed kinda boring. Some nice gentle music would have helped.

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30am

I spent about 10 minutes in this game, using a/d keys to attract new sticks, and stick them together. I counted it like about 20 sticks, ok then, what's the point? what's the goal? Am I supposed to spend a whole day gathering like 10,000 sticks to see the end of the game if there's one. So far, I'd rather call it a toy than a game.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23am

The gameplay is really slow...
There should be something else in the game.
Has room to improve :)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Interesting concept, but a bit on the slow side.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:00am

Felt like an unfinished product with some nice potential. I was hoping things would get faster and more interesting after a few minutes of gameplay.

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:56pm

This was pretty boring. i didn't notice a win/fail objective, and there was a lot of waiting involved too.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:59pm

The game is a bit slow and uneventful. I think with some more work it could be similar to a typing game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]