Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hero of the nest

by Alexander Shukalo - Jam Entry

Feel like a bird, who built a nest on top of a mountain. Really not smart enough bird. Your nest has become unstable. Try to balance the nest. And save your eggs!

Controlls:
Left and right arrow keys

Credits:
Art - Anastasia Dolinian
Programming - Alexander Shukalo
Music - Evgeniy Popov

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#150Humor(Jam)3.51
#286Fun(Jam)3.45
#378Audio(Jam)3.28
#382Theme(Jam)3.81
#451Mood(Jam)3.29
#457Graphics(Jam)3.57
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#740Innovation(Jam)2.79

Comments

Jeroen Kappé says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:46pm

nice graphics

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Cool animations

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02pm

+ Good balance physics.
+ Cool graphics/animations.
+ Nice music.

- Eggs are born too fast.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:52pm

damn, the art is lovely in this! Gameplay is solid, would love to play this on mobile. Music was a perfect fit, great job to everyone!

while pretty simple, you nailed what makes these games fun, just a simple little balance game that keeps you playing for longer than you'd like to admit haha, nice work!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32am

Very simple and yet so fun I wish I had thought if that mechanic. Perfect usage if the theme, amazing artwork... A score almost full of stars for me!!

terry90 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:54am

quite a bit of fun !

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56am

I am the hero! :)
Fun little game, really simple idea.

bloomingbuds says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56am

a little hard at first but eventually I got the grasp of it and managed to save 3 :). Nice music

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59am

Awesome job!

I loved the way that the Sound effects, music and art combined to create an extremely fun game. I loved the mood of this game, and it was very fun to play. (My high score was saving 7 baby birds!)

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15pm

I love the concept, it made me laugh! It also looks great and is fun to play.

3rdChance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

A fun game but maybe a bit to difficult to play!
I like the idea of the bird ! =)

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:29pm

I saved 4 but honestly this silly bird should just go extinct. Building such a nest is madness!
Nice little game though. The graphics a coherent the music fits the silliness nicely. Good job.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Pretty nice game. Thankfully not too many eggs at a time...

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45pm

A simple good game. I like it!

oparisy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Haha, very funny, if a little bit hard and unforgiving. Nice graphic design and general mood.

redzero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Nice game.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51pm

I think there were egg-magnets installed next to the nest, so eager were the eggs to escape my grasp and feel the cold, soothing embrace of non-existence.

Fun idea.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:10am

nice game!

monetai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:46am

cool, simple, fun, everything i need to get my eggs feel good

marod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:48am

Simple game but it's very fun and very hard to me. Nice graphics too

OwT says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:01am

Funny game, graphics are cute, I really enjoyed playing! Short little game, but what a nice idea to go with the theme.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Cute game! Good balancing of nest! liked it!

Lullaby says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Haha this was really really funny, well done :p

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:16pm

I like the graphics, gameplay is not groundbreaking but found the physics to work pretty well. Thanks!

Budi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Nice graphics and music. The game is pretty hard - I've really sucked at this. Overall great work!

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Молодцы! Привет из Минска ;)

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:30pm

nice, like the art/animation. i always seemed to send my eggs flying though! :)

jachepe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Simple but fun! I really enjoyed it. Good work!

Dec 27, 2015 @ 10:43pm

haha very funny concept and I loved the shaky legs well done :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]