Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Deflext

by Adam Gould - Compo Entry

You have a mystical sword, capable of absorbing magical energy and firing it back at those who would do you harm! Defend yourself against hordes of wizards, and prove that you are worthy of wielding such might!

Use the mouse to aim your weapon, hold right click to absorb power, and press left click to fire!


All models, textures, sprites, SFX, music, and code done solely by yours truly. I hope you enjoy playing Deflext, I had a blast making it!

Just watch out for that difficulty curve. It's a doozy! :)

If you're having trouble with depth perception, try focusing on the indicator trailing down from each projectile towards the floor. It might just help you!



Follow me on Twitter:
@Ad_Vurt

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Innovation3.92
#93Audio3.68
#117Overall3.77
#167Fun3.62
#432Graphics3.19
#725Theme3.38
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:04am

this is too cool. I absolutely love the idea behind this, and if I were any better at it, I'm sure it would be one of the most satisfying experiences in the jam. As it stands, though, the depth perception and precision required at the moment feels a little too demanding. A wider sword might really help ease the burden on new players.

AlmightyTuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Really nice idea, however, it is too vague where the projectile is going hit

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:34pm

The game design is perfect.
The music is perfect.
The difficulty is nearly perfect...

Completing a level makes me feel like a master and the next level makes me feel like an apprentice again. That's how it should be.

Some of the fireballs are BS though.

I got to level eight and that white wizard on the left side sure loves to aim right next to the hilt. Deflexting a shot like that is a crap shoot. Is it going to land on the left side or the right side of the hilt? Who knows! The angle of the projectile is too steep to parse in the heat of the moment.

Another needlessly unfair shot is one targeting the very tip of the sword arc. It even seems that those shots don't hit the sword at all, but that could just be a sore loser talking.

I'd suggest you designate the area around the hilt and the area at the very end of the sword arc as a no target zone.

Those are some mean wizards, but even evil has its limits!

Still, loved it and I will keep trying to crack that black wizard a new one.

Adam Gould says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:42am

@HuvaaKoodia: Thank you so much for your kind words! There is actually already a no-target-zone at the end of the sword... I didn't think to put one at the hilt end of it, in hindsight I probably should have done that.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Very interesting concept, enjoyed it very much. This probably works better as an VR game because it was a matter of luck whether I blocked/absorbed projectiles or missed them. Also It wasn't quite clear what element mages are volatile to what powers. Also, how about having the colors of the elements be reflected in the HUD? So I would know I had 2 fire and one wind shot, for example.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:38pm

nice, it takes some time to get used to the angles, but it's very entertaining, well done

Jimbly says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Great concept! I had difficultly beating the tutorial though =).

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Your game is super-awesome! It's very hard to deflect some of the projectiles - mainly the ones close to screen borders. I don't think that the sword's hit area should be wider, just maybe make the projectiles go not-so-close to the border. Or may be that it's just me sucking at your game. :)
Overall - awesome idea, graphics are cool, music fits the frantic gameplay and, man, I feel like a genuine jedi after playing this for a while. Please make more out of this. :3

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Jedi simulator? Awesome! Gets a moment to used to, but the gameplay is really smooth. Great idea with adding additional elements, like different color projectiles working on different enemies, really forces you to think on your feet.

jigalx says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:07am

Great idea, great style, great gameplay, great music!

I wish it was easier to see where the balls were going. A shadow underneath the them would probably help a lot. Or something, I dunno.

astrophics says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:10am

Good game! Couldn't beat the first level though :(

Adam Gould says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:47am

@jigalx: There is an indicator underneath them designed to help with that. I was running out of time and couldn't quite figure out how to do shadows right, so that's what I settled for.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:27am

This is really cool. The yellow line is an interesting way to help provide an understanding of the orbs' position in space -- it's still really difficult sometimes. I would recommending have a more forgiving/wider sword, at least at the start. I had a lot of fun playing this, nice work!

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Har to play with trackpad..

rkhadder says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Very well executed. The 4 elemental wizards was so frustrating but I couldn't stop playing. Kudos to a good submission

Jace239 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:38pm

I love the concept and wish I could enjoy it more, as I'm a big fan of sword-wielding games like these. Unfortunately, as others have said, the poor depth-perception makes it difficult to effectively block the shots, even with the lines to help. What's worse though is when the balls shoot off-screen so you can't even see where they'll end up hitting your sword, you just have to guess. It's also a bit annoying that the wizards will barely give you any usable shots when they're alone (water mage shooting water, volatile, water, volatile, water, volatile, unblockable normal, etc.) I do hope you keep working on this, as I'd love to play a better version of this game. Good work, keep it up!

eric777 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Perfect game for the Star wars release. Took me a while to get used to 9and I had to give up on my trackpad to control - heh). For a while i was like a severely near-sighted Jedi, but i finally started doing ok.

Audio was top notch. Great concept and execution.

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Fun game! It gets pretty unreasonably hard after level 6 though, (the dark wizard SUCKS) but it's still a fun challenge.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:53pm

In the tutorial, when I listened to the music and watched the wizard cast balls at me, I felt excited. When I missed about 20 in a row, I felt discouraged.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]