Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fifi's Space Program

by MintArcade - Compo Entry

Theme: Two Button Controls

Story:
Once upon a time there was fifis. They usually friendly creatures and likes to share joy. One day fifis decided to reach stars, and, being diligent engineers and scientists, they have managed to crack the secrets of the space travel. And so now we have fifis all across the galaxy. One science laboratory was catastrophically depressurized in the asteroid belt near Niinna - fifi's home planet. Several crew members are now wandering in space waiting for the rescue.
You, as the best pilot in whole quadrant, now assigned to the very important mission - rescue stranded fifis and bring them home. As you approach the asteroid belt, urgent message from HQ pops-up on your screen and some indicators turn red; what could that mean...

Controls:
"UP" and "LEFT" are stuck, so use "RIGHT" and "DOWN" to compensate flying directions. (My 8 years old daughter figure it out without any help ;D)

Development process. What was wrong:
To be honest, it's more like a warm up game that anything else.
1) I start developing this game 4 hours before compo ended (because I was sick since Thursday) and worked half way through submission hour.
2) Music was not that good, so I just didn't include it in the build.
3) Had initial complications with HTML5 build and just did Unity Player version instead, so a few people can't play it right away.
4) Couple of fixes has to be made after submission (asteroids collision, distance to collectible "fifi's") according to guidelines on the competition.
So if there is glitches, and I know of couple of them, please ignore. If I feel like finishing/polishing I'l definitely do that, so follow my social media to keep in touch about this, and other projects.

Development process. What was right:
1) I did finish on time for the compo submission.
2) Nothing crashed the entire process.
3) Spend good balanced amount of time doing graphic, models, logic and sound (except for music).
4) My children love it! And that is most important for me.

Source:
Playmaker is required to view source.

Updates:
* Now you can play on GameJolt (with Scoreboard)
* HTML5 build is now available as default build-in version.
* Standalone builds are available to download.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#118Graphics3.95
#334Humor2.69
#426Mood3.04
#439Overall3.29
#484Theme3.73
#586Fun3.00
#661Innovation2.83

Comments

Teekeks says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Love the Artstyle

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:29pm

nice graphics, smart use of the theme, well done

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:46pm

The visuals are truly wonderful but I just couldn't get the hang of the controls... I know that's kind of the point but it left me wondering whether the game was working as intended, try as I might I couldn't seem to get much course correction besides moving up and down.

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:10pm

The screenshots look gorgeous and I would love to play it, if you published a non-web version (I'm on Linux).

OccamsRazor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Excellent use of the theme, and the graphics are really impressive for the Compo! Controls did seem a bit unresponsive though, seemed like I could barely get myself going right no matter how early I started my turn.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:23pm

This looks promising, I would play if the build wasn't in Unity Web Player (I use Chrome which stopped supporting it).

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Builds fow Windows, Mac and Linux are now uploaded. Enjoy!

SayRafon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Wow, you made that thing in 2 days ? O.o the controls are really hard to handle ^^

Aaants says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Nice. I'm terrible at it but I like the visuals :)

Boberro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

It'd be better if pickups spawned the way it was possible to catch them, because in most cases they were too far away. Other than that, it's great, and I love the graphics. Very 90's SEGA'esque.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:37pm

One problem is if you constantly go down you eventually cant go anymore. But pickups still spawn beneath you. And then you have no real idea where vertical=0 rotation is.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Good graphics! the game is a bit unplayable, but i guess it is the point of the concept

quill18 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Looks great! But -- as others have commented the controls seem to lock-up or otherwise become degraded after a while.

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:29am

Nice little game an engine, the broken controls was quite an insight, well done.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47am

Sweet particle depth effects. Nice job.

UncleChris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Very fun game. Liked the art, but the people were difficult to realize I needed to head for them - red targets seemed dangerous, but after passing close enough that I "collected" them, it really was a challenge. Very well done.

pk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Cute graphics. But it feels like the ship is in a strong water current, some force that's clearly not the engines is pushing on it hard.

Zeriver says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Solid game and really nice use of the theme. After while it really gets tricky to avoid meteroids.
BTW: that's some smart 8 years old :)

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:22am

Well I couldn't let a 8 year old beat me. Lots of fun, great graphics. Reminded me trying to play space sim games with a uncalibrated joystick. good times

the-arrival says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:35am

Lovely idea to make the theme a theme in game :)

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:53am

Nice art, would have been perfect to have some space music, would have really made it for me. I loved the button controls. It was refreshing to see. Good Luck!

colinator27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:59am

The game is cool! 3D is good, too!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:48am

I enjoyed playing this one. I think there are some childish qualities that really made me enjoy this game, and the gameplay being so simple, I found myself playing it a couple of times to beat my score.

I didn't find any major issues, which so far is pretty unique in itself :P

broknecho says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:17am

Haha neat idea for the 2 button theme. Lob-sided balancing act with the ship. Nicely done!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:41am

Good graphics, but I don't see the use of the theme.. is it two buttons or growth? I see a ship that leans left all the time and have to pick some space dudes. Gets boring fast.

Vladik_Plays says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Great game. Very adictive as well. :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Good game, but the control seems to me a little bit weird - bad response. However the graphic is great. I like it ++

g12345 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:03am

I thought that it was a good use of the theme, having 2 button controls. The game looks nice too.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:37am

Nice graphics! And stuck controls are a neat idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]