Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dashing Cubes

by BUNN1E5 - Jam Entry

This is my entry for LudumDare 34! I really didn't have time to work on it because of Hanukkah and I was hosting a party. So I started at 6pm Pacific time today. Also when I first say the theme it said (or at least I thought it said) "One button controls" so I ended up doing just that. I slapped this together in around 4 and a half hours so I hope you enjoy!

I don't know if the Mac or Linux versions work, if not I'm sorry. I just don't have the time to test them.

NOTE: TO SEE CUBES YOU HAVE TO ACTUALLY CHOOSE A LEVEL JUST TYPE IN 1 IF YOU WANT!

Controls:
Space - Switch
R - Reset
Esc - Return to Menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#854Fun(Jam)2.71
#865Graphics(Jam)2.67
#987Innovation(Jam)2.25
#1029Overall(Jam)2.62
#1098Theme(Jam)1.88
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:07pm

The minimalist look worked well. Was not clear what I was meant to be at all though.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:13pm

For some reason, i can't see any obstacles (it looks like there should be some) in web version (can't check windows) - it's just the cube and empty track

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Couldn't get the hang of the space mechanic. I kept speeding off into oblivion. From the screen shots, it looks the player is supposed to dodge cubes, but I never encounter them. Tried both the Windows and Web version.

I do enjoy the perspective of the game though. I think it looks nice.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:22pm

there is no obstacle/enemy on the webgl version...
or is it supposedly not?

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:25pm

I didn't understand the purpose but I played it a few times. Nice atmosphere..

rplnt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:39pm

A bit buggy, definitely needs UX work - took me a while to figure out that I really need to enter alevel number :)

Love the look though. And it is challenging (and fun) to play.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:46pm

After coming back and reading the note you added, I can see cubes! I think the dashing back and forth between the two rows is very fun. Good luck!

rujo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:26pm

it's a nice looking game considering that it was made in 5 hours
the style is minimal and the visual is very cool
simple and already seen gameplay but still good for the theme and the compo

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Interesting concept, could be more user friendly by having a default level, one button per level, or popping up an error message when clicking start without choosing a level instead

Bacontree says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52pm

For a 5 hour game, this is great. Simple idea and very fun to play.

razveck says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:54pm

The first level has no obstacles, apparently. If you input a level number in the main menu box, you should see obstacles. That said, this game could use a lot of polish.

JordanFitz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26am

Pretty fun, not sure what's supposed to happen when you hit an obstacle but it appears to start shaking around wildly, prompting me to restart the game.

alvarop says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:29am

I really liked level 666.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

I couldn't see any obstacles for some reason. Are they missing, perhaps? Looks good for 5 hours of work, though.

Phobos001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Very simple, very fun! However I will note that I somehow broke the space-time continuity after dying: http://puu.sh/lWX8I/abff727f44.png

Adreqi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Nice one considering the 5-hour dev time. I'm curious about what it would have looked like if you could have worked on it the whole weekend ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]