Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Goblinheart

by ninjascript - Jam Entry

Goblinheart is an 8-bit dungeon crawler with unconventional mechanics. Instead of fighting, the player must travel through the dungeon armed only with the POWER OF LOVE!

Controls:
up, down, left, right - Move
spacebar - Charm NPCs

We didn't quite get to where we wanted with this one. The dungeon works, pathfinding mostly works, and the core mechanic (charming your enemies) is there, but we had loftier goals! Namely the player would have an "influence" counter and would only be able to charm low-level enemies until their influence counter got larger. Eventually you'd be able to charm the entire dungeon, effectively <em>growing</em> your posse (see, it fits the theme!) to an incredible size.

Oh but for more time and/or Mondays off work. Still, pretty happy with where we got this time. Resources are credited on the game page.

FAQ

I failed to see the theme
It's pretty loose but the original idea was that your influence would grow as the number of creatures under your influence grew.

Why are the characters blurry?
It's a canvas issue with rendering objects using floating point values rather than integers. Just one more thing we didn't get to fix due to time constraints.

I guess there is no end?
Well, I like to charm the whole dungeon and then try to run them into the lava (which won't actually work), but yeah, we missed the opportunity to finish the planned big boss endgame.

I was able to walk through diagonal walls
Goblin magic!

Too easy (holding space)
Game balance was another casualty of our shortened timeline.

I liked your art
The artwork came from Lucid Design. You should check out the other collections! http://luciddesign.tk/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#512Humor(Jam)2.65
#560Graphics(Jam)3.36
#727Innovation(Jam)2.82
#839Fun(Jam)2.73
#902Mood(Jam)2.55
#969Overall(Jam)2.73
#1090Theme(Jam)2.13
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53am

Nice little game, congrats ! I like the pixel art you did. I failed to see the theme though

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:04am

Interesting mechanic, pity to see it wasn't fully complete. Next time, yeah?

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36pm

The concept is interesting, shame it wasn't completed. Now I could just hold space and survive everything. Also, it looks quite nice.

Aelius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Why are the characters blurry on the web version?

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Pretty nice and original! Too bad you didn't have time to polish it with audio and a goal, like charm everyone in the floor. I eventually walk with my entire army of charmed soldiers in this neverending dungeon, and just for that it was worth it :)

muffty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:09pm

I guess there is no end?

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:05am

Nice game but has some issues
I was able to walk through diagonal walls

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:10am

I loved the concept (especially since the main character is a goblin-- traditionally one of the least charismatic of the high fantasy races... I once rolled a half orc bard/warrior hybrid in a DnD-ish game my friend came up with and it reminded me of that. His name was Balthas Giggleberry and he was a gender-bending blast to role play).

Anyway, it's a shame you couldn't implement your full plan for the influence counter because I think it would have made this one really stand out. Nice job though! My only real complaint: all i have to do is hold down the charm button and then all I have to worry about are the harmful poison water tiles.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:16am

I like the concept. It's too bad you didn't get to finish it.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:16am

Pretty interesting idea. I like the pixel art.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:48am

I loved the concept (especially since the main character is a goblin-- traditionally one of the least charismatic of the high fantasy races... I once rolled a half orc bard/warrior hybrid in a DnD-ish game my friend came up with and it reminded me of that. His name was Balthas Giggleberry and he was a gender-bending blast to role play).

Anyway, it's a shame you couldn't implement your full plan for the influence counter because I think it would have made this one really stand out. Nice job though! My only real complaint: all i have to do is hold down the charm button and then all I have to worry about are the harmful poison water tiles.

Dalkor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Great potential.

oparisy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Liked your art style, and crawling the dungeon. I'm not sure I understand whic of the theme(s) you picked?

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:44pm

excepting some bugs, good overall. Have a nice time playing. well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]