Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Seed

by Geckoo1337 - Jam Entry

I developed the theme with some opportunity so as to illustrate the spiritual growth like a continuous ascent to reach the illumination. This project is called The Seed. I agree with you - it is a little bit confusing :)

Your little world in the sky is dying. Even so, it is impossible to be without hope. You harvested the last seed, and now, you must reach a portal door to another universe so as to spread the life. It is a long travel, but it has all the signs that the journey is paying off. Jump into the sky, create your own gateway with cubes which are available on islands by using your advanced telekinesis abilities. Take care not to break the Seed. Good luck.

How to play :
WASD to move
Space to jump
Right mouse button to attract objects like the Seed and the cubes
Left button mouse to freeze in the air objects or the precious Seed
R to restart level
Esc to quit

Reach the portal door and throw inside it the last Seed...

POSTSCRIP :
The Seed is a platformer game with a cute aesthetic and a quiet mood. In this game, we play using two buttons on mouse (as the theme which has been chosen by the community), but as a WebPlayer game, obviously there are sometimes some awkward events - like mouse cursor which goes off screen. For this reason, I share only a Windows executable (fullscreen default mode). However, if you want to try this game only as a WebPlayer project, tell me - maybe I will do an effort. I wish you the best. Thank you for playing.

Also you can see my other project which are available for free on Itch.io ++
http://geckoo1337.itch.io

Don't forget that I can rate your own project if you leave me a comment. Many of members have rated mine, but without comment. I would like to play with your game ++

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#137Innovation(Jam)3.72
#327Audio(Jam)3.35
#343Graphics(Jam)3.75
#414Overall(Jam)3.42
#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#443Mood(Jam)3.30
#568Humor(Jam)2.56
#942Theme(Jam)2.96

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Nice little game! If you develop it further, would you think about bounding the cursor to the windowed game? :)

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Great fun

Coomzy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Really interesting game.

Feedback:
1. Please, please, lock the cursor to the screen, it stopped me from playing.
2. It seemed to lock resolution? (Dunno if that's a Unity bug)
3. I could just grab a cube and float around on it by looking down and moving/jumping.

Apart from that, really great! I think you should consider taking this game a little further :)

beetracks says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49am

Interesting idea. Apart what Coomzy said (I also had a lot of trouble with the mouse), I think the sound of error is too loud in comparison with the rest. I also think that the "how to play" could be in-game. The music is cool, and I like the aesthetics. Good work.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:40am

Thank you for your feedback which are for me really important. I will do some minor changes so as to increase quality. However I don't know how you can see a cursor because I did a release of this game which is by default in fullscreen mode. Personally I cannot see anything - I have no mouse cursor on screen. However I released another version. Maybe the problem is now fixed ++

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:08am

Great idea, love this game, only if you solved the cursor problem... I played it in windowed mode, don't know how to get it into fullscreen. Pity.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47pm

OK. Now the resolution dialog box is available at start. Play in fullscreen plz. Thanks you for support ++

Linus123xbb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Seems like a very fun game, but the cursor tends to move outside the game window (even in fullscreen mode) to my second monitor and whenever I right click the game minimizes which is very frustrating. I'd like to give a proper rating but it is hard if I can't play the game properly. I'd gladly try it again if you fix this issue though :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Yes I understand. I fixed the problem now. Please friends, try again ++

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:40am

Very cool! I had a good time playing this. So, you posted something on my game Re:sizer about a more efficient way of interacting with objects. I'd love to see what you have. Thanks!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:15am

Contatct me - 1337geckoo@gmail.com
I will share with you this script and some explanation ++

oz2mura says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:12am

http://i.imgur.com/xtpQlVP.jpg

I wish I read the description more carefully, as soon as I figured out how to jump island to island with the blocks, it was a blast. Then I spotted a glowing aura among the islands, traveled there, then a realization struck me. I forget the SEED! (as shown in screenshot link)

Gonna play it again to get the seed up there. >D

logon13 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:34am

As Coomzy already mentioned you can sadly just jump on an object your holding and get straight to the end. That aside the game is polished really well for a game made within the time limit well done :D

pokipsy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:08am

Very interesting concept !
Graphics and sounds both provide a very pleasant atmosphere.

I think maybe controls could be improved, for exemple freezing objects in air could be automatic on left mouse click. Having to aim the object in the air to freeze it was a bit frustrating, I had to reset a lot because of that.

But overall a good entry, congrats !

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:04am

Nice little game, nice clean graphics, quite difficult

There is still a problem with the game if you run it in windowed mode, then change focus to another window and then back to the game, seems like that breaks the Cursor.lockState.

xWarZonex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Really fun and innovative game! The graphics and audio were great! I didn't quite understand how to play, but I still enjoyed it.

Linus123xbb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Great game, it was somewhat hard but it was still quite enjoyable. I had some issues with the mouse not being locked to the game window but it works fine in fullscreen. By the way does this count as a win :) http://giphy.com/gifs/ludumdare-xTk9ZzVdZl5p0iqoHC

LittleThor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:58am

Interesting approach of the theme!
It seems that the level design is a little to hard though.
Good work!

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Hey, the game looks really nice, but sadly I can't play it on linux right now. But this is made in unity, right? Can you maybe export a Linux version or a WebGL version? Thanks! :-)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Interesting idea, I found it quite difficult to balance my position in the air to jump on the cubes, but other than that it was very enjoyable! Cute aesthetics!

Indiestry says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Works really well and attractingTthrowing/freezing objects to progress is a neat mechanic. Nice entry

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:24pm

BubuIIC - I did more releases - and one of them is for Linux ++

fxtagn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:26pm

A bit hard to play, but fun & stylish! Fine with the theme.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:20pm

awesome

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Not sure what to do at first until I realized I could freeze objects in the air. You could add more help inside the game, instead of document it in the description.

Nice game though:)

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Good game. But very hard. When i saw that the seed was so fragile, i forgot about it and tried to reach the end of level just to see if i could. Cool mechanics. But if you could make the seed indestructible it would be less frustrating. And the blocks, it would be nice if, when you grab the blocks they stood still, don't rotate. Good entry.

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Thanks for the linux version!
I really like the nice and clean presentation of the game it looks really nice.

The concept is definitely interesting but I found the controls way too floaty to get anywhere near the end. I always ended up falling down. Or losing a cube. Very unforgiving and very frustrating (for me.).

lolfrad says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Cool game, I really love the low-poly graphics. The only issue I have with it is the mouse not locking properly.

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:51pm

This was a really nice game! The block placing mechanic was well thought-out and it controlled really well. Well done.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:34am

Really good game! I enjoyed playing this. I bit more polishing would make it even better!

Farelle says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:45am

I had quite many difficulties putting things I attracted into place, was feeling as if a feedback is missing to tell me that "now it's frozen, you can release the hold button" even though I was hearing the sounds, but some visual feedback like change in color or so, would have been nice. Also the control of the box felt difficult, specially if I accidentally hit the box somewhere and it started rotating weirdly so I couldn't really use it as platform anymore, putting it on flat ground helped, but it felt like a workaround, would have liked some spinning controls. Else than that, I did like the game mechanics themselves, the way you had to use objects to get through the level and that slight foreign feeling in those flying island world, aswell as the dying trees, was making me feel like I'm actually rescuing that seed from a world falling apart :)

Acuity says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:57pm

It was a little hard to figure out how to progress, and the sound effects scared me a bit.

dregamr says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:33am

Very good looking low poly work! :)

Krafty says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:58am

Pretty good, but a little bit confusing. Nice job :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]