Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Isle of Plenty

by doitle - Compo Entry

Welcome to Isle of Plenty. You have been tasked with caring for and guiding a group of villagers on this beautiful island. Manage food, water, and housing in this simulate-em-up adventure. Good luck, have fun, but remember they are counting on you to keep them alive!

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Move Cursor
Enter Key - Build House / Upgrade House
Space Bar - Build Well

Escape Key - Quit
F11 - Toggle Fullscreen

Isle of Plenty was coded in Python 2.7x using Pygame. The music was created using Propellerhead Figure for Windows Phone. Sound effects courtesy of Sfxr. Art was created using PyxelEdit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#165Humor3.17
#349Audio2.93
#607Mood2.79
#672Innovation2.80
#725Theme3.38
#743Graphics2.58
#830Overall2.78
#894Fun2.35

Comments

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20am

I couldn't figure out how to make farms, my people kept dying... Other than that, nice work!

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32am

Can't figure out how to build farms.

Tetha says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36am

Hmm, judging from the source, I can't see a way farms are created. But it's still fun to build houses and watch everyone starve, haha.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:42am

It's nice, but there doesn't seem to be a way to build the farms, so the villagers basically just starve.

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44am

The tutorial is pretty good and the game itself works well enough. It's just that, like others have pointed out as well, there seems to be no way to build farms. Which makes it a bit hard to really play the game as intended :P

I like the song by the way! Good job!

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48am

Well, I guess I can give a little explanation now that some people have "fallen for it". The game does play as intended. You only get two buttons. Wells and Houses. But the villagers require three things so it's basically an exercise in futility imposed by the theme. It was meant to be a sort of gag. You go in thinking it's a city builder and spawn a ton of villagers and then they start complaining about food and you realize there's no way to build farms and then get spammed with them starving in the message window. That's why the Tutorial says. You build Houses with Enter. <Pause> More info about houses. <Pause> You build Wells with Space. <Pause> More info about wells. <Pause> There's also farms. Good luck! <People spawn> I was intending to just throw people into it through the pacing and have them realize possibly in horror that they've grown a whole populace of people that will now starve. All the while the game keeps telling you "Build more farms!" when there isn't any way to do so. :P

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:49am

Oh also the name is intended to be ironic in that it's an Island of Plenty where everyone starves.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50am

Same as @manabreak - I don't know how to build farms. It's fun though.

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:27am

Mua-ha-ha! Good one! 5 stars for humor )))

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Ha. Because you can't build farms. Is joke.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Lol, 5 starts for humor, I get the joke :D

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Well done :). After testing many games, it is refreshing to laugh a little !

BrettMN says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Nice take on the themes!

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:12am

nice game!

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Well, I do agree that the two button theme is lame and leads to limited games. I'll take this as a satire. I also used Pygame for my entry, check it out!

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Pretty funny, but I hope you make a regular game out of this! I ended up just drawing a picture out of the wells and houses =P

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:12am

I thought not being able to build farms was a missing feature but now I see what you did there. This kind of game has a lot of potential. I think this could be a more developed game if you gave more options to the player. You kind of force the game to go only on one way. That kinda kills the fun. However as I said, you can build up on this. Keep up the good work.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Ha, this is funny. Sadly there is not too much gameplay.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:58pm

I have somewhat mixed feeling for this one. On one hand I appreciate that you put this effort into making a joke-game. It took me some frantic moments before I realized that starvation was the purpose. On the other hand it looks like a potentially very interesting game, which I would have liked to play. I hope you'll make a post-jam version :)

anv says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Guess two buttons are not plenty enough.

doitle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:18am

Well, enough people have asked for it so I'm working on a post-compo version with a few added things. Most importantly, you can make farms now! I've got a few other ideas but anyone have any other wild suggestions to throw out there? I'll probably have it up in a day or two.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Nice I like the lack farms a nice take on the two buttons.

Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:33pm

I see now that it's supposed to be a joke. It's not a very funny one though IMO. It could be a pretty nice game if you could build farms I guess. The graphics tiles are a bit small.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]