Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Hydra Chicken

by awesomerex - Jam Entry

Play as the bird of legend and grow as you devour critters on the country side.
Features 3 different ending scenes. Dragon, Phoenix, and Zen.

Controls:
F - Left Head
J - Right Head

Images, sounds, music - @ConnanBell
Programming - @LoLo_R


Engine- Splat.js: https://github.com/SplatJS

Ported to mobile web.
touch left side of screen for left head
touch right side of screen for right head

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Humor(Jam)4.24
#23Audio(Jam)4.23
#74Fun(Jam)3.86
#102Overall(Jam)3.86
#127Theme(Jam)4.14
#132Mood(Jam)3.80
#240Innovation(Jam)3.52
#329Graphics(Jam)3.77
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19pm

This game is stupidly brilliant! Really well done :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:44pm

This game feels really complete. Multiple endings, easy replay, and the custom theme song seals the deal. The animations are great, and the throttled controls make it more challenging than it seems to eat all the stuff. Great use of humor, well done!

nodens says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:33am

Absolutely fantastic. Super catchy music and a generally fantastic experience.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:34am

OH MAN the theme song. That was...amazing. Such a cool theme and idea. I broke down when the rapping started. I want the OST. This was a beautiful game for so many reasons. Great job guys!

pokipsy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Ahah the music and atmosphere of the game is amazing! Loved it.

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:16am

ROFL had so much fun :) Thanks

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Best music I have heard in a LD game so far.

ambocclusion says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Omg so good

r8berto says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Really nice! How is it working with SplatJS?

Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:38am

What the cluck!? Have you guys listened to that awesome theme song? That rap-verse had me weak. hahahahah I lub it. But, let's not take away from the mechanics, that was super fun! Star upon stars upon stars!

Good job, guys!

-Loi LeMix

Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:18pm

This game is crazy/scary/awesome! It gives me chills.

awesomerex says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:57am

@R8berto SplatJS is nice. It's pretty easy to work with after you get used to it.
Thanks everyone for all of the great feedback.

bessdlan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:35am

ah ah music is awesome XD

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:37am

funny idea! :)

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:09am

Haha! Awesome music and great animations! :D
I made up to eating ponies. :P

davekalina says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:58am

Pretty much worth it for the theme song alone.

Jan 15, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Simple, funny game with great music! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/PXolvG1P7M4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]