Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Santa Claus Down

by SuperChihuahua - Compo Entry

Santa Claus is down. I repeat: Santa Claus is down! To save Christmas you have to deliver the packages with your growing truck.

Instructions:
- Deliver packages to the red transparent boxes outside of the houses.
- If you deliver enough boxes, your truck will grow with one trailer per 6 boxes delivered. Maximum is 15 trailers.
- The grinch is out there to get you. He's driving a green car which he's trying to hit your truck with. (He will only appear when you have delivered a few packages)
- The game will become more difficult the more packages you deliver.

Keys:
- Drive: WASD
- Zoom in/out Mouse wheel or I/O
- Reset: R

Tools: Unity, Blender, bfxr.net for sound, and paint.net to make the start screen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#174Humor3.14
#219Graphics3.63
#373Mood3.12
#528Overall3.18
#567Audio2.44
#575Fun3.03
#594Innovation2.97
#907Theme2.77

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:47am

Made it to 32 presents with 7 trailers attached before I got hung up on a building. Fun game!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59am

putt putt putt putt putt putt putt putt putt putt putt putt.. Don't mind me, just doin' donuts in ma truck!

I didn't get any packages delivered, but I did have fun driving!

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:34am

The artwork is amazing!!
I also had fun just driving the truck...lol!! Never mind the gameplay! hahaha

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:42am

The 3d-models are awesome and make for a pleasant experience in conjunction with the well done physics.
Good job!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:07am

OH MY GOD SANTA ... we must save Christmas.

Gunn3rboi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:08am

cool little game, when it first started i was a bit confused and didn't find it to fun but once i got rolling i got addicted lol, very fun little game.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:25am

Nice shot ^^ Are the suicidal drivers supposed to be policemen ? Odd country :)

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34am

Hey dude, interesting game haha. I liked the graphics. I wasn't exactly sure what to do though. Well done.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34am

I had fun driving!

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:35am

Very nice looking game and the physics felt realistic. The sound started to grate though.

Lusmu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40am

Nice gfx, well done driving model, solid good snake-like fun for a few minutes.

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48am

Love the look of the game, especially the crashed sleigh at the start, very cute. I think this game could do with a bit more direction, perhaps if you were going around a set map with boundaries, delivering to specific indicated locations it could help give a sense of purpose. I felt like I was fighting the controls a bit, but it did make tail swiping cars more satisfying. As it was, tail swiping cars was really the high point of the game. I think this game could really work as a high paced drive around tailswiping cars and delivering presents to a destination kind of game. I couldn't find the grinch unless he was one of the default cars.

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31am

Fun game, nice job!

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:37am

Beautiful game. Fun to play and really cool when you get several trailers!

thecord says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Really impressive for a compo entry, good job!

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Hi this game had a nice idea i was lost at the beginning by not seeing the road maybe would of been good if the camera had swept down showing houses and road etc ?

as an awful audio guy myself i had to turn the sound off sorry as the constant playing sound was frustrating but apart from the audio it was nice little game

Well Done!!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Sweet graphics and mechanics! Could use a handbrake for more effective driving tho. ;)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:30am

Really liked the graphical style. Well done. :)

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:34pm

I like the stylig (especialy of the truck!)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Ho..HO..Ho..

OwT says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:39pm

I don't know what to do in this game, but I could drive a truck, yay~

Piscythe says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Rules of driving:
(1): It is not safe to drive on the road, please drive off to the side. Hitting trees does not matter, but cars will aggressively slam into you with no sense of self-preservation and then explode.
(2): Your truck has the turn radius of an aircraft carrier.
(3): Remember: truck cars are held together by elastic rope. Please plan accordingly, and hope you can extricate yourself from any trees or building edges you get caught on.
(4): No one likes green cars, especially people who drive them.
(5): Please be aware of the correct direction of travel and avoid all invisible walls.

quadtree says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:44am

Pretty fun! I got up to 10 trailers before things became completely unmanageable.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]