Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Aliens Are Stealing My Potatoes

by edriavw - Compo Entry

**update:
WebGL version works well after upgrading to Unity 5.3, so here it is! Enjoy!

This game is about some astronauts growing crops on mars and some aliens trying to steal the crops. You have to blow up the alien ships with remote-controlled missile. use Key-A & D to control the missile.

i spent too much time exploring some the game idea before executing this one, so just manage to implement some basic gameplay mechanic.
some concept that comes up but unimplemented yet:
- other type of alien (actually finished sprite animation for alien that can teleport but didn't got enough time to finish the code
- boss fight
- astronaut cameo, watering the crops, harvesting, panicking
- more missile type: homing, larger explosion area, slow missile
- HP for alien ship
any suggestion idea for this game?


also
Can't come up with a good name, any idea?

Engine: Unity 5.3

Hope you enjoy it!

"They say once you grow crops somewhere, you have officially colonized it. So, technically, I colonized Mars. In your face, Neil Armstrong!" Mark Watney


**WebGL version look better in fullscreen mode

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#83Graphics4.10
#154Humor3.22
#184Theme4.07
#234Fun3.50
#307Mood3.23
#352Overall3.39
#498Innovation3.13

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09am

Ain't NO aliens gettin' MY Martian potatoes!

Controls were a bit difficult at first, but didn't take long to get a hang of and made me feel like a champ when I did.

Add some sound, and you should publish it on mobile!

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21am

Cool! Porting to android/iOS? Aspect ratio makes me think so.

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:23am

The controls seem awkward at first but once I got the hang of it I found it to be actually pretty effective. Nice work!

fishtrek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47am

Great visuals, the controls for the missiles are pretty terrible but I love them for making the game a lot funnier to play. Nice job :)

dvdking says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:13am

The controls are amazing, they are surprisingly intuitive to use. Great graphics. Wish there were sounds. I had to voice the game myself...
Really fun overall.

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:38am

Maybe it's because I player CMDR LR before this, but I feel the controls are exactly the opposite of what they should be. But other than that, nice concept and great art.

edriavw says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Akhera:
yes, my initial concept also has the same control scheme like CMDR LR. But when i try to invert it, i think this way is easier and fun. Which control scheme do you prefer?
Thanks for playing guys!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Cool. Even though I don't know what that little alien or so is, I love it.

JD557 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:25am

Neat game. The controls are a bit hard, but fun nonetheless.

I think there should be a small delay before each missile. I lost a lot of times because I was pressing A or D when the new missile spawns.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:56am

Controls are a bit tricky to get used to, but once you do this is a great game.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19pm

The pixel-art is really good! Especially the background is gorgeous!
I think with a little more tweaking on the physics, the controls would be much better.

Good job!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:59am

I think the title's good! It was fun learning how to control the missiles well. I like swerving around a UFO, aiming at it from above, and slamming both blasters on and smashing into it! With some retro sound and music this wouldn't be out of place in an arcade. Good job.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Really cute game! Quite challenging. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/DppxuiW8XzY

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:01pm

I liked the way of movement, I've never seen anything like it. Some music would be nice though.

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:02pm

It's a pity i don't get most of the gfx (bg is just greenish) :/ Enough to be playable though.

"Press A/D to turn left/right" is kinda confusing. It should be more like "Press A/D to turn on left/right engine". When you understand that, controls become pretty simple.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Game has interesting control mechanic, but is boring itself =(

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Fun flying the rockets around. Took some getting used to, but in a good way. Liked the art, especially the background. Nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]