Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Brain Splitter

by Janacek - Jam Entry

Brain Splitter is a simple game. There are two squares, the left arrow controls the left one, the right arrow controls the right one. When you press one one these key, the square goes the opposite direction, when you unpress them, the square goes back to its original position.

Knowing this, you have to avoid falling Bad Guys, be careful, your brain might split.

Edit : I uploaded a WEB version of the game (webGL). Have fun ! :)
Edit 2 : As suggested, I changed the .rar to a .zip.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#79Theme(Jam)4.24
#117Fun(Jam)3.73
#223Overall(Jam)3.64

Comments

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Maybe use zip next time? For rar I have to use a separate program, which is, well, not that much effort really, but it could be a tad better if given a zip.

That was a fun game! The music fit the vibe if the game, as well as the background and the overall style of the game. The mechanic was pretty interesting and fun to get under control. The combinations that were fired at you could be more challenging, but this was not a problem. Very good work!

Lamebait says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Clever mechanic in relation to the two button theme!

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Wow this game is tough. Nice job.

Janacek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:52pm

@bobismijnnaam Oh well, I will build a web version, I think that would be better than downloading the game :) Thanks for the feedbacks.

Well actually I'm still working on the patterns because I indeed think the game is "hard" for the, let's say 5 first minutes, then it becomes somewhat easy :p

Janacek says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54pm

There we are, I uploaded a web version of the game :)

trexmix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06am

BRUTAL but very polished. Was very enjoyable and was clearly made with some love.

Capitals says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:18am

Actually a really fun, tough game. The graphics could be improved. It controls well. Good Luck!

Xgor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20am

This has quite some promise. More varied and crazier patterns and more polish and I can see myself playing it for quite some time.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:22am

you should make it a mobile game, clever stuff

Janacek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24am

Thank you guys ! :D

I'm actually very happy with the result and I've already decided to go further with it and port it to mobile :)

AM_Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38am

Really fun game to play and super-satisfying to get past even the first few enemies!

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:50am

I liked the idea for the two button implementation, but it was a VERY hard game. Like, I couldn't even get past 600 or so. Despite this, I thought the art and sound were both great!

Ornicar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44am

Vraiment génial :D
T'aurai du mettre le son dans les notes, t'aurai fait un carton :p

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53am

Man this is tough, clever use of the theme though!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13pm

my score: 7600.
I have one thing to complain... The game start after 5 seconds. You should send the blocks right the ways before 150 points. The game its preety addicting but the 5 second ways its boring.

5/5

hydancer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:22am

Made to about 5000. If I could give some advice it would be to make the game actually have just 2 left right states for each block, without it being a continuous movement from one to other. As far as I could tell you don't want to try to stay in the middle at all, just on either of two sides, so it would make for neater gameplay if this was what it showed you from the start. Another thing that I learned from rhythm games is that you want to ease the player into doing two things at once. For instance, train the player to master dodging one pattern with the left, train the player to master dodging one pattern with the right, and then put the left + a simplified version of the right at the same time, and so on.

Reisen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:26am

It's fun and challenging, loved it! The music though, the early part is almost literally brain-splitting. Score: 12750

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Cool game, fits the theme well. Particles are a nice effect. I think it could be a big improvement if you could make the obstacle patterns fit the music somehow.

Janacek says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Woah that could be interesting indeed ! I'll think about that :D

aare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Really hard one! I only could last a couple of seconds. A shame because I really liked the beginning of the soundtrack and would love to listen to more of it :)

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:43am

Ooh, tricky! Made it to the 7000s though. This was confusing in a fun way -- trying to keep your mind on both avatars while dodging obstacles is tough and satisfying. The synth chip track keeps the action mood going, though I found it a little hard edged. Maybe roll off some of the high frequencies? That's a minor complaint though. This was fun!

piper82 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:53pm

wow, got my brain split alright :D great job, back to game to split brain some more!

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Coool... but this is sooo damned hard really! :| wish u'd made it a bit less impossible... :D really cool GJ ;)

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Coool... but this is sooo damned hard really! :| wish u'd made it a bit less impossible... :D really cool GJ ;) plz work on this and complete it :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]