Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Santa goes to town

by rockford - Compo Entry

*** NEW: WINDOWS + OSX Build! ***

Hi there :) This is my entry for the LD34.

Deliver the gifts to the houses in this very amazing 3D game (Isometric 3D by the way)!

Control Santa with the two mouse buttons, like a remote control car: Left mouse button, the Santa will turn left, Right mouse button, the Santa will turn right... It's quite tough for some people especially when santa is moving from up to down... :)

10 levels included, with only 20 lives!

Made with Love2D, around 15 hours of work.
To contact me: @davidmekersa

Edit: Bug fixed (avoiding to finish the level 3 sometime)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#90Humor3.50
#252Graphics3.56
#352Fun3.32
#372Audio2.87
#386Theme3.85
#388Overall3.35
#398Mood3.07
#465Innovation3.18
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

David says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:30pm

I like isometric games, so no exception here. The sound is a bit loud, but its funny :)

Gornova says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Funny!

I mean, I hate walls.. a little slow on first levels?

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03am

I killed Santa :(

You took the classic 'snake' design to a new whole new level!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Nice take on the theme. I'm disappointed as to how few Christmas games there are this LD. Great work.

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46pm

The wall in front of the spawn point decimated my army of Santas!

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Looks really interesting. Any chance for a web or mac build so I could play it?

Frank_Hiroma says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:03pm

The graphics are really pretty, nicely done!

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Love the audio in this one! Nice work!

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Okay, nice gameplay, the sounds are a bit to loud

ajmalr says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Nice game! Very cool response to the theme and I like how you introduced new mechanics, it was just a bit slow to start. I think you could have maybe increased or ramped up the speed overall. The controls could also be a little more intuitive, but overall a good game!

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Well the first thing I did was turn 180 and crash the game by leaving the map.
I then got frustrated that you can't walk off a fairly small ledge without exploding and dying, and that the minute you start level 5 you die about 5 times because you don't know what's going on.
Some kind of countdown or push-to-start at the start of the level would have gone a long way.
Some audio feedback on the controls and maybe "not" the mouse would have been more appropriate - the controls just feel slow and unresponsive so I end up walking into walls I don't mean to.
Also why couldn't santa be a bit taller? I can't see him directly behind walls 1-whole block high. Or make him 0.5f alpha and appear infront of the wall so I still know where he is when that happens.
Overall not bad, but annoyed me at the sloppy execution I'm afraid - this could have been awesome with a few little fixes.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:41am

Nice game! It makes me sad that santa died so many times, but really nice job! I wish there was a better way to teach the player death in a safe environment, but I guess that's why you gave them so many lives. Nice job!

Tyler says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:41am

Wow, for some reason, despite the slow movement speed, I stuck with it and enjoyed it quite a bit! Maybe it's because it reminded me of Paperboy for some reason... The view could be changed slightly because when Santa goes behind walls he isn't visible at all. Solid entry!!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:50am

Great entry ! And Merry Christmas !

rockford says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30am

Thanks everyone for the great feedback! And for the new comers, please share your comments (and the level you reached :)). Merry Christmas!

RougeRogue says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47pm

It could definitely use some more speed but other than that it's a pretty damn good game.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23pm

I fell off the map and got an error however, the game is really fun and funny. You might also want to put an epilepsy warning on

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Fun little game, love the sounds :)

StMatn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Very fun game. I liked how santa was riding the presents :'D
The block engine looks really nice!

The wall right in front on level 5 was a bit frustrating, because you loose ~3 lives before realizing what to do. That feels a bit unfair ;)

Unfortunately the program crashed on level 7, while sliding off the bottom left edge, while on a present and direction set to bottom right: http://imgur.com/8ArI3VP
Hope this helps ;)

All in all nice work!

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Nice concept. a seizure warning couldn't hurt.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Nice game. At least this is Christmas related!

rnlf says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Pretty funny game! Super hard to play on my touchpad though, would have preferred keyboard. The art style is very fitting and matches the hilarious setting.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:33am

a lot to like here - controls took some getting used to - overall nice job

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:32am

Fun and interesting game! Good graphics. I like it!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:41am

Haha, fun game! Looks like we had a similar themes, isometric, direction switching. I like the audio too, "Merry Christmas!". :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]