Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Greenvenge

by Nizar89 - Jam Entry

You handle the last defense of a planet against an extraterrestrial mega-corporation. Grow your trees to repel the space bulldozers! How long can you survive?

Controls (mouse only):
click on the arrow buttons to grow a tree
click on the bonus button (in the center of the planet) to grow all your trees simultaneously.

This was made in less than 40h by Camille Quenet (Artist) and myself (Nizar Azaiez, programmer).
Hope you like it.
My personal best score is 790 so far.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#175Innovation(Jam)3.63
#231Overall(Jam)3.63
#240Audio(Jam)3.50
#262Fun(Jam)3.48
#281Theme(Jam)3.94
#325Mood(Jam)3.45
#360Graphics(Jam)3.72

Comments

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Thats pretty good. Although, i dunno if its a bug or not, but sometimes planes will fly through the trees, making it impossible to win. Music and sounds are great.

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43pm

It's a very good game, a little hard at the beggining but it's cool!

Valandre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14pm

A good entry, quite hard but very fun anyway!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:16pm

This game has a cool style, both in graphics and audio. The gameplay is quite engaging, though a little repetetive after a while. Still, it's an amazing game. Love the mother earth by the way.

Nizar89 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Thanks all for the feedback!

@CustomPhase: it's a bug, due to physics and animation with Unity (and my own stupidity). It could be fixed, but I'll need time.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06pm

With a bit of more polish and you can place this on the Apple Store for sure

treslapin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:19am

Good game! Challenging and fun. :)

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Tough game, but the concept is neat!

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Really nice! The whole mood and theme is cohesive, especially with the the mascot character explaining the game.

I'm using Mac OS X, so I'm really thankful you had a WebGL port! It was a bit big for my non-retina display though. I had to scroll around to see the entire viewport. If there was a Mac port, I would definitely play with that.

pcmaster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Nice graphics, fast gameplay, congratulations on putting this together! :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Nice game. The Rasta color scheme and reggae music made me expect a bunch of cannabis to pop outta the ground..

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Original idea and good representation of it. Graphics and sound is very good. Timing was a little fast for me.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Nice entry. Simple but effective. Good job ;)

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Well done! The game runs pretty smooth. My laptop don't like Unity Games, but yours runs fine with no lag. A suggestion, sometimes the collision with the tree and the spaceship don't compute. Maybe a bigger collision area for the trees? Well, good job!

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:07pm

I can see this being a hit tablet game with some fine tuning. Nice mechanic done very well. Art is spot on.

The biggest area for improvement I would suggest is figuring out how to give more warning for the aliens coming from the top and bottom. Outside of that, I do not envy you the headache of adding some raycasting to keep the aliens from going through your trees... LOVE THIS GAME!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:32pm

I like a lot the game!!It's very addictive and funny. I like the character too.

CrispyOwl says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Hey I recorded this on a video click here to see it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VzwlaWdr740
Hope you like it

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Hey very good game. Simple but catchy idea. Well done!

bessdlan says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:42am

good idea (but a little difficult)

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:29am

cool and challenging! well done :)

Afendar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:56pm

good graphism, interesting gameplay, sounds are fun... I like it ! but little hard to survive XD

Xanjos says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Pretty fun concept plus I like the art style a lot. Something like this would definitely suit touchscreen devices.

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Awesome little game, I liked having to judge where they'd be hitting to know which tree to grow :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]