Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow a Tree Roguelike

by hd_ - Compo Entry

Summary:
You are given a randomly generated plot of land to plant a seed, then start growing a tree. You must carefully choose to place the randomly chosen card or skip the turn, and slowly grow the largest tree you can !

Note, you will lose the game if the nutrients or energy falls to -20 !

Controls:
Left Mouse Button: Place the card on the board.
Right Mouse Button: Skip a turn and draw a new card.
Mouse Move: You can move the camera around the board area.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#234Innovation3.57
#311Theme3.93
#393Audio2.82
#401Overall3.33
#446Fun3.20
#490Graphics3.07

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

I like this! I don't think I'd quite call it a roguelike since the similarities stop at randomness and permadeath, but it's a fun concept! Unfortunately I run out of energy very quickly almost every time I play since there seem to be far more cards using it up than producing it, and a stable system doesn't seem to last so waiting isn't a very viable strategy.
I think I'm just bad though.

IanGraven says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07am

I couldn't figure out how to not die in the first 30 seconds of play. It seems like an awesome concept, but I wish it was more clear how to start

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07am

I enjoyed this idea. I think the card based idea is unique and strategic, but there needs to be more energy increasing cards, perhaps.

zatch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12am

I was confused at first, but once I figured out how to get a solid start, everything went well. I didn't ever figure out what to do with fruit, though. It was a very neat toy for a little while. Some sort of variety or objective might increase replay value!

Membrane says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29am

Cool idea, I had a hard time getting started though.

hd_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:10am

Hey all, thanks for trying it out ! There is definitely room for improvement in terms of explanation and mid to late game variety and challenge.

Currently the fruit doesn't do anything other than look pretty.

To give some tips, soil with blue dots give bonus water. Sky with yellow dots give bonus light. Try avoid soil with grey (less nutrient return) and soil with purple crosses are poisoned.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:00am

Felt a little bit to random :I

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:05am

Very interesting concept! Can see this being on mobile or tabletop!

ncannasse says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:05am

Pretty funny game :) I played much more than I was expecting at first, growing a nice tree. Always short on water though.

Geti says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:10am

Was fun, but i felt too "random" - if you got a tree up in the first few turns, great, if not, start again. If you keep rolling fruit and leaves only you're in trouble :) Once you get a stable one going it seems interesting enough though.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15am

Really fun ! That's the kind of games I like, even if I couldn't grow over 10.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20am

Great game! A nice little strategy, pretty difficult to balance the actions... With some additional features, it could be a fun little thing to pass time repeatedly :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01am

Great idea (i actually want to build large tree here! =) ), but learning/difficulty curve (i.e. energy management) could have been a bit less steep.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Neat little game, had to figure to out what to do for a few rounds. Cool concept!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Really cool concept, but I couldn't get a seed on my second play. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BarqoQ2BpLQ

Headmade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Very interesting concept but I just couldn't get started. Always ran out of energy :(
It was completely unclear to me which tile does what.

hd_ says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:12am

@Jupiter_Hadley Thanks for trying it out ! It does always start with the seed, but I think you skipped it -- I should have thought of that :o I have updated it so it can't be skipped.

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:39pm

This is a very unique game! I loved the card system, though I wish you could save cards rather than having to pass them by. With some balancing, I think it could be even better. Well done!

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Really neat idea! It took a while to get the hang of everything, but this can be something really interesting if you continue working on it! :)

f7f5 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Really cool. I just had to keep playing until I got the hang of the mechanics. Would love to see this expanded into a full game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]