Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snake Blaster

by A.W. Apps - Compo Entry

Battle your friend in this 1v1 classic mix of Astroid and Snake. Pick up items to grow your tail of weapons. Use those items to attack your opponent. Aim at their head to cause damage or sabotage them by shooting at their tail to destroy their ammo. The art style is based on early video games like Asteroid.

THEME : Growing
ENGINE : Unity
ART : Pixen
SOUND : www.bfxr.net

ITEMS
-empty circles : normal bullets
-cross : heals 1 HP
-circle inside circle : land mine (active mines are gray)
-double lines : double bullet
-bomb shape : bomb (explodes on impact)
-You can hold a maximum of 6 items

CONTROLS
Player 1 (starts on right)
-arrow keys to move
-space to use item

Player 2 (starts on left)
-wasd keys to move
-f to use item

SOCIAL MEDIA
Twitter : @A_W_Apps
Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/awappsut
Website : http://www.a-w-apps.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#468Mood2.97
#484Fun3.15
#510Overall3.20
#525Innovation3.10
#566Audio2.45
#574Graphics2.93
#577Humor2.14
#844Theme3.11

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

nice little game

Halleflux says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

Solid gameplay. I liked having multiple types of ammo to play with. Great graphics, too, with fitting sounds. Not much to say beyond that.
Doesn't fit any of the themes, though.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:51am

Seems like a fun game, but I don't have anyone to play with :(

merrak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

Pretty cool! I like the concept. It'd be nice to have the option to play the computer (maybe an idea for a later version)

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

Wouldn't load for me. Google Chrome.

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56am

Interesting mash up of snake/tanks style game! Nice work!

A.W. Apps says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:01am

@Dooskington Thats odd. It loads fine for me in Google Chrome.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33am

Interesting idea and good execution with the multiplayer. The controls feel a little clunky and it would have been nice to have singleplayer, but one can only do so much in 48 hours.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

This seems like a fun concept I really wish I could play it 2 player with someone :D

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38am

Nice art style, reminiscent of Space Wars. The snake/ammo piece is a great concept and fits the growing theme perfectly.

TheFudster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07am

Makes me wish I had a 2nd player!

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10am

Cute little game. Unique spin on snakes and enjoyed the competitive mode. Just wish I had someone here to battle with ahah

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48am

Nice combination of game types. Doesn't hit either of the themes, though.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05am

Easy to control when you get the hang of it!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:32am

Nice simple game, too bad there's no one to play it with. Please consider trying your hand at netcode :P

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27am

Petty well executed :)

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29am

This is pretty fun...if there are two people playing it.

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:29am

I quite like this! The combat system is fun, graphics and sfx fit the vibe just right. The variety of weapons is great.

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:39pm

Hi, i really liked this had a fun time competing with my partner at this :)

nice idea, great movement didn't seem laggy or anything on the controls apart from when you collide with your own trail and move into them

overall great game
Well Done!

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Nice to see more multiplayer games. Mario kart battle meets space invaders. :-) Could have used some music, but at least there are some sound effects. The game play is quite fun. Well done!

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:03pm

It would have been much more fun to play if I wasn't playing against myself. But looks very promising if you add an AI opponent

csanyk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26am

I like this. It reminds me of the type of graphics that you'd find on early 80's computers like the Apple ][.

sararyCow says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Nice game. It could be worth to write a little AI for the second player.

Jan 11, 2016 @ 12:15am

Really nice snake game. Love the way you took it! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EnuG74cyOfk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]