Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Aazelchi's Messaging Service

by Franklin's Ghost - Compo Entry

(twitter: @FranklinsGhost)

Aazelchi's Messaging Service

Didn't go very well this Ludum Dare. Spent the first day working on a game that I ended up scrapping and starting all over again half way through day two. This is the end result which is a really unfinished concept that probably isn't very clear to the player what is actually occurring.

You are starting a new job delivering messages between users. You have to navigate the circuits and make sure it gets to the right point. This is all very unclear in the game so good luck to anyone who tries this.

I wanted the concept to be just a basic running maze were the interesting thing was seeing the actual messages being delivered. You begin learning more about the users and things occur (although not in this version)

Controls:
First two levels have no actual user controls and it's only the next two that you can actually do anything. Click left arrow or left side of screen to turn left, click right arrow or right side of screen to turn right.

My worst attempt at a LD so far so guess it was coming. Should have probably stuck with the game I first started.

Just updated with a Post Ludum Dare version that is pretty much the same with just a few fixes. Still a mess and doesn't make much sense.

Used:
Flash
Photoshop
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#287Innovation3.46
#309Humor2.75
#410Audio2.79
#524Mood2.90
#558Graphics2.96
#825Theme3.20
#882Fun2.40
#898Overall2.60
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

pluberski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Hahahaha, good attention to detail with the screen shake and whatnot! :)

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Android link is dead

shcromlet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14pm

lol. well. I played the whole thing. How was I supposed to know which hole-thing to go to? I confused.

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09pm

I'm not sure which hole to head towards.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:17pm

The idea is very good! Too bad you didnt have the time to flesh it out.
Graphics are not great but work for this type of game.
Love the mouth organ!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:40am

Thanks everyone for playing and sorry for making you sit through that. Bit of a mess.

I am working on a post ludum dare version that'll be more like what I was intending.

Android link is also now fixed.

Will get around to playing everyone's games this weekend.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Nice gameplay idea, but I had some trouble to play it. I played the browser version, and it ended up pretty frustrating because I just couldn't get the change of direction right. Maybe I only have a bad timing though! Are you supposed to just click the left side of the screen, or to click on the left side of the moving ball?

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:06am

Haha that "ending" :)
Very cute and funny! I really wanted to see the rest of that conversation.
What's done so far is not bad by any means! The writing is funny the graphic style works very well and is that you playing the harmonica?

local minimum says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:11am

Built upon, I think this could become cool. I think the basic concept needs expanding a bit to be come more fun. If, for example, the problem of the game is to keep several conversations going in parallel and not send the wrong message to the right recipient. Maybe identify the target of a message by shape. Or maybe even better to use several types of information (color, shape, fill-pattern) on each message and each target and have to send to receiver that matches one. Upon reception mutate that feature of the receiver. Or something. Anyhow. The simple layout and focused style was really neat vehicle for illustrating a conversation.

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 8:28am

I really liked the idea that you had! I thought that it is very charming and can't wait to see the version that you work on in the future. :)

freaknarf says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Nice idea with the storytelling and i know this demon that makes you fix the car, clean the house, deal with love and friends, cook and making a game same time :) Cool you did not give up and submited the game anyway !
I liked the Peeping Tom side of the game and the simple mechanic could give something interesting if pushed a bit further. From where does the name come from ? :)
Cheers !

Clabbage says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:31pm

I can imagine this game would have been quite good if you'd had time to properly finish it.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:19am

Making the controls a little bit clearer would help

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:16am

Thanks for playing everyone.

@alpha_rat you just need to click the left hand side of the screen to turn left and the right hand side. Or you can just use the arrows. But it's pretty buggy and the leeway is pretty tight so hard to miss the points.

@local minimum was actually thinking that the different paths would lead to different recipients and that would have an impact on the messages and conversations playing out. Some would end because they would be wrong receiver but others might lead into new conversations opening up. But definitely agree that it needs more obvious distinction.

@EvanEGibbs if I get some time on the side from Humqn Fishbowl, I definitely intend on actually improving this to how I envisioned it.

@freaknarf yeah always hard to do ludum dare with real life getting in the way. This time was especially bad with my scrapping all my first days work and starting again. Name just popped in my head and I liked the sound of it so it stuck. Think it was the lack of sleep.

@GeeItSomeLaldy yep controls are a mess and needed to be made clearer :)

Simonaiso says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:48am

Love the ending ;-) Nice animations and idea, but a tad dull if you ask me. Could've become interesting if there was more content

juaxix says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:09pm

I like the music, and would like to have more levels

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Shame you didn't have time to completely finish this but I like the concept a lot.

Somnium says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:46pm

It was an interesting concept, a pity you did not have time to finish the game.

The graphics were effective.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]