Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Breeder

by ItsFrank - Compo Entry

In this game you are in control of a small population of aliens, each have their own traits that make them better at certain jobs than others. Your job it so selectively breed them to create the best workers possible.

Can you help this species survive and grow?

Controls are explained in game

Requires java 1.7 + to run

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#441Innovation3.21
#467Graphics3.11
#535Humor2.26
#607Mood2.79
#728Overall2.95
#829Fun2.58
#860Theme3.05
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Hi! Excited to try it, but I'm running into a little bug. Do I need to manually link LWJGL?

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1857)
at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:870)
at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:1119)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:73)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:135)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer$1.run(AppGameContainer.java:39)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.<clinit>(AppGameContainer.java:36)
at core.Core.main(Core.java:47)

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:13pm

I like the idea but I had some problems with the game freezing when I assign a new breeding pair while two are still on their way back from the, err, breeding tubes.

Bjarnovikus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:16pm

It seems to be an okay game with a small amount of depth. But sometimes, aliens can get "lost" while breeding (I need to wait until the first alien arives before sending the next one, this is counter-intuitive). There were also problems were aliens refused to walk. I'm afraid they are know living their own live somewhere on my computer.

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Quite a few bugs made it impossible to play:
Aliens get stuck in the mating chamber, UI disapear, builds sometimes doesn't happen...

It's too bas because the game was really interesting ! Maybe too ambitious for a Compo.

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:25pm

The genetics idea is a very clever game mechanic. Reminds me a bit of the old Creatures Labs games, however this one has some strategy to which of the various traits you wish to select to breed.

Good idea, well implemented.

Afendar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Good idea ! But i have bugs on win7 x64 with java 8. Occasionally the game crash or control panel follow alien ! So good job !

ItsFrank says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45am

Sorry aboout the bugs guys, it was very ambitious for my modified slick engine, ill try and get them ironed out after my finals!

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24am

Don't run.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:28am

it crashes before i can start mating :(

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:37am

This has some potential. I'd like it if breeding maybe took a little longer. That way you'd have to think a little harder when picking what subjects to mate and what subjects to work. Additionally, with further development it would be awesome to see your creatures physically evolve as you progress. You could make dominant and recessive traits and go the whole 9 yards with the genetic aspect.

niccholaspage says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Interesting concept, aliens aren't too responsive to controls/demands, slightly confused about some gameplay mechanics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]