Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Survive

by peejaygee - Compo Entry

Here is my entry.

Theme was either Two button controls or Growing (or both) I opted for the 'two button controls'

Now the game is called Survive, and all you have to do it that.

On the Window Version (the main submission) you press Z to move yourself around the outside of the screen,and you use X to shoot, but you are limited to the amount of shooting you can do (that is intentional).

When you first start the game, the motion meter won't start falling until you move (that was just to allow for people to start the game and then get their fingers on the keys ready)

If you stop moving, your 'Motion' meter goes down, if it gets to the bottom, it's Game Over (press space to go back to the Title Page)

If a sprocket hits you, again, Game Over, be careful by the corners, you don't want to be there when it fires one out.

See how high of a score you can get, it will keep your highest score until you close the game down.

There is also a Android version and a HTML5 version, they are both for people who don't have access to a windows machine, just to see how it works. The HTML5 version operates pretty much the same as the Windows version. The Android version if different, you have an auto-fire and you touch the screen to move around but the game mechanics are the same (Motion runs out, or you get hit by a sproket it's game over and it's double tap to restart) {Please note, the Android version has no special permissions, but has to be side-loaded into your cell phone, and is set for version 2.2 and up)

I have tried my HTML5 version in various browsers, some need a 'refresh' to start it loading (don't know why). Worked in MS Edge with no issues.

Hope you enjoy it, constructive criticism and positive feedback will be appreciated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#635Audio2.19
#669Humor1.83
#708Theme3.41
#832Innovation2.48
#832Graphics2.29
#856Mood1.85
#922Fun2.21
#953Overall2.29

Comments

Levi D. Smith says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49am

Nice simple game. I like how it forces you to keep moving. It seems like the game just keeps going unless you get hit on purpose or forget to keep moving. I wish the wrench shot in a consistent direction, as it seemed to shoot in a random direction every time.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:16pm

I have no idea what I was doing. It seems like a shooter that's got way too much randomness (shoot direction, "enemy" appearance) and too little player interaction. Just move and shoot. Or am I missing something?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:47pm

It's probably really difficult to hit the targets, because everything a player can do is timing..

ToloaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I find it very hard to hit stuff.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Nice and simple game! Great work finishing!

Feedback:
- I'm not sure why I would have to stop in the game. The sprockets don't fire often enough for me to need to stop to avoid any.
- Bolt/bullet speed takes the wrench's movement into account. If you removed your speed from the bullet, and made it move a little faster, the consistency in bullet speed would allow you to time your shots to hit the sprockets. Right now it's just a little too unpredictable for that and it ruins some of the fun for me.
- After a while I found things to be a bit repetitive. Maybe even just another visual of a sprocket would have kept things interesting. Or maybe a power up of some kind that you have to shoot to pick up? Bouncy bullets, or rapid fire. there are a lot of options you can try =)


Overall though, the game is playable and complete. Well done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Maybe I'm missing something? The movement drains like crazy once I budge just a little bit. Kind of too hard because of the randomness.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Confusing and hard.

wooltech says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:41am

I like the idea of having to keep moving - a bit like Speed with a spanner instead of a bus!

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Interesting approach "two button controls." Feels like the speed/enemy rate could be increased a bit because it was pretty easy to stay moving.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]