Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

RitualCraft

by Squid Blink Games - Jam Entry

Cepha'la'goth, a horror from outside of time and space haunts the world of Komah, and only another Outsider can hope to defeat it. This is where you come in.

Research forbidden knowledge to bind an Outsider to your will, and complete various Rituals to feed it with power, growing to a size that can contest the reign of the Cepha'la'goth.

Inspect crafted artifacts to discover clues about their purpose, and uncover the history of the two Outsiders currently vying for control over Komah.

Seek out new Reagents and Rituals by venturing forth into the world of Komah; but beware, as Cepha'la'goth may trash your place while you're out!

=================================================
TL;DR How-to-Play
=================================================
- The more Rituals you craft, the bigger your Outsider, Odd, will grow. The bigger Odd grows, the better it's chance of fighting Cepha'la'goth and winning.

- Rituals marked with a "star" icon are harder to craft but also has the most growth power!

- If you're out of Rituals, "Venture Out" to try and find more Regeants and Rituals. Rituals will also appear if you have at least one of each Regeant needed - but not necessarily the right amount. Keep venturing!

- Be careful, sometimes when you're out venturing Cepha'la'goth will just let himself in and destroy your home. It sucks, but this is why you need to beat it.


=================================================
Bug Fixes
=================================================
12/15:
- Fixed the pop-up bug where it prevented the pop-up from closing and breaking the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#143Graphics(Jam)4.15
#263Innovation(Jam)3.49
#325Mood(Jam)3.45
#375Humor(Jam)2.89
#377Overall(Jam)3.46
#547Fun(Jam)3.12
#762Theme(Jam)3.37

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:43pm

I liked the game, but it was lacking in interactivity as well the hunt for specific parts lead me to just spam. It could really be helped by putting a competent mini game when you search for parts. That and theres this bug where you get the report of what you got from searching but it won't go away and the parts just keep accumulating.

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Fun concept! The core loop of gathering materials and finding what I could craft was really satisfying.

Unfortunately, it occasionally gets stuck on the "stuff found" modal popup, and makes me unable to continue :(

It seemed to happen when I was getting stuff from the Forest.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:45pm

We noticed there was that awful bug where you got stuck and couldn't do much else - sometimes it happens on the first pop-up as well. We've fixed it now!

vetch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Great game, reminds me good old 'little alchemy'. What annoyed me was searching for ingredients, but you could get use to it.

abuzreq says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Good game ,but it really needed some hints for the rituals , the idea that the ingredients are lost is annoying (although might be more realistic :P ,I guess)
I ended up having a lot of useless ingredients that Cepha'la'goth would keep stealing them

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Very Lovecraftian, I liked it :)

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Nice entry! It lacks a bit of atmosphere, maybe because of the lack of sound, but the graphics look good and the idea is fun to play with. However, I found it difficult to get all the needed reagents for rituals, the ones which are the most needed are not necessarily the easiest to find

ninjascript says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:16am

Nicely done! I agree with others that the mechanic for finding materials could have been more interactive, but it's a neat little puzzle game and you've got some great artwork in there.

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:05am

the info is too overwhelming at the beginning..
i like the concept of crafting pretty much though!

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:17am

I love the interface, and I really enjoyed the ritual gameplay. I think this could be expanded into a really cool larger game.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:26am

I liked this game. Very nice art and feel.

What really would put this over the edge if you decide to develop it further (especially for the web or a cell phone) would be waiting/unfolding mechanics Ala candy box ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptk93AyICH0 )

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:28am

I liked this game. Very nice art and feel.

What really would put this over the edge if you decide to develop it further (especially for the web or a cell phone) would be waiting/unfolding mechanics Ala candy box ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptk93AyICH0 )


Like, if I could only hunt in so many spots (lets say 3) within the time frame of a half hour then finding unique crafting components would feel so much better.

Still nice job!

Solifuge says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Nice art, and fun item-combination puzzles. The Wrecking Ball reference made me grin. The items and rituals really set the tone, and some of the descriptions were pretty entertaining. Odd's "Eyeballs In Hands" design and color scheme gave me some nostalgia for "Ahh! Real Monsters."

This gets me thinking... this kind of Gather Resources Then Craft Items formula could make a pretty cool Idle Game ala Cookie Clicker etc. A string of Eldtritch dudes to defeat could act as a gating mechanism that open up new mechanics or areas, resources could be generated by selecting a place to explore, and you could come back and make them into things to strengthen your Monster when actively playing?

Anyway, thanks for putting this together!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:55pm

@Solifuge, we're happy that people are picking up on our twists on these rituals :)

I (the artist speaking) was trying to channel Krumm, the Pale Man, and Y'Golonac and mash them together without trying to be too ... creepy, haha.

We do wish we had more time to make gathering regeants/ingredients more exciting but all the comments are giving us some great ideas (in addition to the ones we were already throwing around) for an expanded game!

bradur says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Terrific game with awesome graphics :). Could have used some music and sounds! I loved the descriptions on the items.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Very nice idea. Love the style of the game... feels like the LoveCraft-Storries... but you need some ambient soundor music to improve the mood of the game :D

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:01am

I sort of wish I could look at my list of recipes and make something new without having to hit venture out five times in hope of finding the right materials.

JLET says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Didn't work on my firefox "An error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
SyntaxError: illegal character" :(.

loxo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Nice start! I like the concept and the graphics very much, but I missed the audio.

Tuism says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Okay, the game isn't really my cup of tea, reminds me of those Facebook wait-for-energy-to-progress games, but of course without the energy thing. Working out cryptic clues against ingredients didn't seem interesting to me...

Though the presentation and graphics are really awesome. Lots of details for a jam game. Well done.

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Interesting idea, seems quite complicated and repetitive

Zaeche says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:48pm

I thought the presentation was spot on (really liked the UI). Sound would've been nice though (detracts from the mood somewhat). Very nice overall!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:44am

interesting idea but it just did not hold me - i have added to my play again list because i think it has more potential - nice job

marveus says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:22am

I really liked the idea and the visuals, but found the game play quite frustrating. I was constantly one or two ingredients short and then I would venture out and either not get what I needed or Cepha'la'goth would take one of the other ingredients for that ritual. So I just found myself venturing out repeatedly and not getting to do much else.

I think it might help to have a smoother on-boarding process where you slowly add new rituals and have a smaller number to focus on and then you can get the specific ingredients you need for those rituals. Maybe a series of different levels that scale in difficulty and complexity over time.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Sweet game! Felt like an Alchemy clone, but with a goal and needing to find each ingredient to craft. The ONLY thing I really wanted while playing was an auto-complete feature for known recipes.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:30am

Some hint are a little cryptic for non-english players, but even if I didn't manage (yet) to finish, it's a fun alchemy game, and I really like the Lovecraftian atmosphere. Good job !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]