Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sad Submission

by Loneshark - Jam Entry

A man who is finding himself must navigate the wastelands of his inner inhibitions in his quest for personal growth and material acquisition.

*As the original upload is incomplete, it is recommended to play through the updated version*

Controls:
Movement (gamepad axis, keyboard mapping)
Action (gamepad fire button, keyboard mapping)


Credits:
Corral Summer (2D Artwork)
Austin (3D Modeling)
Maverick Loneshark (Scripting and Audio)

Special Thanks:
James Moore (Post-jam World Theme)


Code: Unity w/ Visual Studio
Art: Blender for 3D models, Photoshop, After Effects, and a tool called "Animation Editor" for sprite sheets
Sound: FamiTracker, sfxr, FL Studio, and Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#499Audio(Jam)3.04
#547Graphics(Jam)3.40
#759Humor(Jam)2.14
#879Mood(Jam)2.61
#919Innovation(Jam)2.43
#1003Fun(Jam)2.38
#1064Overall(Jam)2.50
#1086Theme(Jam)2.17

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Good music and graphics. Can't figure out what to do after I grab weapon and see man in Santa costume. When I kill him, game just restarts. Also, when I dive into well, game restarts too. Can't see any connection with theme

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Acutalyl i dindt see the two themes anywhere, until i saw your explanation. This may hurt the theme score because when the player have to read something that is not in the game to understand... well this is not good actually.
But i have to say, this one have one of the best scneario artwork i saw so far. I liked the whay you have to go right to get some equip. most of the games just start and go left XD

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:22pm

I managed to recolt the objects on the left but I wasn't able to find out how to kill the big monster.
The walking felt a bit slow and the jumping was too quick.
But the game look pretty good, nice work.

Loneshark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:39pm

It seems the post-jam version 1.0 has an issue where the player can jump higher or not as high depending on input detection from browser.

I'll have to investigate this matter and possibly tweak collision detection as well.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:15am

nice game!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:36am

Nice art and music.

Spencer Alves says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:24am

Neat graphics and nice music, but even after finding the powerups, I couldn't figure out how to get around the purple guy.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:35am

Cool parallax scrolling background (or true 3d, but cool nevertheless). Like the graphic styles (even if they're a bit disjoint). Wasn't really sure how it related to the theme. The text was so small when I reached Santa that I couldn't even read it right next to my monitor.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:50am

I couldn't figure out how to kill the monster. Also the game restarted when I jumped down the well. I definitely like the character sprites.

Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Giving cookies to Santa doesn't work. Not sure how your game fits the theme.
Exploring the level is fun, it's not fair that you die on the bottom of the well, cause there is no water and you have a parachute!

Loneshark says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:10pm

@Tangible Games, I just checked and cookies definitely work for both gamepad and keyboard*


~~SPOILERS BELOW~~

There wasn't enough time to do a proper death scene with the well: "You died. Why on Earth would anyone jump down a well?!"

If I get around to it I might make an updated version where the well actually has more significance...

*You did say you explored, right? ;-)

~~SPOILERS~~

SamH says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Can you maybe leave a link to the original submission? The post-jam version is fine, but it would be fair to see how the first version was, too!

Loneshark says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 11:48pm

@SamH the original is available via source for the curious, but it's essentially the post-jam version minus the main BGM and the ability to be completed (there was no way to die or 'finish').

TheWzzard says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:47pm

some nice art assets but I don't think the 3D environments and sprites mesh

Dietrich Epp says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Can't figure this one out. It took me a while to figure out to go left, and then I couldn't figure out what to do with the sword, and I'm not sure what the boots do.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]