Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

I Am Tree

by AthenaOfDelphi - Compo Entry

I Am Tree!

You play tree... an apple tree as it happens. The aim of the game is to grow apples. To do this, you must feed tree using a beetle army to collect food and water (be careful, they don't like munching the wrong thing).

When you are healthy (your leaves are green), you may sprout a flower or two.

In the spring and summer, bees come along. They can pollinate the flowers in the spring. In the summer and autumn, wasps come along. They can eat your apples.

You have some tricks up your sleeve to help.

Enjoy... I have enjoyed making it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#746Theme3.35
#864Fun2.46
#898Overall2.60

Comments

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23pm

I don't know if im dumb... But i don't know how to play the game. I only see bugs running around in the dirt. :/

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Interesting concept, and I get that you use the bugs to bring food and water to the plant, but I'm not sure how to win :D I failed the game lol.

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Fun. Took a moment to understand how the game works, but it was a fun game. Good job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Thanks for the comments.

The idea is to grow apples... feed the tree using the bugs and in the spring, flowers will grow. The bees fly past and pollinate them. There should be more to that but right now you just let them fly past them. Then when the season changes to summer, the pollinated flowers turn into apples. You click the apple to hide it (they only stay hidden a while, so get your timing right) when a wasp flies by. If you don't, the wasp eats it. At the end of autumn, if you've got apples left on the tree, it levels up to grow more apples.

Hope that helps :)

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11am

Took me a moment to figure it out, but had lots of fun getting the bugs to gather supplies for me. Good job

SpiritJZL says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01am

I think it's better if the beetles are more accurate

Silvio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:58am

my pc makes weird noises when I play this :D (I guess you call some expensive functions every frame)
and then it crashed after some time.
it still was a fun little idea

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:42am

I don't get it either, I can't click the mouse beneath the ground since it freezes at floor level?

But, what is the name of the font on the intro screen please, it's gorgeous?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11pm

@SpiritJZL - Yes, collision detection is somewhat bad at the moment and there seems to be a glitch that fills beetles up even if there is nothing there.

@Silvio - I'd be interested if you could send me the log file (check out my blog for my contact details or message me on Twitter).

@tyrants.not.found.team - The font is '8-bit limit' and it's available free for commercial use from 1001fonts.com. If the cursor moved underground it would be too easy to line up your beetles... keeping it above ground makes it a little trickier. If the control hints at the bottom of the screen show beetles, you can click to create them.

Thanks for all the feedback thus far :)

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Fun idea, took a while to work out how the controls worked.

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:33pm

I don't know how to win neither, but I loved playing it!

berkano says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:50am

Really enjoyed this relaxing little game, nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]