Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

8 Questions

by keanerie - Jam Entry

sometimes relationships are about answering a series of yes or no questions.

the theme i chose for this is growing. the way i wanted to interpret it is in the sense of how relationships grow in different ways, and based on seemingly minor or significant decisions. the distance between people can grow without you knowing why or how, or what either of you said to make it happen. and we never know it at the time - that's why the meters are unlabeled (yep, it's by design).

if you find my stuff interesting, follow me on twitter for more of my work: @keanerie! i'm making a game with a shiba inu.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#308Innovation(Jam)3.42
#356Theme(Jam)3.84
#411Mood(Jam)3.33
#480Graphics(Jam)3.53
#512Humor(Jam)2.65
#572Overall(Jam)3.26
#829Fun(Jam)2.74
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

eskivor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50pm

at the execution : "Data folder not found. There should be 'eight_questions_win3_Data'
folder next to the executable"

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:47pm

cant run

keanerie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:10am

Windows build should work now!

Strike says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23am

No idea what I was doing until the end of the game. So that's what these bars mean. I see. It means i have to play that again now i know that. Good interpretation of the themes.

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Played through a couple of times, it's very hard if not impossible to make the relationship 'good', which I'm guessing is by design. Very interesting and thought provoking game...

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:18pm

It's a fairly interesting concept. I'm not sure that the bars mechanic is necessary, it makes the experience a bit confusing and distracting from the decision making. I think really critically thinking about what information we are able to (and not able to) read within communication with our partners in our day to day relationships and emulating these things would yield a more compelling game experience than including stats in the game but keeping them largely hidden. It's a cool theme to tackle and I really liked the graphical presentation.

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19pm

An interesting game :D
I didn't really understand what does those rectangles at the bottom represents exactly so I tried to make the green one as big as possible XD But still, thats a good concept :)

keanerie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:39pm

@ProjectX593: Thanks for playing. It's certainly possible to get a "good" outcome, though that depends on how you think of "good". You're never going to max everything out, for example.

elliottd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01pm

my balance grew by -400. good entry. for some reason I am remembering it with robot voices but it certainly didn't have those

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:32am

Very nice take on the theme.

Catmoo says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:39pm

I really liked it, although according to the game based off the things I'd say I'm a bad person.

I think started playing it to different types of people to get different outcomes.

I also liked that based off how you were doing your partner would leave the table when asking some questions.

I'm not sure if the bars were needed visually on screen, you could of potentially shown these changes in the scene like you did with the walking away.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]