Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Gun Growers

by thomz12 - Compo Entry

My Ludum Dare 34 entry!

Theme: Growing

Control the growth of your gun, and shoot all the zombies you can find with it!

Controlls:

A / D : Walk
Space : Jump
Left Mouse: Shoot
F : Enter Gun Grow Mode
R : Reset Gun Growth
Esc : 1x = reset, 2x = quit

Thanks for playing!

Note: OSX and Linux version are untested

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#185Humor3.09
#195Innovation3.65
#241Graphics3.58
#254Mood3.32
#285Audio3.08
#308Overall3.46
#311Fun3.38
#683Theme3.46

Comments

Dinomode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:49am

I like the music. The controls being a and d are pretty hard to use with little floor friction. But I like it.

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30am

Interesting setup! Having the bullets actually delayed by the amount of travel time through the extended chambers was a nice touch. Only problem I ran into was that even the base source of fire was further out than a zombie in melee range, so I usually died because 2-3 zombies swarmed me and I had no way to put distance between them or get them off me.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09am

Good music and idea. I agree with dinomode that it is a little hard to control with little friction.

Ethan Allwood says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Love it

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Kinda hard to control, especially the jump. It took me a minute to clear the first cluster of boxes.

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38am

Very neat concept!

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:20pm

So the controls were too drifty for me to feel like I was in control.

Then, I don't think I got to the point of the game because the enemies were basically too strong - or I wasn't equipped to kill them. It would have been nice to be able to turn around!!! I was stuck facing right. Which sucked. Then when I landed ON a bunch of zombies, they killed me and I couldn't do anything about it because I can't shoot down or fall through or anything. And I couldn't kill them earlier because I couldn't turn around.

Frustrating. Not sure what "gun seeds" were for :/

thomz12 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Did you check out the tutorial Tuism? That will explain why you can't turn or shoot down.
If you press F, you'll be able to grow the gun, in different directions. Also, I agree that the movement is a bit drifty, I'll have to fix that :)

Skruffye says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:52am

Went for the "long gun shoots through boxes approach". It didn't work out. :P Very interesting idea, slick animation. The realisation of the core mechanic could have been more central to the level design, but overall, a good game. :)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:28pm

I had an interesting moment in this one-- I was surrounded by zombies on both sides they were closing in and I jumped just to find that I was crowd surfing on them. It made me happy. I was less happy to find I couldn't jump off of the crowd of zombies and more and more just kept adding to the pile. Finally, I died and my gun fell on top of them while I was still firing and managed to kill a couple. It was entertaining, certainly... but I felt like the theme was shoe-horned in on this one.

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Cool game! The platformer bit of the tutorial took me longer than you probably intended (echoing the 'slightly float-y/disorienting physics comments from others) but the mechanic is very cool :) I had lots of fun building up my gun in goofy ways, and seeing the bullets pulse through my contraption made me chuckle. Good work!

fxtagn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Fun, but control is too hard: inertia and keymap A/D/Space + mouse is not comfortable.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:39am

Really cool idea. It took me a while to figure out that you need to build a gun that fires backwards because you can't turn around. That might've been because I glossed over the tutorial a bit.

I found myself getting stuck at the first big zombie bunch. I think I probably could have killed him by queuing up a bunch of shots before jumping down to their level.

I think it would be cool to have a diagonal barrel attachment, so you can fire at angles. Or maybe different starting weapons, like shotguns or machine guns.

I really enjoyed this game. Great job! :-)

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:16pm

This game is very fun and quite nice looking, but as many people pointed out, controls are a bit iffy. Great job!

gallerdude says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Good music and fun game idea.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Was full of bug when running full screen but in windosed it was much better.
Fun concept, still a lot of elements to adjust but it's a nice base.

flakoflak says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:51pm

Fun Game!

gelisam says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Great use of the theme! At first I assumed I'd find the optimal gun configuration and stick with it, but it turns out it's easier (and more fun, and more thematically-appropriate!) to constantly reconfigure the gun according to changing circumstances.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]