Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Garden Plant: Zombie Warfare

by adamwoolridge - Jam Entry

Two kids on Segways must defend their garden against the attacking Zombies by GROWING killer plants. Use different TWO BUTTON combinations to grow, attack and grab!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#158Theme(Jam)4.09
#159Overall(Jam)3.74
#175Fun(Jam)3.62
#211Graphics(Jam)4.00
#213Innovation(Jam)3.56
#389Humor(Jam)2.87
#525Mood(Jam)3.20
#602Audio(Jam)2.74

Comments

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:52pm

First I thought it was going to be a rip-off of plants vs zombies. But it went over my expectations and introduced alot of new game mechanics, it was a complete different game. Liked it alot! One thing i missed though was some better audio (music)

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Wow!, great fun. Played way longer than usual LD game :)
Nice work!

Lamebait says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29pm

This was a lot of fun! I like the aspect of having two characters that you control to execute actions. Could be fun as a local coop game if it was expanded on :)

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Nice!
there are some blanks (1minute without an enemy is long) and it too easy so far but it's on a interesting track.

Ideas:
Maybe we could grab a shield with the grab weapon
being able to "regrow" a flower without having to finish it could be handy.

Look forward to see the finished game, you still have some time left, good luck!

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Really good game, I enjoyed it although the enemies just stopped coming after awhile.

adamwoolridge says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Hmmm sounds like there's a bug somewhere with the enemies stopping, but I can't get it to happen :/

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Nice job, enjoyed playing this game!

PieChronicles says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38pm

what an interesting take on the Plant Vs zombies formula! enjoyed it - but i didnt really get the grab feature?

adamwoolridge says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54pm

The grab feature is for grabbing bonuses :) I only had time to make one though - the little brick blocks. Grab them to restore health to your wall. They only spawn in last few rounds and they scroll forward with enemies

adamwoolridge says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Actually you can see one in the game screenshot above :)

SeaDads says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:18am

Nice! Fun to play with a nice difficulty ramp, I was keen to play more levels! I had a big gap before the final monster on the last level, but other than that it was sweet.

DonEngland says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:29am

That is one lazy zombie at the end of level 5

beetracks says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:56am

The idea is awesome, but the lack of music annoyed me. I enjoyed the mechanics, the gameplay is very interesting. It seems in the last stage there is no ending condition. After you kill all zombies, it doesn't finish.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:29pm

When I shot flowers at the zombies that were approaching just in time, I felt excited. If you continue to develop this, when I selected one person to grow and another person to select a row, I felt inconvenient.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Very cool game, I really enjoyed playing it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]