Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Barbar Smasher

by PnDAA - Jam Entry

You are Barbar the fearful barbarian. You must kill the vile creatures and follow your destiny using only 2 buttons! Stay in rhythm if you don't want to join Valhalla too soon!

hint: don't spam the buttons

Linux & OSX users must install love2d to run the love file (http://love2d.org)

Aurélien Aptel
Matthieu Saül

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Innovation(Jam)4.08
#38Theme(Jam)4.32
#69Fun(Jam)3.88
#81Overall(Jam)3.92
#174Humor(Jam)3.40
#251Mood(Jam)3.57
#332Graphics(Jam)3.76
#481Audio(Jam)3.08
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

joe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15am

Nice game! Interesting control scheme.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21am

This is a really fantastic game! It's tough, but it's really solid. Awesome visual queues and great splatter!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45am

Whoa, this is great. Once you find a rhythm and can start queuing up actions ahead of time it feels good. It's just super hard to multitask it! For me, anyway. I really like the art and simple chipmusic too. Good one!

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:35pm

truely an awesome game! i would have play much more if with other levels

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Nice, gibs are awesome.

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:21pm

i would like to see a final booosssss OMG OMG OMG ! i had pleasure to play this game ^^ thx

I'm a freaking barbarian dude !

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:54pm

clever use of those two buttons!

Yvanor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Wow, great game ! ^^ The only problem is the looping music, anyway it's just great of well-minded ^^ Thanks ^^

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Really addictive gameplay, but too short. I want more! =)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Really well used control scheme!! The most solid we've seen so far with the 2button theme. Really fun.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:09pm

A winner is me! Really liked your take on the two button controls, it was an interesting mechanic and seemed to work well. Graphics fit all over. Could see this turning into a bigger game with more attacks, enemies and movement types. Great work!

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Pretty nice concept. i love the art!

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:26am

Great concept. Loved the art and mechanics. I would love to see a longer game of this. Congratulations on the great entry. The kill counter at the bottom was also a nice touch.

CheesyRamen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Really cool control scheme, plus nice splatter gore graphics :)

elizeu says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Very good game, I liked the concept of simplicity! Too bad the path is short :( Great job

Harsay says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:03pm

It was really fun to play!

Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Will probably be quite easy to play with two people - one responsible for walking, another for attacking :)

Tapehead says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:35am

this is a grat and funny game! evry well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]