Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

BOOST

by Tuism - Compo Entry

Escape! A and D controls two boosters, wield them well to escape from the rolling inferno beneath you!

> Gather enough speed to gain escape velocity!
> Rest your boosters to let them build their reserves!
> Slack too much and the inferno will catch up with you!
> Boosting together grants you a brief melee-range force boom!
> Picking up Space Batteries to charge your boosters mid-burn!
> There *is* an end, and I've reached it... It was VERY hard.

Ran out of time on what I wanted to include in the game, but what's new :) Especially considering I restarted my game 12 hours into the jam because the first idea was WAY too ambitious.

Thanks for playing! :D

--------------------------------------------------------

I had huge drama getting my build up - ran into a nasty and obscure Unity bug where my builds would complete successfully but would not run, on any platform. After many hours of frustration, I found the solution, it was obscure as hell and has to do with Canvas and materials. Check here if you wanna know, it may just save your life one day:
http://answers.unity3d.com/questions/950569/game-runs-in-editor-crashes-on-startup-after-build.html

Thanks to everyone who helped me find this nasty bug, and thanks for reading and playing! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#43Audio3.92
#63Graphics4.16
#72Overall3.91
#84Fun3.81
#148Mood3.54
#157Theme4.10
#314Innovation3.42
#529Humor2.27

Comments

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29am

Source link is broken :)

Tuism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:37am

Oh damnit, one letter off :/ Fixed it now!! If anyone has any ideas please assist >_<

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14am

I guess you still have not fixed it..
ur OSX build still crashes! :)

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:26am

Looks fantastic! Too bad we can't play it.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:35am

The content was stopped because a fatal content error has been detected in the browser.
Game crash in the desktop.

Tuism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Thanks to everyone who helped, I found what the problem was (it was obscure and nasty) eventually, fixed it and have uploaded everything again. You should be able to play it now. YAY! :D :D

Thank you guys! You're the awesomest! :D

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Nifty aesthetic! I liked the background music!

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:13pm

a very dynamic and intense game. i really enjoy it. going to play more
and it looks very nice. and i liked the music
at the same time the game is challenging
<3

vicious_br says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Wow, now I played and loved it! Great job!

rujo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:18pm

the graphic/sound impact is very nice and professional looking
the controls are original and functional
the take on both the themes is good
somehow the game is just a little bit messy

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Looks very rad. Gameplay mechanics is simple, but it still very fun! Excellent work!

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Hi, glad you got this working i liked playing this :)

the graphics are great i liked the thrusters and ill be checking out other games you done :)

Well Done!

sydan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:26pm

At first I tried to control the ship in little bursts, trying to use minute control to accurately dodge and destroy blocks but I realised its a lot easier just to press and hold both buttons... on most levels this will complete it almost automatically... In general though this is really polished and great fun! Congrats!

Tuism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Thanks @sydan! I really wanted to hit a balance where twitchy movements are possible to avoid things, and drifty movements also give the player a sense of drifting... Like a car sideways, but still in control :)

I think I'm not *quite* there yet but it's a start! :)

Dyn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Awesome visuals!
Also gameplay is very addictive.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Great game. Nice and smooth. Great Graphics. Would be sweet as an endless runner and a few more mechanics. Nicely done. Awesome work.

AlexaCol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Really nice good-looking game!

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:09pm

It's nice to finally play it!

This one is really hardcore, maybe it would have been better to bounce on the walls instead of loosing a heart.

Aside from that it was a great experience and I had a lot of fun playing it. The physic is really good and we have a good feeling of the ship. The concept is innovative and the real is top.

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Easily one of my favorites. I remember first seeing your post about having build troubles and feeling bad because your screenshots looked so nice and I wanted to play your game. I'm really glad you managed to get everything sorted out!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36pm

I can hardly onderstand what's going on on my screen, but it's fun and looks good.

adamwoolridge says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Nice simple game, boosting has a real nice feel to it. Good music :)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04pm

I'm glad you managed to fix your issues with the Unity builds in the end, the game is really awesome!

Cool and challenging take on the theme, slick visual style and great sound, too. :D

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Nice! Fun controls, ship looks like a rice ball but in the best possible way.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Wow... this feels fast, it feels dynamic... Sound is awesome +1... idea and gameplay +1 both... Very good game. I'll play it again ...

Yumi and Zumi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:25am

Really nice buddy! I did find I kept reversing the controls in my head when I was trying to shoot a box that had gone behind me but that's just my idiocy!

Had no issues at all playing it on windows.

AndreasL says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:44am

Plays very smoothly! Although I am not the best at it. I just kept boosting through the levels. Couldn't get past level 3.
Enjoyable graphics,great logo!

Great job!

Tuism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:12am

The difficulty curve was a difficult one, I don't think I got it right... I swear there *is* an end and you *can* reach it!

Though the core game design really should be shifted to give more tension between boosting and dropping back down to collecting stuff.

edriavw says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:41am

super awesome, my favorite!

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Terrific work on art and sound! Good job!
Try to add more feedbacks on "how high you get" and it would be PERFECT!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Cool game !
Nice graphics, easy to understand but pleasable gameplay, cool music, good job !

francoisvn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Cool! It feels really juicy and rewarding to keep moving upwards. The little warning signs are a nice touch. I would have preferred using left/right to A/D, but maybe that's just me ;)

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:24am

Fun arcade experience! When I get hit though, I can't find myself because of the "blinking" of the ship. But other than that, nice game!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:14am

Nice presentation and gameplay. I think the fuel mechanic isn't completely clear and I wasn't convinced by the use of primitive forms in the second and third level, but the whole look of the game is very tight despite that little detail.

It is fun, and have a clever control scheme. Being a lover of challenging games, I quite enjoyed this one.

MiggyGMan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:19am

The graphics are great! The game is really hard but that's what makes it fun, I kept crashing into walls.

ianh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:01am

How long does it take to get to the end? I felt like I was doing pretty well, but I ran into the wall one too many times. Cool use of the two-button theme!

hexagore says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:29am

Looking at the gifs for this I assumed that the ship would feel very difficult to control but this isn't the case at all. It controls very intuitively, which is a pleasant surprise.

Some nice polish here. The 'incoming' indicators are actually useful. At first I tried to collect the boxes that were coming down, but quickly realised I shouldn't be doing that.

I eventually realised that the thrusters were destroying things and that once destroyed they were dropping something but I'm still not clear what they're actually for. Where they recharging the thrusters? When I did playthroughs where I tried to collect all the things I found myself running out of boost power. Same with giving it full welly too.

All in all I thought this was a solid entry but, I think, rather like my own entry I sort of which there was slightly more to do :P

There you go, lovely detailed feedback :)

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Superb work tu! Nice graphics, excellent color palettes and intuitive controls. I am super impressed, well done!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Really like it, art and animations are fantastic and playing it feels super smooth. Excellent work!

Miltage says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Great entry, although I found the controls hard to master. I felt like the "running out of fuel" mechanic was unnecessary as dodging obstacles while staying ahead of the wave proved challenging enough for me.

The game feels great though, and the controls feel solid. Congrats on a polished entry.

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:36pm

If you didn't run out of fuel, all you had to do was boost when a thing was coming down in front of you, kill that and keep moving up, there's no reason to go sideways at all.

The balance wasn't quite right in the compo build, I'm working on a post-compo, so that might make it better. Might :P

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:37pm

This is pretty cool! :D
The graphics, music, and gameplay all complement each other very well and are really fun. Good job!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Once you get to the flow this game feels so great to play. The controls are nice and responsive and I think the difficulty ramps up very nicely. The boost up feels slightly overpowered. Considering you had to restart the project once, this is quite excellent. Good job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Gameplay itself very fast and interesting, nut game mechanic seems broken. I plaing this game about 10 minues and can't adapt to the control. usually I need few minutes for adapting to new controld but this one is VERY confusig.
Also with some luck ypu can pass first levels directly just holding both keys.

So idea of the game is good and I like how you made "shooting engine". But game needs more and more polish to come in playable state.

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Hey SaintHeiser, I would agree that the early levels are too easy if you just boost through them. The nature of the game is such that the difficulty is a balance between how fast the inferno rises and how fast you get away. And of course the enemies. The first levels are there to let people understand the controls, most people only figure out the boost after a while, so the first few levels would be murderous if it were any harder, with more enemies or something. Once you understood boost, yes you just cruise through the first levels.

I don't think I solved it perfectly, though :/

Can you elaborate on the issues you have with the controls? Did you want to go left but keep going right? Was it too slippery and you couldn't go where you wanted to go? Could you not react in time to what's coming from top? I'd like to know the kind of trouble you have so I can iterate on it :)

And I agree the game definitely needed more polish!

adamgryu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Pretty cool! It feels good play and looks very nice! I do think some of the bottom screen space taken up by the cloud could be traded for some more screen space at the top to see obstacles. Still, very solid entry :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Surprisingly difficult but I absolutely loved the gameplay mechanics.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:35pm

@Tuism
The problem is that if I lost balance it's impossible to restore it. So it fells like I press the needed direct key but ship flight in oppisote side. Meby this happens because inertion but it's very hard for me to flight away walls when I've smashed into it.

Also confuses the fact that you shoot by the A,D keys. So I don't ready to move beacuse usually I can control movement and shooting separately. And there is the situation: I want to fly right and press D key and I'm moving right. But if I switch my attantion on enemies I tried to shoot them and moves to reverse-direction.

Maybe another problem that single engine using is TOO fast move ship left/right.

paulfysh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:34pm

One of the better implementations of the two thruster style mechanic I've played so far. Sound was great!

domo_demo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:59pm

what a nice game! you really need to make something with that!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Awesome Game! Fun and challenging. Love the soundtrack!

Ludic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:49am

The game is realy great! but takes time to understand the mechanics and controls. I liked the graphics and the music is awesome !

pjimmy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:57pm

cool game mechanics, very creative, and the visuals are awesome, very appealing. everything looks polished and solid, well done :)

BroCade says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:00pm

as always your games look B.E.Autiful!

Ivan Volkov says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Hey, yo!
First, I really liked your game's visual style! It's simple and pretty, so it looks nice!
Gameplay is interesting, but I think there needs to be some sort of tips. Like what you need to do and what everything on the screen does. Like I still dont really understand what these 1's gave me :) Some sort of ability to fly straight upward? Or just points?
So yeah,I give you top rating, because I really enjoyed it, but man, make some sort of tutorial for the first launch :)

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:39am

LOVE IT!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:19am

interesing twist on the asteroid shooter demo that came with Unity!! I like it better than what they showed in the demo games because you get a top and bottom enemy spawn and the diagonal faced boots you placed when you move left or right was a pretty awesome touch. did you mess with the laser shots in the original game lol because to see a laser drop instead of shoot was pretty funny ahaha.

Tuism says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:01am

Hm? Asteroid shooter? I haven't actually seen what you're talking about, this was made from scratch and not based on any demo games or such :) if anything there were a few bits influenced by Downwell :p

DrFallos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:17am

Nice to watch! Good mechanics of spaceship!

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Very competent arcade game with nice controls. It took me a while of playing level 1 to realize that it is in fact a very short level I you just fly fast. I was flying carefully just above the death-cloud collecting all that came at me. So maybe add a level-progression meter somewhere. I didn't really get what the collectibles were, but once it felt like I ran out of juice, so maybe that was it. The second level was very much harder than the first for me. And though several attempts, I failed to get past it. So maybe have fewer balls in the second level. To build up the feeling in the player that 'maybe I could get a little longer next time'. If the thruster-meters have some problem-state (e.g. out of fuel), it probably needs to draw even more attention than the current version since the game is rather stressful and I at least didn't really have much over to notice what was happening to them.


I did have a very good time playing it. Great entry!

Btw now we have a Mac version up an running of out game if you want to give it a try.

Asterisix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:12pm

FYI, the source zip is corrupted

herniewise says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:06pm

This is harder to control than my game!
Great job overall :)

scorched says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Wow, made me regret I didn't make a SHMUP too :D
So cool!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Very cool game. The art is awesome. The juiciness makes it fun to play

KayZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Oh damn it. Really fun game with easy controls, but I am having a hard time with them because in my game I control the thrusters and not the direction, and now my brain falls back to playing inverted all the time and I end up dead :|.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Nice! Cool to see a space shooter(if you should even call this that) that does things a bit different. Feels great and is solid fun!

loxo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Simple game concept packed up in an overall great entry. It's fun to play and addictive. Sometimes it's possible to just press both buttons and fly through a few levels without doing anything else. So the game generation could use some work.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:22pm

interesting game! i like the art and sounds

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Beautiful game, very fun to play! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/w1ddlauRQRk

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:34am

Nice game! It was quite a good two touch game and had nice, hard levels.

Adreqi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Well that shit ain't easy :p
Nice one, it really feels dynamic, art and music are cool, controls are easier than I thought but energy management makes it harder x)

gj :)

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Interesting and very polished entry! Took some time to get the hang of the controls, but then they felt good. It was challenging though, and I would have liked to restart on the second level instead of starting from the beginning. Nevertheless, one of the most polished entries I've seen during this Ludum Dare. Soon ready to ship!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:42pm

The game looks nice, and I really like the graphics. I think the camera could be tweaked to make it way more interesting, because at the moment I end up with the player always at the top of the screen with absolutely no visibility of what is incoming. Having the big blue clouds almost at the center of the screen takes a lot of screen space for no actual benefit.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:07pm

This is great, the audio and graphics work really well. I think it was slightly frustrating to have to get the fuel as you could't see that far ahead, I feel like just avoiding things would have been enough of a challenge. The controls were great though, maybe needed tightening a little. I think this would be a cool mobile game with a touch button on each side at the bottom of the screen

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Original game, I love the mechanics. Good job!

Omiya Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:25pm

The moving to left or right is floaty and easy to over-correct. And it's hard to tell which enemy or bullet you can just charge through vs you get killed doing so. Regardless, had a good chunk of fun with it. Nice and frantic.

525 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:49am

great graphic´╝ü

YoungHorses says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Great mixture of simplicity and difficulty; control and wildness!

emmes says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:10am

Cool game, nice graphics, awesome tune.
The game looks totally fair, I just can't get the controls working like I would like them :-P
Totally my fault.

OTOH as sydan noted pressing both keys together from the start clears the level immediately. So a little finetuning is still needed ;-)

Zyow says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Fun game with a nice sound and great graphics! Nice work!

UI is not center on widescreen and if you keep A & D down you can rush 6 lvl easily without losing a life.

uthamon says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Fast-paced game with tight controls, I'm glad You managed to make it work, because the effect is fantastic.

Tuism says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:44pm

@zyow you'd have to be really lucky to make it through all 6 levels by just holding it down! It hasn't nearly happened to me yet! I do admit the earlier levels are too easy once you know how the game works, so the difficulty definitely needs tuning.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Perhaps you could explain a bit more in the introduction of the game how it's supposed to be played. I had a hard time maintaining speed, and couldn't get past the third level.

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:09am

Amazing graphics and music! Interesting game play.
But it's very hard for me. I can reach level 3 maximum.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 3:30am

Died four times until I got the mechanics :) I must hold A and D to controls :) level 1 escaped :) at total very nice game!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:44am

Clean and polished, with fitting visuals and sound/music. Keep getting smashed in Level 4!

EwChap says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:04am

Great fun. tricky to get the hang of but once you get going its a real blast.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:04pm

very hard but great use of the theme! very well done!

Gamepopper says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Really clever space game! Great idea controlling two rockets for direction and ammunition!

Great job on the music and graphics as well, very crisp and colourful!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]