Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pollywog

by Dan Norder - Compo Entry

Pollywog is a two button game for Ludum Dare 34. Guide your pollywog through an underwater cave, avoid growing vines, and hope to make it to the end as a frog. Press Z to dive down and press X to shoot a bubble at a vine.

(Remember, as a Flash file you may have to click it to make it active.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#506Graphics3.05
#538Audio2.52
#544Mood2.88
#591Theme3.59
#605Humor2.07
#709Fun2.82
#728Overall2.95
#832Innovation2.48
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

avocadojoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49pm

nice game,
although it would be nice to have a bigger screen.

shcromlet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:09pm

cute. what were the bubbles for?

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21am

I got to 133. This pretty neat. It's fun and quick.

Dan Norder says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:54am

The bubbles are mostly to add to the look, but if you hit one your own shooting is delayed a little. So a tad bit of gameplay involved...

hyperscope says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:30am

Much too slow paced for my liking. Overall decent game!

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Fun little game. Would be great to play on a bigger window and if you could move forward faster.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:47am

Screen needs to bigger and game should be a little faster paced (horizontally). Other than that, good job!

vortex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:55pm

I really liked the look, and the game was kind of fun to play.
I would have loved it if there had been a way to go up, so you wouldn't have to wait

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:25am

This was a small cute game. I really liked the audio on this one, and the graphics were pretty good too! This is definitely a good 2 button game.

I kinda felt like the Pollywog moved forward too slowly. I think your game would be more engaging if the pollywog moved forwards a little faster. Also, it would have been nice if the screen had been bigger.

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:54pm

it's hard, but cute and well done

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Nice little entry :)
A bit more variation and horizontal movement would be nice

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:07am

Pro:
+ Simple but cool concept, liked the choice of control
+ Cute graphics
Con:
- Too slow and hard to control, collision is very unforgiving
Obs:
o Bigger screen would be nice

Good job!

Brightstar says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:17am

Cool game. More of a Slippy Toad than a Flappy Bird.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]