Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GET IT OUT!!!

by shadow64 - Jam Entry

You find yourself in a house with strange creatures and a mad scientist. The scientist put a creature inside of you. Get the required items and turn them into the scientist before you are overcome!

Press Enter to Progress. Press Space to Activate/Talk.
Works with XBox 360 Controller.

Definitely cut this close to the wire, so there's not a TON of gameplay, but I hope you enjoy what made it in!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#48Humor(Jam)3.97
#218Mood(Jam)3.61
#283Graphics(Jam)3.87
#310Fun(Jam)3.42
#395Audio(Jam)3.23
#414Overall(Jam)3.42
#696Innovation(Jam)2.87
#1036Theme(Jam)2.55

Comments

KhaoTom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21am

Cute graphics, funny words, silly setup. Obviously you need to finish the story, but this is a nice start and good progress on a framework.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20am

The story is A+ with some great jokes and the Art style is really fun. I would definitely love to see where it could go from here. It reminds me of Hugo's House of Horrors, one of my fav old school dos games.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58am

Umm, I like the humor, but this game is so incomplete that it is not fun for me as a result. Keep working on the story!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:06am

A really funny game, though I wish it was longer. The art is simple, but smooth animations totally sell it. Would play again.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:12am

Thanks for the feedback. @Merge: Originally there was going to be a countdown clock and a fail state so the game would have actually put you against a clock. Unfortunately I was against my own clock and it won. ;)

@Sidewalk Sleeper Thanks! I really appreciate the compliments! I definitely had plans to add more to the rooms but as a soloist, time was not on my side this time. A lot of time went to coding - I'd never tried making a lot of the systems that went into this game. I learned a TON!

@KhaoTom Thanks dude! Definitely going to try to finish and the framework will be hugely helpful if I do!

@thelasttankmage Thank you so much! Really hope I get to expand it at some point in the post-jam world of 2016! :)

Thank you again to all who have played, rated, and commented so far. I'd love to keep hearing feedback from people. It also lets me know who's games to go check out to return the favor so say hello!

thelasthour says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16am

Short game but very funny.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Was shorter than expected. Rather shallow on the gameplay side, but the writing made me chuckle. And the animations are really top-notch.

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24pm

loved the leaf thing XD

Caspila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:21am

Great humor and mood. I really enjoyed the story and the whole silliness of it. The only thing that put me off is that there's so much popping in the looping audio track. It might be just on my computer though it's unlikely.

Anyways, great great entry!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:40am

Digging the pixel art, especially the scientist and his little minions jumping up and down. Music was good but the loop was a bit short, I'd love to hear more.

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:10am

I missed a little more of "game". It is more an interactive story. But I enjoyed the ideas here. Nice graphics too, well done. The music could have some work. I like the way the theme was implemented here. Very creative.

SamH says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:14am

A bit short, but I like the pixel art and animations. This is good starting material for an enjoyable game if/when you decide to finish it.

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:35am

I had a smile as soon as this started, love the pixel styles and music. yup and i chuckled. very cool, like a point and click without any pointing or clicking. reminded me of maniac mansion etc. hahaha it was you in the grey text who was against the clock after all. great work :D

PeteDS says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Oh man! Great sense of humour and the gameplay is so smooth! Fits with the theme perfectly and overall just an awesome game.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:05am

awesome, very cute, the visuals are amazing, the monsters were very funny, loved it, well done :)

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:17am

Very immersive, eye really liked it! The graphics was pretty and the background music cool. The player animations was smooth and the dialogs funny. Nice job!

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Cool game. I really wanted to know more of the story. The humor and the writing is good. Fourth Wall broken too. Good one sir!

monetai says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:53pm

wow that's a loooooooad of text, but it was great! an end would have been nice

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Great dialogue :) good job

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:12pm

I love the art and animations! I also really appreciate that it's playable with a gamepad. It's definitely short, but I had fun with the world even though there's not much to do in it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]