Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Laser Pew Pew

by adamk33n3r - Compo Entry

Yo, shoot them all up pew pew like. Use your beam to tear them apart. Rockets that boom them to the sky!

How long can you LAST???!?!?!?!??!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In all seriousness the gameplay is basically to last as long as you can and have fun. This is a project that I didn't plan to finish during the compo but plan to keep working on afterwards. I wanted the excuse of LD to actually get some work done with a prototype.

I hope you like what I was able to get done. It's pretty looking and sort of fun....that's all a game needs, right? xD

I was planning on having "leveling up" as being the "Growth" theme but...that didn't happen. Not enough time unfortunately.

THINGS TO NOTE:
- This is a prototype
- Both you and the enemies have 100 health. I realize the enemies should have less. Oops.
- There is no win condition. You go 'til you die. There's also no restart.
- This is a prototype
- Oh also, this is a prototype. This means I don't really care much about the actual ratings. Constructive criticism is what I'm really after.

Here are the weapons damages:
Lasers: 1 each
Rocket: 50
Beam: 20. (right now only damages when "hitting" an enemy)

Controls:
WASD - Move
Mouse - Aim
Click - Shoot lasers
1 - Shoot rocket
2 - Fire beam
ESC - Close game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#509Graphics3.04
#517Mood2.91
#553Audio2.48
#757Fun2.73
#767Overall2.89
#954Theme2.10

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:47am

Hey man, great work. I do like how it looks, and I like the lasers. Pew pew! Suggestion: use a line renderer and a scrolling noise texture, tinted blue, for an awesome laser effect ( for the skill 2). Nice work!

davesoft says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Nice game, much lasers!

JordanFitz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

Fun game! The graphics are really cool looking.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

It's a pretty all right game. Wish there was a little more game to it as it's really just a concept. The effects are nice though, although it could use some more game feel with screenshake and more shot impact.

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16am

I really enjoyed the cooldown abilities. without them (with only the main lasers going pew pew pew pew) the enemies might have lived for too long... Well Done :)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:14am

I liked this. ended up just circling and firing as that seemed to work.

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28pm

I could see this being pretty fun, because I generally like arcade style shooters. Just a few tips I think you might want to consider when making a fast paced shooter:

-The enemy health is pretty high, and I don't know if this is by design, but it makes the player feel pretty powerless. If the enemy health was lower, you could make more enemies since the rate of fire is so high and it would feel more "action-y"

-The player movement speed is pretty slow, so you might consider making it a bit faster or giving some kind of boost to get around.

-Maybe some kind of explosion on an enemy's destruction, which you could further by giving a hitbox to cause a sort of chain reaction.

Nonetheless this is a pretty cool start for a game.

brandloose says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:41am

I was in full panic mode like right away, spazzing to figure out the controls. Haha, good 'prototype' though. I'd like to see it when it's done. With some wicked cool dubstep and spazzy lights, that game could be awesome.

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:36am

Not really sure where the theme comes in. The shooting is somewhat satisfying but the game overall feels a bit bare. It could become a nice space shooter but it needs work.

AsixJin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:37am

A very good idea of a game, but I'm not sure how it fits the theme and it's pretty difficult to play.

Vertigon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Neat start of a top-down shooter. I think others have said this:
* Too much health on enemies. Saps the excitement of an engagement.
* No feedback when doing damage. Again adds to the pacing and thrill.
* Enemies shoot as fast as the player, and hence are somewhat unavoidable. The "laser-like" aspect of their shots are avoidable but I'd expect something like that from special enemies, sprinkled in with more mundane ones.
* Definitely need a sense of how I'm doing, but score and health. I had no idea I was almost dead until it was.

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Fun, but I ended up just circling the enemies. With the amount of lasers shot a less annoying sound would have been nice.

themadknights says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Pew pew pew pew. Maybe you should improve the way the enemies spawn because they spawn shooting and don't let you a path to scape. Nice job despite the fact that the theme is not in the game.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Nice graphics! Would like to see it expanded upon

awesomerex says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Fun prototype! I hope you keep working on this.

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Starting right in the mayhem kind of threw me, but I got into it pretty quickly. Bullets don't really seem to go where you point which can be frustrating, but still fun to see how far you can get.

Dohxis says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Well, in my opinion ludum dare is all about following the theme or certain limitations to make a game that's still relatively fun. Yes, the game, even though simple, is quite fun but there is really not too much to it in my opinion. A few abilities, basic enemy follow script with a little bit of delay that you can find in almost every Unity game tutorial and lasers. Honestly, it's not a bad game, really isn't, but the fact that the theme of the LD isn't implemented and the all to basic design is really a big minus. Keep on trying and improving! And do try to follow the theme next time :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]