Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

InfiniGrow

by niccholaspage - Jam Entry

A simple little game about a little blobby guy who has an incredible power, but he is labeled as a nonconformist by the sheeple and is sent into exile.
Press G to grow, space to jump, and P to pause.
When you press G to grow, you will transition between three phases - small, medium and large. In the small phase, you can jump through small gaps. In the medium phase, you can break glass. In the big phrase, you can break bricks.
Programming: GameMaker: Studio
Graphics: DericMcDerpy
Music: BurpeeBoy

NOTE: For some reason, the game may be picked up as malware by your anti-virus. I created the game in GameMaker: Studio and it contains no malicious code. Its a false positive.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#552Theme(Jam)3.63
#602Audio(Jam)2.74
#871Mood(Jam)2.63
#915Fun(Jam)2.60
#937Graphics(Jam)2.40
#966Innovation(Jam)2.32
#976Overall(Jam)2.72

Comments

BurpeeBoy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:28am

Its like a good flappy bird, but with growing. 9/10

BurpeeBoy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29am

Also wtf is chasing me

XtremePrime says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50pm

A sheep in a suit is chasing you. The collision is a bit annoying and needlessly hard. It's alright, but could use some work o:

ericrputney says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:19am

Fun game! The animations are pretty nice, it's a bit harder than it probably needs to be but it's alright.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:57am

I liked the character animation a lot. I found the controls a little touchy though.

xodene says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:48am

Not a bad entry. I was pleased with the animation but the controls don't feel too responsive, which made the game feel more difficult than it actually was.

marveus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:08am

Fun game! Really enjoyed this one. Good animations and mechanics although a little too challenging. Really liked those phat music beats! :D

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:48am

Some of the obstacles were too difficult to jump through, but it was a good thematic take on flappy bird, and the character was well animated.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:54pm

nice little game)

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Played on a Galaxy S5. Overall solid game, the animations and sound were nice. The aesthetic could use some work, the graphics didn't really to seem to mesh with each other. Gameplay itself was fun. Awesome entry!

Allthebees says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Cool game, had a lot of fun playing it, the art and animation was good too. The music seems promising but currently a bit repetitive.

xdigdoug says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Only problem I had with this game is that it's really hard to break windows at medium size. Also I'm not sure if the huge size has any benefit to use, I think it jumps higher, but cannot break brick walls? The collision box could be smaller for the medium sized blob.

The music and the sheep man where both very amusing, though :D

niccholaspage says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:00am

@xdigdoug The huge size is able to break brick walls. You aren't able to break them when you are transitioning from the medium size to the huge size though. The collision box for the medium sized blob is pretty small but I see what you mean about how hard it is. I probably should have made it even smaller, haha.

bob_fish says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:57am

Nice work, pretty fun. You made a pretty good game given the time constraints. I quite enjoyed the music. Well done!

TheWzzard says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:55pm

the music really shouldn't restart every time you lose, it gets irritating very fast

Tosic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Funny and nice, liked it, only the graphics are a little bad, but, nevr mind :D!

radmars says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:36am

Interesting concept, though really tough. Would be much improved if there were a gentler difficulty progression at the beginning. Minor bug: if you're holding jump when you land, you immediately jump again, which caused a couple deaths for me (most platformers don't act like this AFAIK). I really like how the music builds up when you grow; we actually did something similar on our game. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]