Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Red or Blue

by besieger1 - Jam Entry

A short and sweet FPS, the theme tie in is the terminal used to generate the level takes one of two buttons presses that changes the generated level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#450Graphics(Jam)3.58
#688Audio(Jam)2.29
#806Humor(Jam)2.00
#927Mood(Jam)2.48
#957Fun(Jam)2.53
#1016Overall(Jam)2.65
#1017Innovation(Jam)2.09
#1079Theme(Jam)2.24

Comments

kabel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

It's a nice little game, but there is no point, no objective, no tutorial and no reason for me to slaughter some cubes. There needs to be a little more context and little more answering questions like why?
Sure the gameplay is engaging, but two very small levels is too short to fully use game mechanics like scope for example.

3rdChance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Fun shooting stuff cubes for a few minutes, but my framerate was like hell even on lowest settings. Also, some context / setting / mission would have been nice. But keep up your work and get better for the next LD !

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Interesting game and attractive graphics!

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:31pm

After pressing the button, nothing happened. I wasn't a big fan of the smooth turning of the camera, but what I could play felt fairly solid.

Coomzy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:41pm

I think for an FPS the aim should be instant not gradual, and echo waht Kabel says.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:43pm

I can definitely see potential, also, on the first panel with a red and blue button, maybe you should make Q correspond to the left button, rather than the right.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Good concept, I like where you were going with this. By the time I found the door, all the enemies were stacked up at the door. I also didn't like the way the camera lerps to the new look direction, felt very floaty and not what I'm used to. Good effort overall.

daveh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Definitely needed at least some simple goal. Functional basis for a shooter though, so good job on that.

Gyfis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Like other mentioned, this heavily misses some kind of a goal, or at least an indicator - also the door were very subtly hidden in the game. I like the graphics though, very nice, and also enjoyed the camera movement (although it was laggy, but that's my fault). Good proof of concept, overall!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:31pm

I'm getting some UnitZ vibes from this one :) but maybe I've seen too many Sterling videos. Hope you have some more time next round.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:20pm

It's interesting, but as others have said no goal is kinda awkward and I'm not sure it's really in the spirit of the theme.

gallerdude says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Too subtle for me.

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Pretty cool concept and very clean looking graphics. :)
I was able to get to 123 kills, but then I ran out of bullets; so I climbed onto the building and jumped out of the level. :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]