Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Puzzle Tower

by mclewis - Jam Entry

Traverse a tower by solving spacial puzzles in this first-person puzzler. Each puzzle you solve will make the tower grow and allow you to reach new heights and new puzzles. Solve all four puzzles to reach the very top!

Note: The web build is only confirmed to work on Chrome. Please try the Windows build if the game does not work in your browser.

Credits ------

Brendan
Block Mechanics

Marshall
Level Design
Elevator Scripting
Art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#521Innovation(Jam)3.13
#533Graphics(Jam)3.43
#572Overall(Jam)3.26
#670Fun(Jam)2.96
#844Humor(Jam)1.69
#924Theme(Jam)3.00
#937Mood(Jam)2.44
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57am

Nice puzzle game :) Interesting use of the theme !

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

Good game!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09am

nice puzzle game, got frustrated after the second puzzle, i fell after the blocks shot me up to the ledge, and i couldnt get back up. :/

mclewis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15am

Jcmonkey if you fall off of the elevators there is a switch that brings them back down.
just step on it and press 'E'

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14am

I like it!

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:17am

Wow. Little bit confusing at beginning. But once I get used to the elements, the level design are put me in the flow. Good job!

Maniac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:48am

The web version says "SyntaxError: illegal character" for me (Firefox). :-(

mclewis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Sorry about the Maniac. I was only able to get the Unreal 4 HTML5 build to run on Chrome.

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Nice game! My game used a similar concept, so it was interesting to play.

Unfortunately I got stuck in the main "elevator" zone after solving the second puzzle.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Tricky.. Got stuck in an elevator cube once =/

juaxix says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:38pm

I love the aesthetics and puzzle

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]