Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Spectral Sprinter

by Acuity - Compo Entry

Spectral Sprinter is an endless runner where you try to survive and reach as far as you can!

J = Phase in and out, you run when phased
K = Action (dagger when phased, jump when not phased)

Daggers will kill enemies, but enemies are small and don't spawn often so that might not come into play much.

I only had 2 hours at the end to do the song and the sound effects in FL Studio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#195Audio3.30
#359Humor2.63
#365Mood3.13
#400Fun3.26
#401Overall3.33
#521Innovation3.11
#617Theme3.56
#688Graphics2.70
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Cool proof of concept! I can't even begin to think how an endless runner is programmed. I enjoyed the push-pull of the phase states, though I found it hard to last much time. Some of the jumps are really tough. This is neat to play.

esayitch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:58am

Pretty difficult, but a really good concept. It's still very rough and unpolished but you should really flesh this out IMO, it can be a very good runner. I really liked how the two buttons allow you to do 4 actions, very smartly done.

The character sprite was not clean (one of the animation frames has a thin line at the right side that should probably be cleaned xD)

Good luck in the compo, I really liked the music as well :)

Switchiers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:18pm

After 5 minutes trying all the touches of my keyboard I finally find the commands ...
Great simple game but a menu or a tutorial/explanations would have been good.
But mechanics are good!
(sorry for my bad english I'm frenchx)

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:53am

A nice simple endless runner. I like the way two button controls were used to do several things, but it did feel a bit odd, I kept trying to jump while phased. I think the platforming design could be improved a bit, perhaps by introducing slopes rather than blocky levels. It was really annoying to get caught on a one block high wall. I like the simple aesthetic though. The music was great, especially for 2 hours work!

FireSlash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:36am

I was wondering how long before I saw an endless runner! It's a great genre to play with for two button controls.

The implementation here is a bit shaky in places. Jumping doesn't feel particularly solid (which is important for a runner), and the obstacles aren't clear. I thought I was grabbing a powerup of some kind, but it killed me.

Music is really good.

wehard says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:36am

So addictive! Cool game bro, had to try a million times. It was pretty hard actually and that's why it was so frustratingly addictive. Well done :)

ddr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:41am

some jumps are really tough. I had trouble getting used to jump and then dash, it seemed counterintuitive.

+1 on tutorials and an incrementing score somewhere on the screen.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:13pm

The gameplay is nice and simple, which is excellent for an endless runner. If I'd had to make one suggestion it would be to polish the graphics a bit. But as I said, the gameplay is really solid.

Acuity says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Thanks for all the feedback, everyone!

When I have time, I'll have to polish some of this a bit. I also want to do a little bit more with the "enemy", and attempt to add a tutorial for a post-compo version.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Don't get me wrong, amazing music!

ninos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:10am

Really nice concept, loved the music :D

BlackBulletIV says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Great music and implementation of the theme. Found it really hard though.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:59am

The gameplay is simple - an excellent endless runner. Well done ++

Stuntddude says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:54pm

For this Ludum Dare I've seen a lot of games that make inventive use of two-button controls, but I've also seen a lot of games that are severely hindered by it, and this is no exception. The game feels very much out of the player's control, which is never a good thing, especially for an infinite runner. In particular, phasing seemed to take a frame or two before it went into effect, which means that letting up on the J key and then quickly pressing the K key threw a dagger more often than it let me jump. The enemies also seem to enjoy popping up where it's nearly impossible to hit them or jump over them, mostly generating right on ledges that I have to jump up to, so I'd have to start dashing and then throw a dagger at the right moment in mid-air, which again is made harder by the sprint control being slightly unresponsive.

scorched says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Good one, but I didn't understand what the dagger is for, it would be more convenient to just always jump!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]