Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Reap

by Managore - Compo Entry

___________________________STORY___________________________


your ship breaks up on the rocky shores, but luckily you've made it to the island!

every action drains your energy, but the sleep you get each night revitalizes you

there is plenty of fresh water, but if you don't eat you will quickly starve to death

some of the turnips on board washed up on shore, but they're in limited supply
unless you plant and harvest some of them

when the ship crashed, you watched your treasure map tear and scatter to the wind


_________________________CONTROLS_________________________


play with either KEYBOARD or GAMEPAD

move with WASD or ARROW KEYS (or LEFT STICK), you can move diagonally

control the left hand with X or N (or A or LEFT TRIGGER)
control the right hand with C or M (or B or RIGHT TRIGGER)

tap a key to pick up or drop an item, hold a key down to use an item
each hand can carry one item at a time


___________________________HELP____________________________


the game takes up to a minute to procedurally generate the world, during this
time there are useful instructions on screen, which you can also find above

normal difficulty is much more forgiving, you have more energy to use each day,
the days are longer, and you have twice as much maximum food

you can tell what difficulty you're in by how much food you lose each day,
on normal you lose one sixteenth, on hard you lose one eighth

there are four general stages in Reap,

1. surviving until your first crops are ready for harvest
2. becoming self sufficient on crop growth
3. exploring in search of the treasure map pieces
4. pinpointing and reaching the treasure

please let me know if you have any problems running or playing the game

mac version hopefully coming soon!


___________________________ABOUT___________________________


the game procedurally generates a series of islands with rivers and forests,
using modified perlin noise

it also generates a minimap of the islands which you pick up and carry around

the treasure is randomly buried in a visually interesting area and a treasure map
is generated of the surrounding terrain

it then scatters tools, food, and the four pieces of the treasure map

I originally planned to include a vine monster which slowly grew across the island,
forcing you to spend energy clearing it before it overtook your crops and tools,
but that was too ambitious for me and led to too many ways to die,
so instead I tried to make growing crops interesting and important to the game

Reap uses five colours (that shift as the day progresses)

made using Gamemaker, Photoshop, bfxr and the everlasting adoration of kittens


* fixed a bug that let you dig in the ocean
* fixed a graphical bug when chopping some forests
* fixed the hoe animation not always playing
* added post-compo build with a wider range of difficulties and a better day/night cycle

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#7Graphics4.59
#7Mood4.38
#7Overall4.32
#75Audio3.76
#98Fun3.76
#100Innovation3.85
#534Theme3.67

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:03am

It's a beautifully put together game and that map generation is a work of art in itself. However that gameplay didn't grab me.

I felt like I spent the majority of my playtime (10+ minutes), aimlessly chopping paths through woods and finding nothing. I couldn't find anything to draw me forward so I left it there.

That being said I really liked the handedness mechanic and having to think about what you were holding vs what you needed and when was interesting.

sputnik says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:22am

Really beautiful game. Love the old map art. Love how the time is represented. Didn't find the treasure yet...

RocketBunny says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

what program did you use?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:15am

I'm a little confused about the controls but the graphics and world generation are amazing. I really like the ambient audio too.

Guard13007 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:00am

I remember you sharing an early look at this, very very nice!

OdnetninI says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09am

Really fun Game
Some minor bugs, but Good :D

Pierrec says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08am

Found the treasure. Got lost several times and really feared I would never make it. This was awesome. I was a bit sad I couldn't pick the treasure and bring it back to my place

Pikace says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:39am

"Next time, I'll bring a backpack."
Very nice short survival game. The map generation is amazing, and I loved how you took care of the time passing in the UI. A playable ancient treasure map. Feels good.

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:11pm

very good entry. i didn't find a treasure yet. but i'll try again

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:12pm

I finished it. Nice, but insanely grindy!

DragonXVI says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Energy usage is just a little too high for me :p Kept passing out every 5 seconds! Love the art style and nice touch with the UI tooltips too. Would love to see some shots of the full world gen in action

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:33pm

It's a pretty awesome game, very polished. And the day and night mechanic is superb!

vidarn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:41pm

This was amazing!
Beautiful graphics and I hade a lot of fun exploring the world. This is a game I will definitely come back to.
Great job!

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Map generation blown my mind. Awesome art as always, polished and stylish, awesome ideas, solid gameplay. Maybe your best game so far.

_stice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Utterly gorgeous! I remember seeing your tweet and thinking, "i must find this game and rate it 5/5 for graphics!"

The way time is represented was awesome, and the equip-controls were clever.

The survival mechanics didn't feel fun, though. I liked the world and the old-map aesthetic so much, i just wanted to go exploring! The hunger and energy just slowed me down.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Graphically stunning, intuitive UI choices and controls, and a nice atmosphere. The gameplay isn't really fantastic, as others have mentioned just hitting trees and finding nothing became boring fairly quickly. The day/night cycle also seemed to break up gameplay at weird points - maybe something could happen during the night that made it a more interesting part of the game?

torcado194 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Wow i loved this so much! the visuals are amazing, and the sounds and gameplay and everything! I found the treasure on my 2nd game (it was right near where I spawned, somehow), Is that the end of the game or is there more past that? nothing really happened after I dug it up.
Nice job!

ajmalr says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Beautiful game, love the proc-gen! The gameplay didn't really grab me but I love the time mechanic.

anissen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Oh, I really want to play! It looks both beautiful and awesome. Sadly no support for Mac's :/

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Hello bro, as always you are surprising me with your crazy ideas!

About the game:
It's very beautiful and took me a second to understand what I had to do, but when I realized I was like OMG!

Sometimes I feel the controls were not responding correctly!

Anyway,
Congratulations for your excellent work!

And if it's not ask so much, make a visit in my game!
Armageddungeon - (Diel Mormac)

Take Care,
Diel Mormac

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26am

Just so you know.. when it says 'press a key to begin' or something along those lines, actually pressing 'A' does nothing, and it still says it's generating the world. So the first time I started the game, I left it running for a long time and then I got tired of waiting and quit. Yes, I'm not smart :(

Now I'm going to play for real though! Back soon with my comments.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39am

Boom, found the treasure! Also built a self-sustaining turnip farm. Too bad I can't sell them :(

Really awesome game.

Let's start with the "negatives" though.. wait, are there any?
I think the energy use could be a *little* lower, but it's not really terrible. Found one strange behaviour/bug: If you build a raft diagonally, it can happen that you're unable to actually step onto the raft unless you build another one next it that you can walk onto straight.

The graphics are just beautiful. I wonder for how long I could play with the same palette though.. Maybe a future version could have seasons, each with their own palette?

The sounds are quite nice, never grating or repetitive, also they're pretty muted which lends a sort of dreamlike feeling to the whole thing.

The game is never frustrating or boring as long as you choose your goal wisely, I think. Like, start with just growing more turnips than you consume and save thorough exploring for later. It's quite nice.

Overall, Graphics, Mood all 5/5.

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:56am

Absolutely amazing style

Geti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59am

Again (like with rxi's game), the only thing that was annoying was inventory management. Survival+farming is a very enjoyable premise. The map mechanics were quite unique too, and i loved needing to actually read the map based on where i was rather than having a YOU ARE HERE stamped on it.

Verrazano says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:58am

If this game had some more content added to it I would buy it. I loved the multistage progression of the game. I think I played for about 25-30 minutes. Messed up on my first run wasted my turnips because I didn't figure it out fast enough. Second run I had a surplus of turnips, Then getting to the Find the treasure map part was awesome, just a little bit of navigating, I loved how going out into the ocean was really scary. Made me feel like I was really just ship wrecked and my only hope was the turnip farm I was afraid every time I went out that I would lose sight of it.
Finally having figured out how to put together the map I sat peering at it and the overall map for ages trying to discern the possible locations it could be at. I tried probably 5 different locations trying to find the chest. But when I finally found it I was sad, there was no sound, and nothing to spend my gold on. I felt empty all that work, but I had grown to love my simple turnip farming ways.

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:15am

You are damn fast Daniel!

csanyk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:32am

I don't know how you do it, but you just keep getting better. The depth to this game is astounding. Explore, survive, find the treasure. I have found two pieces of the map(?) so far but I don't know what to do with them yet. The timekeeping and energy meters are brilliant. procedurally generated map... amazing. How'd you get the wind sound from bfxr?

I can't wait to take a look at the code and learn from it.

the31 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47am

Wow, I'm amazed as usual. I played without reading the description and it was all discoverable enough to get close to the end--I had both maps, but for the life of me I couldn't figure out where the treasure could be. I took screenshots if you're curious how it turned out for me.

On top of the top-notch graphics, audio, and feel, it's impressive that the map was procedurally generated. Nice!

Dalkor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22am

Lovely game. Love the art direction, the difficulty and the minimalism. I wish there was more substance to keep me playing though, something simple would work, like notes from someone who had been there before?

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:58am

The randomized maps are just the bomb! Great work, man!

lekochen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02am

This is amazing. I want to live there.

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:43am

Excellent game! Very creative use of two buttons. Quit my first playthrough as I had trouble with food and grew (get it?) tired of finding so little. Fortunately the second time around I found the world map almost immediately and was able to find the treasure.

My only gripe is with the energy and food: food seemed to last a long time - if you built a farm early w/ enough food, you could make really really long expeditions as you could easily fill up - while energy seemed to run out far too quickly.

martincohen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28am

Master, teach me!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59am

Your game has the same problem as mine; it takes a little too long to get anything done :) I think with a bit of tweaks this could be an even more fun game than it's now :)

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:50pm

As usual, great game! very creative use of the theme in the day/night cycles. love the survival/strategy concept. great mood. well done

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52pm

This is a wonderful game, really. Very interesting how you implemented the mechanics and the ui in such a gorgeous way. It is fun to go around and explore what is around the map.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26pm

haha I couldn't pause to write a review for this game.
I can't say enough good things about this game. I played a lot of Don't Starve, and this is a pretty damn good competitor. There is a final goal though, which I did manage to beat. 5 stars.

Now for the small details:
- I'd really like it if you can swap a tool with what's on the ground. (eg, holding axe in left hand, standing over scythe, press left, swap axe for scythe). I guess that might change a lot of things since you can put multiple items on the same tile.
- too much wood. wood everywhere.

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Incredibly polished for 48 hours. The UI (especially the sun) is brilliant. Really like the pixel art as well, the limited color palette works very well. Really impressive!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24pm

The art style is very nice and I like the ambient audio. Overall, another excellent game by Managore (I still got theories that you are a game dev robot and not human)

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Was this really made from scratch in 48 hours?

Todnut says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Cool art and style! I'm not really sure how to progress in the game.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:17pm

This game is beautiful. I can't believe you got so much game in such a small sized .exe.

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Nice mood and graphics! A bit of information overload at the beginning. The day night cycle was really cool.

DonEngland says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Wonderful experience. Good mechanics and graphical style.

Acorn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:29am

brilliantly lonely

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:09am

The visuals are elegant and mood is there for sure. I found it hard to understand my goals, otherwise awesome job. I also loved the UI ;)

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18am

Oh man, this is absolutely brilliant, i hope you're planning to keep working on it, this could be the next Don't Starve.
Took me a while to figure out how to use tools, namely the map, but once i did i was hooked and didn't stop until the treasure was mine (nothing happened after i dug it up though, but i assume i won?)
So impressed, full marks.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:56am

Didn't get to do much progress, but definitely a game I will be coming back to. The first screen scared me a little with all the combinations cheat-sheet and text, but it ended up being way more friendly when I actually started playing. Elegantly designed as ways :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:22am

Very cool game. I ended up playing for most of an hour looking for the treasure without any success. And then lost my axe somewhere :-). But I really enjoyed the elegance of it. Top notch.

KZdev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:08am

There's not much I can say that hasn't already been said, so ditto to all the positive comments above me, but I do wish there was a pause button. I couldn't finish the game because I had to step away from the computer and I was pretty much starved to death when I came back. Then again I didn't get a chance to put a pause button in my (inferior) game either so I guess I shouldn't be the one to talk about that :p

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:29am

So so good Daniel! I love your work :) Quality stuff as usual!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:05am

As usual, beautiful execution. UI is lovely. Game is balanced well. It would've been nice to have a button to swap to the "recipe list" (I get the two button thing though).

Fits both themes well. Looks gorgeous. Ambient sounds are nice, unrepetitive and fit the game very well. Very moody too.

Great job.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44am

my god, this is one of my favorites so far!

your games never fail to amaze me, and this one is no exception!

the graphics are lovely, the color palette is gorgeous, the day/night timer combined with the field-of-view UI is simply genius... what can I say, I love it, everything is damn near perfect!

I would suggest that you slightly alter the player's movement, he moves on a grid, right? I think the grid is just a little too tiny, and can sometimes be hard to lineup stuff [then again, this is just my preference because when I play these types of games my OCD kicks in and I like to align things], so I would recommend making the grid just slightly larger [this would make it feel more 'turn-basey' though, and that might not be what you want].

I actually ended up playing this for well over an hour [my turnip farm is massive], you've built such a comfy little world to explore, it's fantastic. Excellent job :)

mar3k says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:38am

Beautiful game, really well made and you should totally continue in developing it, it was really fun to play and I totally forgot about time with how much I was into it :D If you were to add more crafting and goals, maybe even hunting I would actually buy that game. Good job!

treslapin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Wow! I love the graphics and the concept. It's really well done. Good job!

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Very good game, the style is amazing!
I played the windows version, and the controls seemed strange to me. The buttons don't always work. It's not much spoiled the experience, just saying. Good luck ^_^

Tuism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Y U WINDOWS ONLY D:

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Awesome work! Have yet to complete the game but managed to collected 3 map pieces. Loved the graphics and the mood a lot! :)

CrownCity says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21pm

This game had me playing for quite some time! I definitely liked it!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:24pm

What an amazing world to get lost in!
Love the art style and map theme!

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:41pm

I love how much you do with only 5 shades of one color. It looks so good!!

Game play is pretty good - I like the two-handed controls, not only as it fits the theme but just as a survival game feature.

Great job as always :D

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Wow! I was mesmerized when I saw a world map.
Cool survival tresure hunting adventure :)

Dege says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Excellent as always. I'm a long time fan of your work, and you always remember me why. Art and colors are beautiful, really takes you to that little world. Wind/sea noise is very effective, but a little boring given the time you need to play it: maybe I liked some random mixed drones more. You took the two-buttons theme a little less strictly than the average (given the d-pad), but that's ok.

Lorenzo.

Robber says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:11pm

amazing entry! well done, finally found the treasure!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:15am

Loved the graphics and general polish of the whole game. I'm really curious about the world generation, so I might give a go to the source code :)

Congratulations, this is an awesome entry!

fractalbear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:17am

So beautiful, thank you so much for inspiring me :)

blurryroots says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:55am

Feels very polished. I liked the sepia look and the art style. Amazing feat for a compo entry.

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:41am

One of the best entries I've seen.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:46am

You hooked me into your style with Birdsong -- so I made sure to find your entry this jam. You definitely have magic fingers with being able to make something this clean and polished in 2 days... I am definitely jealous of your map generation.

I have played it enough to rate it, but not enough to be done with it. I'll def be playing this one more this week. Great job!

martincohen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:04am

So close to beating it! Will try tomorrow. It's a magnificent feat, master Daniel! <3

TRAB says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:32am

Hey Daniel! I'm a huge fan of yours, having played (and loved) Roguelight, the Sun and Moon, & Birdsong, and I cannot express how important it is to me that you release a web or OS X version of this game! I want to play it so bad!

Solifuge says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:26am

Brilliant UI Design, simple but fairly deep gameplay, inspired old-timey map design (that sun face is excellent), and overall another great experience. Thanks for putting this together!

Solifuge says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:35am

Just to add:
The Tap vs. Hold control scheme was solidly done; great way to get mileage out of two buttons. The hesitant way you move the turnip to your mouth when eating made me laugh. The ending (whether or not it was intended) where you may have found your treasure, but it was useless given that you were still trapped on an island surviving off of turnips, felt almost like an Aesop's Fable. The way the treasure map differed from the tiles of the world made it feel like someone had actually drawn it, without changing the graphical style; another great, subtle touch.

NidzaKornjaca says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:44pm

I love games like this! Well made and well done!

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:20pm

I really enjoyed the minimal 5-color graphic style you did this in. It reminds me of an old gameboy game. You made the island an interesting place with all the tools, turnips, and a map strewn about. I spent way too much time playing this one. Well done sir!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Really great mood, great graphics and tons of mechanics.
What I dont get is the night/day cycle because except adding to the gamefeel (which is good), it doesnt give or take anything. As a player I just have to wait 3 seconds every x in order to play again. I dont get the purpose of the "sleeping" pause. Maybe just being able to play on night but with less visibility or other gameplay "limitation" could be enough?

I also felt a bit lost and although the purpose of the game is clear, I felt without a sense of progression towards my goal.

Anyway, the game is great and the gamefeel impressive.

propter_ludus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Beautiful!
loved everything about it.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:11pm

I like the concepts, the day-by0by transition design is brilliant. Although the gameplay is a bit confusing, we could not easily differentiate between tools, and the two hand control are weird.
Overall, really nice and ambitious game, but I like your previous entries more.

amYk777 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:48am

Really cool -- couldn't stop playing! However, goal?

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:21am

Wow, just played your game for an hour straight. Bravo! Amazing job.

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:25pm

I built myself a raft and headed west. Towards home. But weeks later and no turnip in sight, I'm starving and utterly lost. Poor and lost without an island in sight.

Great entry as usual. Very stylish. Controls worked fine, though it was a bit confusing in the beginning with the same button for use and drop. The whole instructions part was a bit scary and really, since the in-game help was so good there wasn't that much need for them.

The way the brightness in the day-night cycle clips your field of view is brilliant.

For the growing bit, maybe because I didn't take the treasure hunting seriously enough, there was way more food than needed. 16 days without eating before it becomes a problem may be a bit too kind. The sleep cycle maybe also should in part depend on how far the day has passed. If you don't move you have full energy in the morning hours.

Great game in all though.

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Did Managore ever make a bad game?

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:38pm

The time system is brilliantly represented with the visuals, and the vision limiting mechanic is really good looking. The game looks good, plays fine and sounds good enough.
I like it!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Astounding for 48 hours. Well done.

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Lots of great work here and an excellent art style. Didn't get much farther than planting a few plants and making a tiny bridge, but there's tons of potential!

Wevel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Lovely game, amazing graphics, well done

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Oh man, I love this entry. Took me a little to understand how everything was supposed to work, but once I did I enjoyed every little thing you can do in the island. I never get tired to check on your new games!

phi6 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Incredibly deep and complex game made in 72 hours. Overall, top marks!

jsmars says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Really nice and lonely feel to it! Great balance too!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:14am

Very gorgeous game with nice graphics and audio. Sets a good mood. I like that you added map generation. Feels a bit like Don't Starve, but it definitely needs more gameplay for the style the game is going for. Good work! I plan on digging through the source to learn a thing or two. :)

23 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:13am

Gorgeous, great atmosphere, but not really interesting as a game unfortunately :/

Maybe it was just easy mode or me misjudging things, but it seemed like walking used as much energy as digging or chopping down trees. That meant that I didn't really pick and choose my paths through the woods too much, and the frequency with which I fell asleep just walking around was kind of comical.

Gornova says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:19am

Amazing art style, simple and clear. Gameplay seems confusing at first, with a little tutorial in game could be better IHMO.
Great entry, really solid!

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:47am

Excellent graphics and presentation, the sun-dial is amazing! I love the procedural generation. This is super impressive for such a short time! Gameplay is pretty solid as well! Feels like I could sink hours into this.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:23pm

MANAGORE DROPPING THE PROCEDURAL BEAT BOOM CHI KAH CHI CHI CHI KAH BOOM BOOM CHI BOOM KAH CHI KAH KAH

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Nice concept. Lovely.

Farelle says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:31pm

I want to play this more :D I'm also downloading the post compo version now and gonna continue playing it :D I just hope you build something like a save system :)

elliottd says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Really fun. I played for a long time and I'm going to come back to this later. I played with a gamepad and I thought the analog stick for movement didn't feel great, I got used to it though. a couple times, i would build a raft and then immediately launch and forget to bring something with me. I wonder if a pause right after completing a raft or bridge would help that

gallerdude says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Very beautiful. Innovative UI.

Game itself was fun for farming and finding the pieces, but finding the treasure was next to impossible. Wish the map fragment was 2x bigger.

In the end I just explored a lot. RIP Sheep Island Base. (My base, which looked like a sheep on the map)

broknecho says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Definitely one of my top games! Loved the pace of the normal mode. Loved the discovery. The map generation was really nice. Day night cycle effect was fantastic.

Loved this!

akirassasin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:19am

No... I'm using OSX (Wine doesn't work)... I want to play this beautiful game...

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:16am

Beautifully simplistic.

-Kaz

eigenbom says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

Great mood and graphics :)

ursagames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:35am

I'd be impressed if this was a Jam entry... but for a compo this is insane! The randomly generated maps are gorgeous. The amount of content in this is truly outrageous. Well done!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:04am

this is a great exploration game! very entertaining!

hexagore says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:41pm

A few minutes after the compo ended I had a tiny look at this and promised I'd come back for a proper go. I've just finished playing it for about an hour now, and the only reason I stopped was because I went out on the raft too far and couldn't find land again.

This game is clearly the work of someone who is in full control of their tools with huge amounts of experience and knowledge and I just find it really inspiring.

The only negative is that it makes me feel really embarrassed about how utterly dumb my own compo entry is.

Thanks for making this.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Really an amasing game like always! ;) Great job man

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Excellent game as always. Love the whole presentation of the circular camera with the sun going around it. A bit confused by how treasure is found. I thought I'd found a treasure map and thought I'd gone to a spot with treasure over it, but I instead found some strange indescribable object. Didn't find anything from digging.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:36pm

When I cut down trees and built a raft to sail around, I felt charmed. If you continue to develop this, when I was on the raft, I wasn't sure what to do next. What was my goal? I'm sure you wrote about it, but I was not remembering all that I read.

ianh says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:21am

I love the graphical style and the overall mood. The treasure location didn't look *exactly* like the map, so I got confused for a bit, but I did finish eventually. Great game!

Yakka says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:30pm

I felt a bit lost, but I loved to be lost in that world. Controls are kind of tricky but the mood is great.

cilerba says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:24pm

11/10 as always!
Such a great style in everything you do.

Dayko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:32pm

This was great, the progression was smooth and very much under control, i had a good time and found the treasure :)

lurils says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:10am

really nice mood, great aesthetic choices

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:33am

I couldn't find the treasure :(

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:21am

Yay! I played it again and I managed to beat it! The first time I was looking for a place that looked exactly like the map, but the map looks slightly different so I missed it. Also the first time I played it I only discovered what the map did once I had already collected all the other parts.

Graphics look so good, the day cycle is an awesome idea. Oh and the maps this generate are really cool, I'm curious as to how you did it :)

Gameplay wise, the game reminds me a lot of Minicraft by Notch a few years ago actually. I like how in this it has a sense of exploring and surviving by yourself (whereas Minicraft was about defeating enemies)

Good job!

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:16am

This game is amazing. The presentation is brilliant and the audio matches the game perfectly. I found the treasure!

Drauthius says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:19am

Very nice concept. The world was very big but pretty empty. I found some map pieces but didn't know what to do with them, maybe bring them all together?

zulman says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:15pm

As always i have no idea how you was able to complete it in 2 days, you are awesome man :) Controls was little bit uncomfortable for first 10 minutes (like in vim) :) Hope you'll find a minute to take a look at our Let's Play Simulator 2016 http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114

coldman says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Just played it. I am in love with the mood and the visuals. The idea, for me, is perfect.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Very cool! It took a while, but I played through to the end (or at least I have to assume it's the end; I got the treasure at least.) I love the maps, and the final map that shows just a zoomed in picture was a really cool idea. The day/night cycle was really neat, but also a little frustrating once you get a hang of it. I found myself chopping trees on occasion just to progress the time. A way to just sleep until dawn would be a welcome addition. Overall I really enjoyed this.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:43am

looks very nice - but took too long to do anything - going to try again later

fermenter says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:25am

Visually lovely, but gameplay leaves me wanting a bit more.

crazya02 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:24pm

TURNIPS.

NEED MORE TURNIPS.

nucleartide says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:21am

Great game - I love the overall minimalism and how game rules are conveyed via diagrams. This game is a winner for sure. :)

napoleon says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:07pm

classic Managore.

Tyler says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:36am

Stupendous! Very fun and could play for hours! Theme wasn't the best I've seen and the audio sometimes got a bit annoying, but still really really really good!

Miziziziz says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:21am

Great entry! lot of polish, but I would've liked some more 'antagonist' elements. maybe some sort of enemy at night.

kmakai says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:01pm

I really loved playing this! The art style and UI design are impeccable, and the difficulty is just enough to keep me challenged and looking for the treasure -- though I was expecting more fanfare when I actually found it, but perhaps that was intentional.

In lieu of background music, the sound of wind was a really nice complement. I agree with one of the comments above that seasons with subtly different color palettes would be a beautiful addition (I could even envision some rain or snow effects to go along with that), although the simplicity certainly contributes to the charm here, and you've well exceeded what I thought would be possible for 48 hours.

Fantastic job!

Krafty says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 7:43pm

I beat it! I must have played this game for an hour, which is way more than I can say for any other game in this Ludum Dare. The graphics look really great, the sounds are good although I think you should add music, and it feels really mysterious and lonely. At first I was getting worried that I would get lost in the woods and not be able to make it back to my farm, and then I was worried that I would get lost on the ocean (which I did a few times). A lot of fun! If I were you, I might add more things to do other than growing turnips, and maybe a post game where having found the treasure means that you can get back to your home or something? I was a little bit confused when I found the treasure and nothing really happened. Still, 5/5, this game was excellent =D

euske says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:02am

It was a fun concept, but the gameplay was long and tedious. It feels the game is focusing on exploring, and growing is more or less an addition. The treasure chest seemed like smoking after opening it.

Patacorow says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:46am

Simple yet beautiful game!
the graphics are so cute
I found the gameplay quite addictive and fun
as always good job!

Dec 31, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Pssst - you are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KdfLy2MjNRs

graebor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 10:51pm

so so so so rad, this is amazing. the two-handed controls are a really elegant way of including a large number of interactions in a natural way.

bering says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:16am

I loved it! I played for over 1h at easy. Controls are not super intuitive but I read the text (while the map was generated, which is great) and the hints of what you can do with what you have in your hand was pretty well made (and shown on the correct side). Great animation for when you are about to eat! It was just hard enough on easy to keep me on my toes, and overall very pretty. Great map generator too! I'm going to study the source, thanks!

PeteDS says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Beautiful graphics, love the sort of steampunk/old-timey style. Overall a stunning game!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:35pm

Another Ludum Dare and another great unique entry. Never been much into the management games but the simplicity of this one really worked for me. Couldn't stop playing and enjoyed the peaceful gameplay of growing your own crops and exploring the island in search of the treasure.

blackmagic says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:21am

Very nice entry, fairly time consuming for a ludum game which kind of bias mood of the game. Maybe alternate/faster crop with better food refill and a less frequent death would have make it a perfect to me.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Fantastic entry as always. I didn't quite finish it, but bookmarked to do so, soon. I found 2 map pieces and kept carrying them around. I'm assuming I can find 3-4 and somehow combine and find treasure? Fantastic visuals and presentation. Also like the left/right hand mechanic. Simple and effective.

UncleChris says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:45pm

I liked the game, took a moment to realize holding down both keys was what I needed to cut/plow/plant. I did waste a lot of time trying to figure out why I just kept picking up and putting down the stuff. Also, difficult to tell dropping vs planting vs eating. I kept trying to plant, and seemed to be eating turnips.

I did enjoy it, but it needs some more story to it - it seemed like nothing but starvation was in my future. :) I saw no parts of map, or things to collect other than the tools.
Loved the day/night cycle - very well done.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:51pm

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
It has such a unique visual, I ended up experimenting and it really got me and I didn't realize I spend more than an hour with this game. It has so much potential. It's got me with the similarities to Minicraft and Miniventure but it has more stunning visual not counting the timeframe to create this great piece of art. The atmosphere is really fitting into my memory. You got a great balance into random stuff generation and human interaction.

01010111 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Another insanely well made game! Not much to say except I wish it were more in-depth, another handful of interactive systems in the game and I would be really hooked! Great work, probably the most awesome UI I've seen in a jam game!

Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:34am

Wow! What a great game! The first LD34 game I've gotten lost in and lost track of time. Great work

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]