Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

DUO

by camlang - Jam Entry

Hi folks!

We have some funky geometry for you, again. All you gonna get is two buttons and lots of deadly spikes. Play, have fun and good luck!

CONTROLS: mouse in all its two-button glory
TIPS: double ESC - exit game, R - back to checkpoint

Leave us some feedback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#11Innovation(Jam)4.26
#65Mood(Jam)4.04
#85Overall(Jam)3.91
#125Fun(Jam)3.72
#133Audio(Jam)3.78
#134Graphics(Jam)4.19
#296Theme(Jam)3.92
#815Humor(Jam)1.97

Comments

jim3wg says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:54pm

He that's a nice polished game !!!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Wow! Very nice mechanics!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Very nice! Great polished style, and clever mechanics!

WetDesertRock says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Hey, after awhile as the square I couldn't continue placing square blocks, I'd like to be able to play more of your game however I cant progress past the third usage of the square blocks.

Running the WebGL as there isn't an OSX build.

jofra says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Very cool game!! with very polished graphics.
And just "sells it all", very well made.
awesome job

thedashdude says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:09pm

I couldn't always tell why my blocks disapeared, so an explanation might be nice, but a very well polished game none the less.

tyr_arcana says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Give it a tutorial, maybe a little more polish, and get it up on steam, it's that good.

gironC says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:12pm

amazing mechanics!

herniewise says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:16pm

This is pretty cool. It feels really nice :)

Madball says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:19pm

That looks amazing. Like a finished game. I also like that this game, unlike other mouse-only LD games, doesn't fully use the mouse position, which makes it closer to the theme.

It doesn't play like a finished game though. Block stacking is weird, checkpoints don't register sometimes... Are those batteries even checkpoints? Because I found a spawn point without a battery. Also, if you roll onto a surface for rolling with mouse button held, you don't start rolling, you need to click again.

Hey, I got stuck! Can't do anything. http://puu.sh/m1oZx/1e33343bd4.jpg
By the way, that part is annoying. Stacking is hard to control.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:50pm

One of my favorite games in LD34 :)

ruerob says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:52pm

I really like the presentation of your game! It is fun to play but really hard sometimes. I didn't managed to pass the moving platform... But I will try it again later! I want to reach the end! The graphics and audio is great. The game idea is awesome! The controls are easy! Just sometimes the block didn't recognize that he is on a glowing underground.. But that is not a big problem!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Amazing game, fits like a glove on the theme and I loved the close call when the sphere almost stopped on the beginning.

The tutorial position was excellent!

I got stuck when piling the squares a few times and I went to the spikes.

Some things I'd change:
- Remove the SFX, ruins the mood. It can be a silent game.
- Remove the spikes. Why the player have to die? Just roll back and try again.

I'm looking forward for a new version of the game!

TiByte says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:07pm

The Linux version doesn't work. I tried to emulate the Win64 version with wine, didn't work either.

felixreeve says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Brilliant entry, although I wish I had more control over the way towers fell, sometimes it seems a little loose, but brilliant idea!

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Awesome work! One of the best games of the LD34. The mechanics are quite interesting what opens the possibilities to numberless of level variations. The illumination is quite amazing too! Just wish it had more checkpoints, got myself bored to do some things over again, or maybe a proper feedback when you reach the checkpoint? Well, I hope you keep up with the amazing work, I'm looking forward to see this game in the future. Cheers! - Jeremias

tanis says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Nice idea for the mechanics. Sometime it's hard to understand why the blocks disappear. The WebGL version feels a bit unresponsive, especially with the icons following the mouse cursor that lag in a weird way.
If you happen to make an OSX version, I'd like to try that out.
Overall it's fun to play and it's a pretty solid idea that could make into a fully featured game. Well done!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Nice game, love the presentation. Interesting use of the second button to switch between 'modes', also the block creation stuff was a neat alternative to just having a jump button. The graphic style reminds me a lot of an indie rhythm/platformer game called 140. Not a bad thing at all, it has a cool look to it.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Excellent entry! Well polished with great audio and challenging gameplay! Fit the theme well too, well done! Get this game on Steam!

psypol says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:36pm

maybe im dumb but it took me 4 attempts to barely pass the first ramp. dont know if the ball goes quicker by holding the mouse button down or im supposed to click repeatedly ?
do the first item crossed do something ? i guess the entrance sequence could guide player more.

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Amazing game! The visual presentation is very cool! With low fps you can't climb up the first hill.
Congrats for the the cool game.

v01pe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Woah! Didn't expect that, very nice jam game!! I really like the mechanic, although in some spots it got a bit meticulous. But very nice polish and cool level design ideas!
Only critique I have: speaking of meticulous – it's not a two button game :)
If there had been a checkpoint right after the passage where you had to elevate multiple times and roll over the "dry" spots, I woul dhave continued playing, but I fell right into the spikes after and it was too tedious for me to solve passage again!

Good job!!

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:05pm

love the game mechanic. style reminds me of 140. I think the use of mouse position with its two buttons is stretching the theme, but visuals is spot on for this.

Xgor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:44pm

It's a cool game with amazing atmosphere polish and aesthetics. Unfortunately I got kinda bored though. The game loop of spam as many squares as you can/you need and hope the physics pushes you where you wanted to go and then roll to the next vertical/horizontal obstacle got kinda boring after a while. some more level objects that utilizes the mechanics of the game in neat ways would make it so that game would really shine.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:28am

Good game. I got pretty far, but didn't finish because I got frustrated with a gap that I just missed several times and the last checkpoint was a while back. That aside, the visual presentation is excellent, the mechanics are clever. Really Nice job.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:13am

Brilliant, very clever game and it's got a great minimalist look.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Really cohesive atmosphere, and a nice experiment. It took very long to progress beyond the moving platform, and once I did there was no checkpoint, so I gave up. But really polished game overall.

camlang says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:02pm

@Madball, how in the world did you end up being there alive!)

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:03am

Very nice! I really enjoyed the mechanics, though they were hard to understand without explicit description (though I'm sure there's a more effective UI that could be done).
Also, I got past the part with the pillars of the same height that you need to tumble across, but I ended up soft-locking the game in the tunnel by falling off of my collapsing tower onto an inactive but not destroyed block, so I couldn't move.

EwChap says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:53am

great mechanics, lovely style, amazingly well put together game. Great job

Farelle says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:38am

The graphics are really nice and I think the game idea is very unique and innovative, only negative points that I could see was some bug, after changing from cube to ball and dropping on a recharging surface, it didn't always lit up to recharge, which then made it impossible to continue playing. And I got the feeling that the difficulty ramped up pretty steep, I couldn't figure out how to get over that trench with narrow platforms without physics always kicking me over the ledge.

Tapehead says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:12am

wow! this is a amazing entry!

g12345 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:29pm

One of the most fun games I've played during this LD.

Very well done difficulty progression (but could use some more checkpoints), good atmosphere (even if the music is too loud), nice idea and very well executed.

I quitted at the moving platform.

Still have no idea how many charges i get and why it sometimes disappear completely when i touch a black wall. The batteries also seems to have no use either.

Mar 28, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Nice graphics, I couldnt get up the hill though. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BZOhspy6Kt8

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]