Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

MEATDOWN Feast of Fury

by Theropod Studios - Jam Entry

About 90% complete, sadly our programmer had to leave for work before combat could get finished up. So, for the sake of having something to submit, we proudly present MEATDOWN: FEAST OF FURY - Pacifism Edition!

We all had a lot of fun working on this and cannot wait to polish it up after the dare ends.

Supports keyboard and Xbox Controller*

Arrows/Left Stick - Move
Space/(A) - Jump

*Controller does not function on the main menu

~TEAM~

Erik Bergdahl
~Character Creation~
~Vector Design~

Jordan Mullen
~3D Modeling~
~Backup Code~

Corey Beedle
~Sprite Art~

Elizabeth Walker-Rice
~Code Lead~

Markus Azeltine
~Music Creation~

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#469Humor(Jam)2.72
#615Audio(Jam)2.71
#778Graphics(Jam)2.91
#807Mood(Jam)2.77
#957Fun(Jam)2.53
#960Overall(Jam)2.74
#966Innovation(Jam)2.32
#1074Theme(Jam)2.27

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Interesting and pleasant little game with many effects in the background. It could be improved by other features, but I like it. Thank you for this prehistoric travel ++

PS : I restarted 5 times the webplayer version because it crashed each time. I think that there is somewhere a bug on the server ++

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Wow, a lot of great art in this! Out of all of it the design of the main character on the info page is very appealing. The level art also looked great, and I was surprised by the variety in it.

Shame that it's not complete, the gameplay doesn't really work as-is (mostly I just bounced over stuff, making it to the end was still pretty easy).

Also the game is names MEATDOWN so that's worth a star.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Ahem, worth an EXTRA star, sorry. I'm not giving you guys only 1 star!

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01am

Really love the art in this. I enjoyed just looking at all the background. Hope you guys get the chance to make a complete version

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24am

I don't think I'm able to play this? Chrome on Linux, seems to show a white screen.

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:35am

Great art and music, a shame you couldn't get combat in time :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41am

@Sugarbyte Chrome doesn't support unity web player anymore, try a different browser. I'll put together builds for OSX and Linux but I am unable to test them

Zknet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23am

I really dug a lot of the background art.

Efuvex says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:43am

Catchy music. Also the dino is adorable.

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:11am

I like the mix between 2d art and 3d art! Music is also very nice! Well done! Keep up the good work people! :D

knason says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:05pm

The dino is really cute! :-) I liked the music as well. Good job!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:35am

Nice platformer, dynamic and exciting.

Geck0 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:39pm

lol

adsilcott says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:43pm

I like the combination of 2D and 3D here, it works well. Good music too. I'd love to to see a post-jam version with the combat that you were planning!

zulman says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:51pm

I don't know why but it's fun :) Thank you!

gloim says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:10am

cute little game :) I agree, the game would really benefit from combat mechanics :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]